The Audacity of Hype: Obama’s Meet the Press Interview

Standard

Timebarack_1

Like a toke on some good weed, Barack Obama has been inhaling the considerable smoke the eastablishment press has been blowing up his narrow behind. He acknowledged today on Meet the Press, that he will be seriously considering a Presidential bid after the Nov 7th midterm elections. Obama told Tim Russert that “Given the response I’ve been getting the last several months, I have thought about the possibility” although not with any seriousness or depth, Barack said. “My focus is on ‘06. … After November 7, I’ll sit down and consider it.”

This can only be considered bad news. As I’ve said before, the Clinton’s don’t play well with people not on the home team. He will have arrayed against him the most gifted political strategist in the history of the cosmos, Bill Clinton. It is going to be a very tough slog that he will have to grind out. I don’t think it is doable. The Clinton’s will be poised to annhilate him politically and it can be done with the help of the establishment press. His rhetoric of Hope will be snuffed out and he will be substantially outraised. I don’t care what the dreamy eyed liberals say.

Let’s assume the brotha does run. What is the strategy? Does he really think he can win Iowa and New Hampshire? Two states that ain’t got two Negroes to rub together? New Hampshire is 96.2% white. It’s black population is not even 1%. His popularity in Iowa notwithstanding, being a Senator from a neighboring state, does he really believe he can do this against the most formidable political juggernaut ever assembled for a non-incumbent democrat. These two states are the whole enchilada in the process with Nevada and South Carolina thrown in. This is the starting line up. After these four states go forward, its over.

Given his rhetoric about race and his emphasis on bringing people together, I don’t see how he can launch a candidacy and ignore Iowa and New Hampshire. This has been tried before by Jesse Jackson and Doug Wilder. Doug Wilder, former Governor of Virginia and now Mayor of Richmond attempted to make a case for his election as America’s first black President. His announcement speech is quite good and you can read it in the above link.

His candidacy was killed in the crib by a focus group of democrats in New Hampshire. You see, they liked his message and his background. When they found out he was black, they reacted negatively. The idea that Barack Obama is ready for this challenge at this time is just ludicrous to me right now. I think he needs more seasoning. There is nothing better than the Vice Presidency to get it. I think this should be the focus of his efforts and if you believe the same, shoot me an email at skepticalbrotha@yahoo.com.

17 thoughts on “The Audacity of Hype: Obama’s Meet the Press Interview

  1. Obama has been a disappointment as a Senator, failing to lead on anything significant. I see no reason it would change were he to run for President. I think the racial factor is significant, but I see more of an analogy here to Wes Clark. After a lot of hype about his charisma and resume, it turned out he just couldn’t rise to the level of a Presidential messenger once put under the spotlight. Obama has never been put under the spotlight, but when he is, we’ll see what kind of man he is. I’d like to see that debate, as it will help accelerate Obama’s rise or fall to the level of influence he genuinely should have by right of his leadership abilities rather than just his sheer charisma and branding.

  2. I think any run by Obama would be premature as well. He has no serious political track record.

    In regard to Iowa and New Hampshire, I don’t think he could win those states either, but Obama did very well in downstate (Southern) Illinois (read=rural, white, poor). Dude even crossed the state line into St. Louis, Missouri because St. Louis politics are influential in Southern Illinois.

    Not saying he could pull it off in Iowa and New Hampshire, but for a Black man to do what he did in Southern Illinois was unheard of, although he did have support mucho from Dick Durbin – a Senator from Southern Illinois (Belleville, Illinois/suburban St. Louis).

    Also, Barack Obama knows how to play the game with white people without alienating too much of his black constituency. Many whites are comfortable with his “Kenyan” blackness than they are American blackness. They like his story…Ivy Leaguer, white roots, Kenyan dad, etc. Obama is the ideal, “He’s a different kind of Negro” for many white folk and Obama knows this.

    I still don’t think he could win though, but he could fair well.

  3. Matt, Inrock, T, extrapolater,

    Like the three of you, I am looking to see more from Obama before I can commit wholeheartedly. However, what I think is balanced by the reality of Presidential politics in this era. He can only do so much and remain viable, I just want him to push the envelope in a bold way like Feingold to show us that he’s made of sterner stuff. The Safe Negro routine, as I call it is wearing thin.

  4. My God…. these Neo-Conservatives are crazy! That’s the ad that he’s going with? Whoa!!!

    On Obama… I don’t think he’s ready. And ultimately… I feel that he is unelectable…at least not to white Americans… still too much racism in the country. I don’t think a Black President can be elected in my lifetime. And probably not for the next several decades after that. Whites will not vote for Obama (or any other Black candidate) in large numbers.

  5. Angry Independent,

    As skeptical and cynical as I am, I think a Black President can be elected if he is Vice President in a successful Administration. I’ll have more to say about that in my next post.

  6. I don’t see Obama being ready for President. I also don’t see him being the choice for VP. What does he bring to the table to help Hillary (who I assume will be the presidential nominee)?

  7. Vivian,

    He brings his persona of grace, elegance, and equanimity. He is safely progressive, although not overtly so, and he brings the “Audacity of Hope”. I would love to see some that audacity on the floor of the damn Senate sometime soon. Ain’t seen much from the Safe Negro yet. I guess I am not willing to step on a good story line. I don’t think he is ready to be President but the possiblity of a Vice President of color and the prospect of a Black President have intrigued me for over 20 years.

  8. Curt Adams

    He’s an impressive man, but I don’t think anybody with 2 years of experience at the national political level is suited for the Presidency. He’s not even gotten anything substantial done in the Senate – not really his fault, as a junior Senator in the minority party, but still… The Presidency is a big, complex job and requires a strong mix of political, legislative, and executive skills. Obama can inspire with the best but that’s not enough – it’s part of the political and no more.

    I strongly disagree with him running as VP. VP is a nothing job – a “bucket of warm spit” according to one of FDR’s veeps. My only substantive concern is his experience and being VP won’t provide a shred of that. I’d like to see him stay in the Senate or even better run for Governor of Illinois in 2010. Corruption is a chronic problem in Illinois and I think Obama would be particularly well-suited to address it with his clean rep and inspirational skills.

    The biggest problem with a delay is probably Elliot Spitzer. Spitzer is strong for traditional liberal goals but has also developed an incredible reputation with the investor class because of all he’s done on Wall Street. Assuming he does well as governor he will be a tremendous candidate from a powerful coalition. Admittedly Obama with some substantive accomplishments will also be a tremendous candidate – but I don’t see any tremendous candidates in 2008 so it’s a lighter field.

    I don’t think Obama’s race will work against him even in lily-white areas. He seems to have broken through the racial barriers and I think there will be enough whites opposed to racism and eager to see such a excellent candidate become president that that will more than make up for the racists in places like Iowa and NH. In the South there are more racists – but there are a lot of blacks too, so even there I think blacks + anti-racist whites will be a more important block – certainly in the Dem primaries.

  9. Curt,

    Thank you for your extensively thoughtful post. I have tentatively made up my mind to support Obama whatever he does. I don’t think he is ready to be President and I think a run now is political suicide. However, I do believe their is something to be said about being Vice President. I disagree that it is a nothing job. The last two Vice President’s have had extensive portfolio’s and the current incumbant is considered by people I respect to be the current power behind the throne and the de-facto President.

  10. You got to be kidding me this brother is a insult to the intellect of any informed black person. He is a new breed of black political pimp. The kind that plays middle of the road,black when convienant. That plays moderate for the white folk not abrasive to their innate fears of blacks However, the real question is who is the money behind this cat, and the answer is the biggest poverty pimp going Mayor Daley of Chicago. This so called Christian has as one of his main backers the most wicked family towards black folks other than the Bushes. Does he give a damn about black people NO. His being black an in their pocket is away for them to get into the white house. How many times have the Daleys tried on their own. Once again they use black folks to do their bidding. Barrack Obama shame on you, should we have expected anything other than this from you. I guess not, remember that if you sleep with dogs your bound to get fleas….

  11. Chesapeake

    Wiedmann, you’re obviously not used to honest and sincere writings on issues and events. Your take on legit writings is awefully skewed.

  12. negroplease

    “I don’t think he is ready to be President and I think a run now is political suicide.”

    nothing new to say here?

Comments are closed.