Poll: Obama second to Hillary, its on and poppin’

Standard

The 2008 race for the White House has begun in earnest, and Barack Obama is positioned as no black man in the history of this nation has been.  Unlike Uncle Colin, he will really man-up, step out on faith, and run for the job he ain’t ready for.

I never thought I would be under 40 and see this day.  Barack Obama polls second to Hillary in a Presidential Poll.  This is breathtaking and heartbreaking at the same time.  The Audacity of Hype surrounding this brotha have been almost too much for a skeptical brotha like me to take in.  I have put my best advice out there and have urged caution and restraint.  It doesn’t look like it will be headed.

I fear they will destroy him.  I don’t want to see that happen.  Thank God we have a fallback candidate in Deval Patrick.  From what I can tell, I like him better anyway.  However, I am still serious about Obama pursuing the Vice Presidency.  I think an apprenticeship is what he needs.    I see this frontal assault on the democratic nomination against Hillary as foolhardy in the extreme. 

If he makes a final decision, in consultation with his wife and political team to make the run, I’m in too. I had intended to try to get elected a delegate to the next Democratic National Convention anyway.  I still sincerely believe that Obama could and should be on the ticket.  It won’t happen without a dedicated corps of activists. 

Will you become a candidate for delegate to help make this a possiblity?  Think about it and let me know. I would love to have your help because it looks like this thing is on and poppin’.

8 thoughts on “Poll: Obama second to Hillary, its on and poppin’

  1. Terence

    There’s a high stakes poker game goin’ on, and Sen. Rodham Clinton is holding the most cards. A smart guy like Obama has to know that. Maybe she has a bad hand, but her odds look impressive from this side. I think Team Obama will be closely watching two races on Nov. 7th.

    The first is Harold Ford Jr.’s Senate race in Tennessee. If Ford can win in a conservative southern state that would bode well for an African-American Democrat comtemplating a presidential run.

    The other is Sen. Clinton’s reelection in New York. No one doubts she will win, the question is the margin of victory. If she wins with around 60% of the vote, Obama might think: Hmm, that’s good but not spectacular for a Presidential candidate. Maybe she’s not as strong as she looks. If Rodham Clinton gets 65%, that would have to give Obama pause. If she hits 70%, then everybody else is probably running for VP.

    If Hillary looks weak, Obama is free to just run flat out. But if she comes out strong (which is probable) it will be a tricky dance of positioning himself as the strongest anti-Hillary candidate (in case she self-destructs) while not alienating himself as a good VP pick. Can “Smooth Operator” Obama pull off this high-wire act?

    Of course, maybe Obama WON’T run. He will have generated some good publicity for his book at any rate.

    If both Obama and Rodham Clinton are in the primary, I wonder if some African-American women Democrats would be struggling with divided loyalties.

  2. Don’t presidential candidates often take their running mates from the pool of opponents they face in the primaries? I’m definitely a political neophyte, but it seems to me that this could be the right way to get exactly what you think he needs – the VP-ship. I’m not being flippant when I ask why this is certain death for him in your mind?

  3. extrapolater,

    The Clinton’s don’t play well with others not on their team. Bill didn’t choose anybody who challenged him to be his Vice or in his cabinet, Hillary won’t either. It is personal with them.

  4. Pingback: Esther Baxter
  5. Annie

    Uncle Colin? Perhaps, ifyou had a more sphisticated understanding of politics you would know that Colin Powell is anything but “Uncle Tom.” He continuously opposed numerous actions made by Bush, showing that he was anything but under the thumb of the administration. Perhaps, if African-Americans listened to the message, rather than mindlessly follow certain parties, we would realize that what will benefit our community is not, no pun intended, so black and white. A self-denigrated black, Dem, apparently is less Uncle Tomish than a strong, Republican, black man, who actually goes out to the community and does something. I am not a Republican, but I am not idiotic enough to believe that Colin Powell was in way or shape under the thumb of Bush.

    My advice to you, pick up NY Times, The Economist, and some history books.

Comments are closed.