David Price’s official response

Standard

Go to fullsize image

My congressman, David Price, officially responded to my request that he support Jack Murtha for Majority Leader.  The text of his form letter is as follows:

Thank you for contacting me regarding the race for Democratic Majority Leader in the 110th Congress. I appreciate your support for Rep. Jack Murtha to be the next Majority Leader, and I agree that he has been an important voice against the war in Iraq.

On November 16,2006, the House Democratic Caucus elected Rep. Steny Hoyer, the current Minority Whip as the next Majority Leader.  Rep. Hoyer received 149 votes, while Rep. Murtha received 86 votes. While Rep. Murtha’s leadership on Iraq was a factor in the Majority Leader race, there were a number of other important issues that came into play that made clear to a majority of the caucus, including me, that Rep. Hoyer would be a more effective leader. Rep. Murtha will continue to have an important role to play as the Chairman of the House Appropriations Defense Subcommittee.

Rep. Pelosi and Hoyer have worked effectively together over the last four years to unite the Democratic Caucus, and I am confident that their partnership will continue to be effective in leading the house in the 110th Congress. I look forward to helping them lead the country toward a brighter future.

Thank you again for contacting me. Please continue to stay in touch on issues of concern.

Sincerely,

David Price

Member of Congress

This swift and prompt response was courteous and showed the proper deference.  It also deftly papered over the signifcance of the rift between Pelosi and Hoyer no matter what they both have said to the contrary. I don’t trust Steny Hoyer and I never will.

2 thoughts on “David Price’s official response

Comments are closed.