Novelist Bebe Moore Campbell passes at 56

Standard

 

Novelist Bebe Moore Campbell has died of brain cancer at 56.  I am shocked and deeply saddened. I never even knew that the sister was ill. I first discovered her books some years back when I was heavily into black fiction.  Her books, “Your Blues Ain’t like Mine“,  “Brothers and Sisters”  and “What You Owe Me” are among the best pieces of black fiction produced in the last twenty years.   She had a singular ability to transport you to another time and place that created a powerful understanding of the black experience of the past. Her loss will be deeply felt.

3 thoughts on “Novelist Bebe Moore Campbell passes at 56

  1. Rikyrah

    I was so sad to read about this. So young. I loved her books. They always made me think. I just can’t believe it. RIP, Ms. Moore and thank you for sharing your talent.

  2. Julienne Worthington

    BeBe Moore Campbell is and always will be my favorite author. I read Your Blue Ain’t Like Mine and was mezerized. Then a few years back I read What You Owe Me and I wanted the book to keep on going. I was really sad when I heard of our literary loss. She will be greatly missed as a writer, a mother, a wife etc. Rest in Peace BeBe.

Comments are closed.