General Pace’s Homophobia

Standard

Unlike a certain right-wing, hateful harridan who shall remain nameless, General Pace’s homophobia matters.  It should matter to every American who believes in fundamental fairness, and the egalitarian ethos inherent in our constitution.  As I’ve grown older, I have grown increasingly intolerant of people who spout this socially acceptable hatred.  

It is a vile and patently ridiculous prejudice that is grounded in a knuckle-dragging ignorance that is almost funny.  Almost-until you consider that people are fired, beaten, harassed, murdered, commit suicide, and denied their constitutional right to be left alone.  This happens to people when someone either mistakenly or accurately perceives them to be gay or lesbian. 

A friend of mine was fired from his job last week because of this perception and I am absolutely beside myself with rage.  Is this what we’ve come to in the Bush era?  I find it unfathomable that people feel comfortable enough to do this hateful dirt.

Pace’s pronounced that, “I believe homosexual acts between two individuals are immoral and that we should not condone immoral acts,”  the general continued, “I do not believe the United States is well served by a policy that says it is OK to be immoral in any way.”

“As an individual, I would not want [acceptance of gay behavior] to be our policy, just like I would not want it to be our policy that if we were to find out that so-and-so was sleeping with somebody else’s wife, that we would just look the other way, which we do not,” he said. “We prosecute that kind of immoral behavior.”

I blame the President for sending mixed messages with his re-election campaign’s homophobic fixation with banning gay marriage and his appointment of two high-level gay officials to oversee AIDS policy as Ambassadors in the State Department.   The current incumbant, Mark Dybul, is a physician and a captain in the HHS public health corps, an organization organized like a military unit with a military structure that serves the general public.

General Pace’s bigotry sends the message that gay and lesbian people cannot serve their country in the military but if they’re really smart, they can become an Ambassdor setting foreign policy.  It is really ridiculous.   

Coretta Scott King had a message for homophobes: Homophobia is like racism and anti-semitism and other forms of bigotry in that it seeks to dehumanize a large group of people, to deny their humanity, their dignity, and personhood.

General Pace is a homophobe that disgraces the uniform of our country and demeans the heroism of gay and lesbian soldiers.  He should resign.

14 thoughts on “General Pace’s Homophobia

  1. rikyrah

    What kills me about this…

    They’ve thrown out 10,000 GOOD soldiers that just happen to be homosexuals and lesbians…

    MEANWHILE……

    they are slacking the recruiting rules so that we have
    1) White Supremacists
    2) Gang Members

    Being invited to join.

    Now, what do you want?

    A gay/lesbian who just wants to serve their country, and are willing to PUT THEIR LIVES ON THE LINE FOR SAID COUNTRY..

    or

    the homegrown terrorist element (whether rural or urban) learning military skills?

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm……..

    I guess for some people, it’s a hard choice.

  2. If you want to place blame for Pace’s comments, blame Clinton. Back in 1993, he had the opportunity to enact an Executive Order prohibiting discrimination against gays in the military.

    He straddled the fence with that “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy, which isn’t a policy at all.

    And I had the opposite experience of your friend, SB. I was fired by my lesbian boss, because I didn’t respond to her advances.

    Did I also mention that, she is the Director of the EEO department of a local university here in DC? So, she knows firsthand that to make anything on the job beneficial to me based on a sexual relationship is bonified sexual harassment.

    While I share your outrage at the perception that your friend is gay and lost his job because of it, our government has been derelict in not passing legislation to actually deal with the new wave of discrimination. And Clinton could have run a touchdown on this issue back in 1993; instead, he chose to punt the ball downfield.

    And part of my contempt for him doing that is carrying over to Hillary, but a very small part. The Borg Queen is doing well enough to facilitate the other 95% of my contempt for her.

  3. Rikyrah:

    don’t forget in addition to recruiting white supremicists and gang members, they are also recruiting individuals with criminal records or who are being given a choice between prison time and going to Iraq…

  4. political junkie,

    Your Clinton comments are on the money, not that I am defending the borg Queen or Obama, but both support repeal of this policy and have said so. They also came out against Pace’s comments. Both get a gold star. However, I still remain unimpressed by both.

  5. dblhelix

    TPJ: EEO department of a local university here in DC

    I have heard nothing but horror stories about EEO depts at universities in our area.

  6. DBLHelix:

    Which is the reason why I’m going back to the Feds. At least I can enforce the law, as opposed to working for universities, whose sole mission in the EEO office is to provide cover for administrators who violate all aspects Titles Six, Seven and Nine of the Civil Rights Act.

    All the horror stories you are hearing are 100% the truth.

  7. SB:

    Yeah, they get props, but denouncing Pace is easy to do; all the candidates on both sides of the aisle are denouncing him, so I’m not impressed.

    Obama will impress me when he stands on something on principle and not because his campaign manager told him to.

  8. SB:

    Yeah, they get props, but denouncing Pace is easy to do; all the candidates on both sides of the aisle are denouncing him, so I’m not impressed.

    Obama will impress me when he stands for something on principle and not because his campaign manager told him to.

  9. dblhelix

    TPJ: sole mission in the EEO office is to provide cover for administrators

    Exactly. And faculty who bring in lots of grant money.

    The lemmings in the power structure, students & staff, don’t realize that going to that “confidential” meeting is just a fact-finding mission for the company man/woman.

  10. Ogre Mage

    Actually, the Republican Presidential candidates are dodging the question about Gen. Pace’s comments. From Jonathan Martin’s Blog at Politico.com:

    I posed the question — is homosexuality immoral — to representatives of all three of the top Republican candidates. None answered it directly.

    Sen. John McCain: “The senator thinks such questions are a matter of conscience and faith for people to decide for themselves. As a public official, Senator McCain supports don’t ask, don’t tell.” –McCain spokesman Danny Diaz. Per the AP, McCain was asked about the matter on the campaign trail in Iowa yesterday and declined to answer.

    Former Mayor Rudy Giuliani’s campaign didn’t respond to the question, instead citing comments the candidate made on FOX News last month when asked about gay marriage. “We should be tolerant, fair, open, and we should understand the rights that all people have in our society.”

    Former Gov. Mitt Romney’s campaign also declined to answer the question, rather pointing to the response their candidate gave earlier this week on the campaign trail in Arizona. “I think General Pace has said that he regrets having said that, and I think he was wise to have issued an apology, or a withdrawal of that comment. I think that we, as a society, welcome people of all differences, whether there are differences in ethnicity, faith or sexual preference, and I think he was wise to correct his comment and to suggest that that was an inappropriate point to have made.”

  11. It kills me that the masses find it so difficult to separate their spiritual/moral beliefs from legal/political issues. To be truthful, I actually do not agree with homosexuality. However, I am absolutely opposed to anyone/anything from stopping Americans from benefiting and being protected by our consitution. It’s just not right.

    I’m outraged that strong, healthy people are put out of the military, just because they are suspected or known to be gay. I’m amazed that this crime is allowed.

    A lot of Christians disagree with me on the homosexuality issue. But let’s just be fair about it. I’m not stupid enough to think that what I think should be the final thought. While I think I’m right, there are others that would disagree.

    Why can’t we think of homosexuality as a personal decision? Why can’t we just respect their decision to be homosexual?

    But I will say this… I don’t go around talking about who I do or don’t sleep with. I just met a woman at the university I attend, and in our first conversation she thought it was okay to tell me she’s gay. Unless she was trying to hook up with me, wwhich could very well been what she was trying to do, why did she feel it necessary to share that unimportant piece of information? Why in the hell do I care who she sleeps with?

    I don’t believe in “Don’t Ask-Don’t Tell”, but I do think that all of us need to learn to not tell our business.

    Well, that’s just my opinion.

    Learning and understanding everyday,

    Angie

  12. Nothing is more disgusting than religion being perverted into a justification for bigotry. But there is a chance that this is actually the “Rev. Ted” syndrome going on here, too; a case of someone lashing out at their own suppressed tendencies, if you catch my drift.

  13. Hairpower

    One wonders what he would say if he discovered his son was gay? This kind of bigotry is borne out of ignorance and intolerance, oh and the belief that being gay is a “decision” we make. What a moron.

Comments are closed.