Edwards Presser tomorrow on Mrs. Edwards health

Standard

photo by rachel feierman

By NEDRA PICKLER, Associated Press Writer

Democratic presidential candidate John Edwards accompanied his wife, Elizabeth, who has been treated for breast cancer, on a doctor’s visit Wednesday. His campaign said they would hold a news conference in their hometown Thursday to discuss her health.

Campaign officials refused to answer any questions about what the Edwardses learned at the doctor’s appointment or how it might affect his candidacy. Edwards had cut short a trip to Iowa Tuesday night to be with his wife Wednesday but still attended a barbecue fundraiser later in the evening in their hometown of Chapel Hill, N.C.

The campaign had said that Mrs. Edwards, 57, had a follow-up appointment to a routine test she had Monday. The campaign explained that she had similar follow-ups in the past but they always resulted in a clean bill of health.

The campaign refused to elaborate Wednesday. Family friends said Wednesday night that they didn’t know of any new complications to her health.

“Her health has been so good for so long,” said Kate Michelman, an Edwards adviser who was planning to work closely with Elizabeth Edwards to appeal to female voters around the country.

Mrs. Edwards was diagnosed with breast cancer in the final days of the 2004 campaign, when her husband was the Democratic vice presidential nominee. He announced the diagnosis the day after he and presidential nominee John Kerry lost the election.

Mrs. Edwards wrote about her life, including her breast cancer treatment that included chemotherapy, surgery and radiation, in a book published last year called “Saving Graces.”

11 thoughts on “Edwards Presser tomorrow on Mrs. Edwards health

  1. rikyrah

    I was wondering if you had heard this.

    You know this breaks my heart.😦

    I have always liked and admired Mrs. Edwards.

    Having a sister who is a 7-year breast cancer survivor, this touches me close.

    I’m going to say some prayers for the Edwards family tonight.😦

  2. rikyrah,

    This is scary. I’ve often wondered why women who are diagnosed in their fifties don’t have double mastectomies. With the reconstruction surgery standard now, I don’t understand why this precaution isn’t taken. It is not a cure all, but it leaves less for the cancer to invade. They take the lymph nodes too with the mastectomy. When cancer invades the lymph nodes, it spreads all over.

  3. rikyrah

    I’m thinking the worst, and I’ve been crying. I feel so stupid to write it, but I do the hold my breath annually with my sister, and in that time when they test and you go back, you think, ‘ is this the year for the negative result?’

    It’s just so sad and scary.😦

  4. dblhelix

    rikyrah – best wishes to your sister and you, every year.

    My grandmother passed from breast cancer, so I understand how you feel.

  5. rikyrah,

    I just had a cancer scare with a two co-workers and it really unnerved me each time. I can’t imagine what it was like for them. Keep your chin up, hon. We love you.

  6. I am thinking the worst too (as I so often do…. I probably need to work on that). But I have a feeling that we will get a double blow tomorrow.

    Blow #1. Her health has taken a turn for the worst.

    Blow#2. Edwards- The last viable Democrat running for President-will announce that he is ending his campaign.
    That would also be a blow to the Democratic party….because I just don’t see how the Democrats really have a chance in the 2008 General election with Clinton or Obama.

    But looking on the bright side…. if he makes such a decision this early…. perhaps it will make Vilsack or Kerry reconsider and get back in it. It’s not too late for either of them. I’m not exactly sure how the funding works, but I am hoping that Edwards could donate some or all of the money he has left back to the Party….and the Party could pass that money to Kerry or someone else. Although I think the Party is pretty much set on helping Clinton.

  7. My best friend was diagnosed with breast cancer last year. She was
    only 31-years-old at the time of diagnosis. One thing my friend told
    me is that the doctors warned her of how stress can cause the cancer
    to return. I’m sure that Edwards’ political life is quite stressful
    to his entire family. I can also believe that the stress is not good
    for Mrs. Edwards.

    I would hate for him to withdraw, but he must think about his
    wife. Because at the end of the day, we might be sad for a hot
    minute, but he and his children will feel the brunt of the pain and
    loss if his wife meets her demise.

    To all of those who are impacted by having cancer of having someone
    in your life that has been diagnosed with cancer, I pray that God’s
    peace be with you. That goes for me too.

  8. This morning, I found out that my roommate from the boarding school I attended passed two days ago from stomach cancer. She kept the recent diagnosis a secret.

    I’m speechless.

    She was only 34-years-old. Lord help us all.

    This week the word cancer has been used too much when discussing I care about. I pray the best for Mrs. Edwards.

Comments are closed.