Kerry backs Imus

Standard

John Kerry

Hat Tip: Taegan Goddard

In an interview with NY1 political anchor Dominic Carter, Mass. Senator John Kerry says radio-show host Don Imus should not have been fired by CBS – and won’t rule out appearing on a future program hosted by the controversial shock jock.

Kerry is the first high-profile Democrat not to support Imus’ ouster – who was fired last Thursday after making remarks about the Rutgers women’s basketball team.

Here is a transcript of Kerry’s remarks:

Kerry: “I think that the…you know the punishment has to fit the crime so to speak. I think a long suspension, or a strong suspension met with his appropriate level, given that the team forgave him. To me it was in the hands of the young women. They made the judgment that they thought he was genuine and they felt they could forgive him. And I think it was appropriate to pay a price on the airwaves but I’m not sure that it was appropriate to say you’re off forever.”

Dominic Carter: “If Mr. Imus has a show in the future would you appear on it?”

Kerry: “It would depend on what the context of the show was obviously. If he goes back to doing the same old same old I’d have trouble doing that, but if it’s a different show and he says it’s going to be different sure.”

25 thoughts on “Kerry backs Imus

  1. dblhelix

    This is no coincidence — I was reading somewhere that the Democrats are fretting over losing their link to Imus’ base. The 2004 nominee is the official envoy carrying an olive branch.

  2. Denise

    I respect his right to express his opinion, but come on now. Most of what comes from his mouth is irrelevant. This is no exception.

  3. NMP

    I guess “high profile” is subjective because I would say that James Carville and Paul Begala are just as “high profile” within the Democratic Party and two Clinton loyalists, and they not only said they would continue to appear on the Imus show before his ouster, they DID appear on the Show on the final day of his broadcast on MSNBC. So much for White Liberal Party support of its most loyal constituency–Black women. But what should I expect? They were/are the Clintons’ brain trust and wrote their script for pimpin’ Black folks.

  4. “Well, maybe it should be up to the girls. Well, maybe the punishment was a little harsh. Well, maybe I’d like to run for president…”

    -_-

    “I know your works; you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either cold or hot. So, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I am about to spit you out of my mouth.”

  5. NMP

    dblhelix,

    You are absolutely right! Do you think Clinton cancelled her appearance at Rutger’s because of a scheduling conflict? Not a chance! She saw those poll numbers where a slight majority of Whites disagreed with Imus’ firing. She’s afraid of the White backlash, period. I know she is PRAYING that Al Sharpton doesn’t endorse her at this point! It’s always astounded me how we Black folks have allowed the Democratic Party to get away with painting itself as the racial justic party when the fact is there are just as many White racists in the Democratic Party as there are in the Republican Party, just different tax brackets. Do you think I would feel any more comfortable in South Boston at night than rural Mississippi? Blue collar, labor union Whites are in the Democratic Party because of self preservation not because they support a civil rights agenda. I’m sure it kills them that they are under the same umbrella as Jesse and Al.

    It’s interesting that so much focus was put on Obama’s response to the Imus mess, but little attention was paid to Clinton when Imus’ slurs were as misogynistic as they were racist. There were some Blacks criticizing Obama for what the perceived as his less than forceful response as if there was a betrayal of trust. Obama has NEVER promised to run a race-based campaign. Like him or not, you can NOT criticize what he has NOT promised. Clinton, however, is running a gender loyalty campaign. For that reason, she had a added responsibility to respond most quickly and forecfully, but she didn’t. In fact, organizations like N.O.W. and Emily’s List who have endorsed Clinton said nothing about Imus until Roland Martin outted them so to speak.

    Again, where is the Party loyalty to its most loyal constituency?

  6. Denise

    Frankly, the only persons shocked or upset by these revelations are those who actually believed the Democrats were sharing power in the first place. LOL

  7. rikyrah

    Clinton, however, is running a gender loyalty campaign.
    Yes, she is.

    For that reason, she had a added responsibility to respond most quickly and forecfully, but she didn’t.

    No, she didn’t.

    In fact, organizations like N.O.W. and Emily’s List who have endorsed Clinton said nothing about Imus until Roland Martin outted them so to speak.

    This is so true. Roland had to call them out before they said a word. I was thrilled when he took them to task, and he also called out Concerned Women of America, who never did take a stand.

  8. dblhelix

    NMP —

    HRC has rescheduled for Fri 20th (the original excuse was weather). Nevertheless, I was extremely disappointed in Carville’s statements — she should be held accountable for her surrogates. Second, I agree that she has the additonal responsibility to respond quickly (she didn’t) and forcefully (debatable) given the significance of her campaign, which she has pointed to repeatedly while giving her stump speeches in early primary states.

    There is no doubt in my mind that Carville’s role was to appease the Imus fans, while she went about her business of lifting up the team.

    But this ‘base shame’ is not limited to her. I found Ron Walters’ (another surrogate) this articlecomments shameful.

    Ron Walters, a former top campaign aide to Jackson and now a politics professor at the University of Maryland, said that if Obama took on a issue like Imus’s comments, he could undercut his appeal to the broad electorate.

    His office is half a mile down the road from me; I was so PO’d that I had half a mind to go down to the university to give him a piece of my mind.

    It’s always astounded me how we Black folks have allowed the Democratic Party to get away with painting itself as the racial justic party when the fact is there are just as many White racists in the Democratic Party as there are in the Republican Party, just different tax brackets.

    At least where I live, there are no illusions about the Democratic Party. Problem is that the Republicans offer little more than posting signs “We R not slaves to the Democrats” right before the election.

  9. I am a bit undecided about the firing of Don Imus. On the one hand, we live in a nation that respects the right to speak your opinions short of slandering another. On the other he was frankly stupid for saying what he said on air. He seemed to me to be just another stupid un hip person trying to be hip byspeaking the lingo that he THOUGHT was “down.” I kinda in my heart of hearts feel he needs to be forgiven and the issue dropped. The attention could spark a nationwide manhunt that could dangerously teeter on censorship in every form. As an infomaton professional, that is abhorrent to me. As a mother of an underground hip hop musician, I want freedom of expression to live. As a student of history, I want to know how and what my enemy thinks. Let him speak and allow me the forum to make HIM look like the nappyheaded media whore that I feel he is.

    I agree with Kerry.

  10. Denise

    I seem to recall him having a problem with his wife’s mouth during the last campaign. Didn’t she challenge President Bush to a debate ?

  11. dblhelix

    Kerry: “It would depend on what the context of the show was obviously. If he goes back to doing the same old same old I’d have trouble doing that

    I guess Kerry didn’t watch ’60 Minutes’ last Sunday.

  12. Cliff

    NMP (re:post 6): What do you think about what should be some of the strategies of “Obama” since he is being pulled in direction of white liberals, which has a slight difference with the black agenda?

  13. dblhelix

    he is being pulled in direction of white liberals, which has a slight difference with the black agenda?

    white liberals: slight difference
    white working-class Dems: big difference, huge divide.

  14. Why doesn’t John Kery just GO AWAY. That pathetic campaign in ’04 and now this? He had a LOT of money in his campaign left over from the Presidential election and he keep ALL OF IT!

  15. NMP

    dblhelix,

    His office is down the road from you. I had to face him across the room when he taught Constitutional Law at Howard.🙂

  16. NMP

    Cliff,

    As I overheard one young brother say, “I know we can’t ride with him on the campaign trail, but that doesn’t mean he can’t stop and holla’ at us every now and then.”

    One example is health care. Everyone and their momma will be proposing a universal health care plan, but I like that Obama is making prevention a primary component. It’s important that we address the uninsured, particularly uninsured children, but it’s equally important that we focus on prevention that will limit the necessity of ongoing treatment such diabetes. Corporations are taking the lead by offering incentives to employees for losing weight and committing to routine check ups to minimize cost for their companies and improve the health of employees. It bothers me that folks like Tavis Smiley can demand health care for the 9 million uninsured children but take money from McDonald’s to host his forums. Please no one get salty because I’m talkin’ about Tavis. I love and appreciate Tavis and his efforts, but I fear we’re following the same trend we did with tobacco. I like to call McDonald’s the new tobacco. Just like the tobacco industry offered a charitable right hand to HBCU’s and Black organizations for decades, largely credited with many of their survival during the 80’s, it was dealing more carcinogenic cigarettes in Black communities out of the left hand. What has replaced tobacco? McDonald’s. Let’s not pretend that because McDonald’s is running a ‘Black 365 Days A Year’ campaign and sponsoring Tom Joyner’s HBCU funding drive and sponsoring Tavis Smiley’s State of the Black Union series that the White clown isn’t as insidious as the CEO of Philip Morris or the corner crack dealer. Our kids are suffering an epidemic rate of diabetes because of the ubiquity and “affordability” of McDonald’s in our neighborhoods while the government seems to be nothing much to bring pressure on the market to make fresh fruits and vegetables more affordable and available in poor communities. I live in Northern VA where the cost of one large tomato often exceeds $4. I make a decent living, so I grit my teeth and buy it, but poor folks don’t have that option.

    I also like that AIDS is one of his top health care issues. At the recent Nevada Health Care Forum one young White woman seemed to question his seriousness on health care because he seemed to be addressing health care issues that pertained to a certain demographic, strongly suggesting there were more substantive issues. There was this underlying tone that his focus should be on more “mainstream” issues. I suspect that not many other candidates will be focusing on AIDS since it isn’t a national crisis any longer, but as WE know, it’s still a crisis in our communities. Lead poisoning is another one of his health care issues that has left some White folks puzzled. Yes, it’s no longer a health care issue let alone a crisis in the “mainstream” but as you know plenty of poor Black and Brown folks are still leaving in pre-war homes and apartment buildings that have not been adequately cleaned of lead dust, which is retarding mental growth.

    All that said, I think there will be many ways he can straddle the line of speaking to our issues without speaking directly to us and scaring the hell out of some White folks. I know a lot of folks, including SB, are skeptical of him, but I’m willing to give him the benefit of the doubt. He hasn’t done anything to earn my distrust. Hell, I’m a single mother of a teenage son. If I haven’t found the ideal husband by now, I know damn well I’m not going to find the ideal Black president that can actually win. I’m willing to lower my standards without compromising my integrity. Please, I’m NOT challenging any one’s views or inviting a debate on Obama. I pretty much no where everyone stands. I just wanted to respond to Cliff.

  17. Cliff

    McDonalds has the VA on lockdown too. You are definitely making me think about to coming of the maze of McDonalds in South Central, L.A. (every 1.5 miles for a 20 mile square radius) I let my daughter get addicted to those nuggets. Now you have put it on my conscious to un-addict her (4 yrs). I, along with the Blacks and Hispanics in this city, also fell into the fast food trap. You’re right; we should reject corporate sponsorship which has investments to kill us slowly through ingestion, leading to poor health. I think we have enough black businesses out there to finance “The State of the Black Union”. I am adhering to “Obama’s strategy since I’ve seen you dblhelix’s explanations. Can you tell me what is the current statistics with regard to black women in America who are at risk for HIV infection?

  18. NMP

    The most available statistic is Black women comprise 50% of all new or newly diagnosed HIV infections. I live in the DC area, which has the highest infection rate in the country, and I’m SCARED AS HELL!

  19. This is an appeal to the “Reagan Democrats” that swing the close elections. Another one of the things that makes this winner take all misrepresentative democracy hard to take.

Comments are closed.