Valerie McDonald and Gerrie Schipske announce for Millender-McDonald seat

Standard

Diane Watson

Valerie McDonald, daughter of the late Congresswoman Juanita Millender-McDonald announced her candidacy for Congress this week.   Ms. McDonald enters this race with the endorsement of Los Angeles Congresswoman Diane Watson pictured above.   I normally like Diane Watson’s judgement and votes, but she also defended the morally bankrupt New Orleans Congressman “Dollar Bill” Jefferson, which, leaves me cold. Rep. Watson’s endorsement shatters the fragile consensus achieved by former Congressman and Lieutenent Governor Mervyn Dymally, one of the last godfathers of California Black Politics, to support Assemblywoman Laura Richardson, a Millender-McDonald protege for this race.   No racial group having a majority makes the jockeying for support crucial. 

As usual, we ain’t united.  Into the rift steps Long Beach City Councilwoman Gerrie Schipske, a former congressional candidate in another adjoining seat.  Her website quotes her saying, “This special election is not about left, right or center. And it must not be about the ethnicity of the candidates. This special election must be about addressing the concerns and circumstances of those who live here.” BALONEY,Baby.  This special election ain’t bout but one thing: RACE.  Let’s not kid ourselves and lose perspective.  

“Errbody” got somebody.  Now the Asian community needs to put somebody forward and it will really be interesting.

51 thoughts on “Valerie McDonald and Gerrie Schipske announce for Millender-McDonald seat

  1. dblhelix

    Gerrie isn’t fooling me w/ the “this isn’t about race” bit.

    Her web site preaches Long Beach unity — apparently LB is split into three congressional districts.

    We know Gerrie’s council seat must be based on a white city district. She’s really stirring the “why are we in this congressional district” pot.

    Reminds me of a PG district in wich I made calls in. A piece of Anne Arundel County got annexed to keep the district from going majority-minority. You call those Anne Arundel folks, and they don’t want to talk candidates/issues — they wail:

    “We don’t want to be with PG.”

  2. rikyrah

    OT: Here’s an interesting article, but consider the source.

    Is she writing off the Black vote

    Consider the source. I’ll need another source saying the same thing before I’d give this any credence.

  3. dblhelix

    rikyrah: I’ll need another source saying the same thing before I’d give this any credence.

    That’s what I thought, too. But what caught my eye was the on-the-record quotes (so unusual for the WT).

  4. Cliff

    SB youre right every race needs a representative in congress, house, high seats, decision making majority (as opposed to the white minority).

    Rikyrah that cartoon was deep🙂

    OT:

    I had a dream last night that I was at a water park. There were many black people who were in attendance at this park. Then tragedy broke out, some type of tragedy where there were a large amount black people in an evacuation procedure. There were no white authorities organizing this evacuation, we had to do it ourselves. A group of black children managed to escape. One black child after the other were walking across horizontal wooden planks on a bridge that we managed to construct with what we had available to us. One of the black children fell off one of the planks, and as he was falling he looked at me and said “Goodbye”. Then I fell of the bridge as well, and did not give a damn about the fact that I did fall, all I could think about was a way of saving this black child. Someone in the family yelled “if you only catch him”. Then I caught him in mid-air, as we were falling in the air I was thinking, “if only there was a way to save him”, then I grabbed onto one of the ropes of the bridge. As I was swinging on the bridge rope with the black child attached to me, secured in my arm, as the other arm was holding the rope, I was thinking “the authorities should be here with a helicopter any minute now, but if not, I’ll have to rescue this child by myself”. I wanted to put the child back on the bridge to get to safety, but I was still swinging on the rope. I saw three of my brothers, from our family, who standing nearby us (myself swinging on one rope of the bridge with a child attached to me) but every time I swung their way and close enough for them to catch us, they would move backwards simultaneously. I thought in my head at that time, they were trying to calculate the best way to save us. Even though their actions may have stated otherwise, I had the faith that they were going to rescue us.

  5. dblhelix

    Cliff: the authorities should be here with a helicopter any minute now

    I was reminded while reading your dream of the antiwar protest in downtown DC shortly after Katrina. A survivor marched down Pennsylvania Ave holding her son’s hand, and in the other hand, a sign that read: “Iraqis didn’t leave us on no damn roof.”

  6. Cliff

    Dblhelix:
    What you saw is interconnected with the dream, which has me in a swoon right now.🙂 This is what I felt confused about living and struggling to obey the word of God. Once I made the mental commitments, and said in my head, “I’m not going to bow down”, “I love and respect myself”, “I love and respect my people”, and attempt to relate these words with my actions, I always have to go through more pain, more struggle, more depression, and more trial and tribulations. My confusion transferred into appreciation, seeing what our people went through regarding Katrina.

    The Brothers and Sisters from Hurricane Katrina who did not commit suicide, realize this more than myself, witnessing ultimate pain, and ultimate suffering.

    Valerie McDonald: “The wonderful people of this district deserve nothing but the best and I feel that I can offer them that by representing them in Washington,”

    You know we definitely need the best to help us reach our ultimate goals in this country.

    Gerrie Schipske: “We have to stop a politics that is driven by money and not the concerns and circumstances of the people who live in our city.”

    SB: This is a powerful statement, but how difficult is it for politicians to live up to these words? What do you think about Valerie McDonald’s chances of getting in?

  7. dblhelix

    [1] Unh, no. Looks like we have a third candidate:


    Also Friday, Signal Hill City Councilman Ed Wilson said he plans to enter the race.

    Wilson announced his bid at Hilltop Park, from which the Los Angeles basin and the entire 37th Congressional District is visible.

    Wilson became the first African-American to be elected to Signal Hill’s City Council, and he later became the city’s first black mayor.

    “People want someone they can get excited about,” said Wilson, who served as Signal Hill’s mayor twice, once in the late 1990s and again two years ago.

    [2] Runoff in CA isn’t like IRV, just means top vote-getters from each party would be in the runoff. So, the Dem winner in June is the winner overall.

    [3] Valerie McDonald is polling better than Laura Richardson. The family link is powerful.

    Go to youdecideyouchoose.com/lobby.htm for the poll.

    Head-to-Head:

    McDonald – Oropeza – +9 McDonald
    Richardson – Oropeza – +3 Richardson

    Multi-candidate:

    Oropeza: 26
    McDonald: 17
    Richardson: 13
    Lowenthal: 11 (not running)

    Cliff: how difficult is it for politicians to live up to these words

    It’s the battle cry of a long-shot. I looked up Schipske’s city council district. It is on the eastern edge of the congressional district, and yes, several shades lighter than the district overall.

    She may be in this just to broker a deal w/ one of the frontrunners to get attention paid to her issues.

  8. dblhelix

    Also, from poll analysis:

    As for African American voter preferences, the survey revealed that McDonald received 66% support and Richardson received 55% support when the candidates’ backgrounds were fully known by the voters.

    Voters surveyed also favored Valerie McDonald over Oropeza, particularly when they were informed she was the daughter of the late Congresswoman Juanita McDonald. Her favorability among African American voters in the district soared to 66% when background information regarding her family ties to the highly respected late Congresswoman was provided.

    But if McDonald and Richardson are both in the race, high propensity voters indicated that their loyalties would be nearly evenly divided, and the resulting split in the African American vote would likely hand the Special Election for 37 th Congressional District to Oropeza on the strength of an undivided White and Latino vote within the district. More than half of White and Latino voters in the district support Oropeza, according to the AAVREP-commissioned poll.

    So, Gerrie Schipske in the race will hurt Oropeza more than the others. Aside from her district, from what I’ve read, she will draw from hard-core environmentalists & LGBT — in other words, white liberals.

  9. dblhelix

    rikyrah: Question: WHEN is the election?

    Jun 26th

    When would a runoff be? Is it that you need 50%+1?

    Aug 21, but it won’t make a difference.

    If any candidate in June gets > 50%, he/she wins (any party).
    If no candidate gets > 50%, the top vote-getter by party competes in August.

    But the district votes 75% Dem, so the Dem winner in Jun will be the winner in August, regardless.

  10. rikyrah

    “Black Americans are at the end of the diversity line.”

    Tony Brown’s Journal, this week. Check the transcript.

  11. rikyrah

    Anyone going to buy the new biography of Clarence ‘Lawn Jockey’ Thomas?

    I’m sorry. I can’t. I can’t give any money for anything towards him. I got shudders as I bought the Condi bio.

  12. rikyrah

    OT: How come no comments, analysis of the Philadelphia Mayoral Race? Why is it that I’m reading about it on MyDD, and not any of my usual Black Blogosphere stops?

    What happened to Chaka Fattah? Did he have to give up his Congressional Seat to run for Mayor?

  13. dblhelix

    rikyrah: Why is it that I’m reading about it on MyDD, and not any of my usual Black Blogosphere stops?

    my guess is b/c chris bowers and others are philly-based, while only the Field jumps out at me. I saw your question at FN — he doesn’t appear to be too invested in the race.

  14. dblhelix

    OT: Did anyone watch Obama on ‘This Week’? Can anyone add to this article? Is it an accurate reflection?

    On affirmative action, Obama, a Harvard Law School graduate, said he thinks that someday when his two young daughters apply to college, they “should probably be treated by any admissions officer as folks who are pretty advantaged” and there is nothing wrong with that.

    “I think that we should take into account white kids who have been disadvantaged and been brought up in poverty and shown themselves to have what it takes to succeed,” he added. “There are a lot of African-American kids who are still struggling.

    Obama said that “if we have done what needs to be done to ensure that kids who are qualified to go to college can afford it, that affirmative action becomes a diminishing tool for us to achieve racial equality in this society”

    This is a topic that is very important — the organizers of Michigan’s successful Proposition 2:

    Proposal 2 is a statewide ballot initiative that will prohibit the state from granting preferential treatment based on skin color or gender in 3 specific areas: public contracting, public employment, and public education.

    plan to make this an issue for the ’08 presidential election by promoting ballot initiatives in multiple states, including MO, AZ, CO.

    Incidentally, this is the topic for the question I’m submitting to Tavis.

  15. Denise

    This only suggests that he’s stolen a page from the supposed “Clarence Thomas: Get Yours and Keep Steppin'” handbook.

  16. Denise

    p.s.

    Black conservative Republicans are not the only ones employing this “see ya!” tactic.

    Ambitious, social climbers of ALL races and persuasions have done this since the beginning of time. For some reason, though, it’s only fashionable to put black Republicans on blast.

    THEY ALL DO IT because it’s a class-based mindset.

    Again, I’m neither Democrat nor Republican. I’m an independent thinker.

  17. Denise

    Should Asians be penalized in the interest of maintaining diversity when they outperform everyone else?

    I’m not sure I understand the point of this argument..

  18. Rick

    dblhelix, Denise, re: Obama and affirmative action

    it seems as if he feels “affirmative action” should be skewed to more actively help those on low incomes, irrespective of race…assuming “someday” (when / if that someday comes) we won’t NEED safeguards to protect against racial discriminiation.

    well, that’s my interpretation of what he meant, but I’m pretty sure he will be asked to clarify for himself over the next couple of weeks.

  19. rikyrah

    Denise, I’m with Rick here. I don’t, in any way, believe he’s adopted a Clarence Thomasish approach.

    This dovetails with what I was referencing with regards to Tony Brown – on this week’s show past, he had the author of the study of the breakdown of the Black population at elite schools, and she had discovered that though the schools, on the surface, had indeed increased their ‘Black’ populations, they were children of Carribbean and African immigrants, and not African-Americans. It was definitely an interesting program.

  20. rikyrah

    Denise, good question. But, we can submit more than one, right? That’s what I’ve been doing…LOL

  21. Denise

    I don’t disagree, Rick. I just happen to think that statements regarding AA admissions policies should be framed as more than simply a black and white issue.

    If the ultimate objective of these policies is intellectual, cultural, and demographic diversity, then Asians and Latinos need to be pulled into these discussions as well.

    Otherwise, it comes off as politically self-serving when anyone says it, including Senator Obama.

  22. dblhelix

    Rick: but I’m pretty sure he will be asked to clarify for himself over the next couple of weeks.

    I think each and every candidate needs to go on the record, without resorting to kumbayah. Obama’s older daughter will be applying for college during the second term of his (or somebody’s) administration.

    Older post debunking class-based preferences here.

    to more actively help those on low incomes

    If you ask me, the poor white kids need to be raising an eyebrow. There is a serious problem with this kind of thinking that goes beyond Steinberg’s analysis. Take this statement:

    I think that we should take into account white kids who have been disadvantaged and been brought up in poverty and shown themselves to have what it takes to succeed

    College access/affordability revolves around financial aid, the bulk of it coming from institutional financial aid. Here’s a miserable fact: more institutional financial aid goes to families w/ incomes > $100K than less than.

    What is happening is that colleges are selecting students who have “shown themselves to have what it takes” — which, not coincidentally, usually means they come from affluent areas. To enable their attendance, the bar has been raised on income standards, with the gap widening.

    A recent real estate investment opportunity is the “kiddie condo” — student housing isn’t coming out of state budgets — but rather, developers are in partnership to build upscale (‘granite countertops’) condos to meet student demand, which affluent parents ‘flip’ over time.

    See:

    http://www.scotsmanguide.com/default.asp?ID=1563
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/14041818/

    Google for “Diminishing Equity in the Nation’s Premier Public Universities” for the facts on what is happening nationwide in terms of access/affordability.

    It should be fairly obvious that class-based preferences heavily favors whites of means.

  23. dblhelix

    Rick @42 — my response is stuck in moderation due to a bunch of links about what is actually happening today in terms of educational access/affordability.

  24. dblhelix

    I meant Rick@38, of course.

    rikyrah: This dovetails with what I was referencing with regards to Tony Brown – on this week’s show past, he had the author of the study of the breakdown of the Black population at elite schools, and she had discovered that though the schools, on the surface, had indeed increased their ‘Black’ populations, they were children of Carribbean and African immigrants, and not African-Americans

    I would be interested to know if there was any analysis as to reasons for this trend? I could not find a transcript.

    When my post comes out of moderation, you’ll see that both admission and financial aid skews to increasingly affluent student bodies. I’m wondering if the children of the immigrant groups cited fell into that class.

  25. rikyrah

    Denise,

    I’m feeling you with regards to all the folks needing to be drawn into these discussions as well. But,you and I know that the question asked had nothing to do with all the folks. It has to do with Black and White.

    I don’t know if Richardson has been on the show. Has he been, and did they not try and pin him down on the immigration issue, because it’s a ‘ Hispanic’ issue? See, my thing is, I don’t mind the questions being asked, but they have to be asked of everyone, not just the Black candidate. What they did in that interview, for me, was, ‘remember, he’s the Black candidate’. It would be like having Hillary on, and every other question be about abortion and a woman’s right to choose, as if a woman is the only one who would be concerned about it. If they did that, they’d be called out on the carpet, but the repeated going back to the ‘ remember, he’s the Black candidate’ mess….well, I know it’s what he has to endure, but I don’t have to like it.

  26. rikyrah

    When my post comes out of moderation, you’ll see that both admission and financial aid skews to increasingly affluent student bodies. I’m wondering if the children of the immigrant groups cited fell into that class.
    Well, considering that African Immigrants are the best educated of any group in this country – outpacing even the Asians, I think that’s a yes.
    And, the Professor also pointed out that large numbers of the African immigrants come to elite American colleges from college prep, competitive independent or boarding schools, whether in America or Europe, which gives them social skills that American Blacks don’t have.

  27. dblhelix

    rikyrah: large numbers of the African immigrants come to elite American colleges from college prep, competitive independent or boarding schools, whether in America or Europe, which gives them social skills that American Blacks don’t have

    Exactly. And in the race for ‘rankings,’ schools are increasingly accepting students from affluent areas preferentially, and that’s where the financial aid is going as well.

    I am 100% with you on getting all candidate positions. And low-income whites should not get drawn into the false argument that race-based preferences undermine educational access/affordability for all. It’s a wedge.

  28. rikyrah

    Exactly. And in the race for ‘rankings,’ schools are increasingly accepting students from affluent areas preferentially, and that’s where the financial aid is going as well.

    I am 100% with you on getting all candidate positions. And low-income whites should not get drawn into the false argument that race-based preferences undermine educational access/affordability for all. It’s a wedge

    I hear ya. I’m watching ‘High Net Worth’ a few weeks ago, and they have a long segment on ‘MERIT’ based aid.

    THAT scam, along with the socioeconomic breakdown of colleges – the income thing-the huge gap between kids who are from affluent homes vs. kids who are not – are two of the most underreported stories out there.

    I highly recommend reading Price of Admission for fabulous reference for the next time one of the anti-Affirmative Action clowns starts a yapping.

  29. rikyrah

    It ate my last response:

    Exactly. And in the race for ‘rankings,’ schools are increasingly accepting students from affluent areas preferentially, and that’s where the financial aid is going as well.

    dblhelix, I’m feeling you. I’m watching ‘ High Net Worth’ a few weeks ago, and there it was, them talking about MERIT aid for folks who simply don’t need it in the least.

    THAT scam…..

    And, the huge disparity in parental incomes of college students (the ever widening gap between those whose parents make 100K or more and those making 40K and below)..

    are two of the most underreported, but biggest stories out there about colleges.

    I am 100% with you on getting all candidate positions. And low-income whites should not get drawn into the false argument that race-based preferences undermine educational access/affordability for all. It’s a wedge.

    Nothing but a hustle, dblhelix.

    I cannot recommend enough The Price of Admission for the next time you run into the ‘ affirmative action brings quallity down’ clowns. Get.that.book.

    I do say that we flip the script – this Justice Department fiasco is nothing but an example of when unqualified White folks get jobs that they shouldn’t have. ‘ Regent University’? Please. When have you seen ANYONE Black, with those level of non-qualifications be placed in those types of positions?

  30. Rick

    rikyrah, dblhelix and Denise-
    appreciate your responses! learned some things i didn’t know, which is why i love this spot!🙂

Comments are closed.