City of Brotherly love chooses a new “brotha” Mayor

Standard

Go to fullsize imageGo to fullsize imageGo to fullsize image

The Democratic Primary for Mayor in Philadelphia has been decided tonight.     I have said nothing about this race because there is truly so little to say.   Rarely are politicians of this caliber in the running for anything and rarely are they all black men.  Of the five major candidates, three are black men.  They are Congressman Chaka Fattah, Former Councilman Michael Nutter, and State Representative Dwight Evans.  

Normally brothas of this stature are inspiring.  None of these brothas really did anything for me this year.   Philadelphia’s politics are complicated and corrupt and I haven’t the time or inclination to decipher it for y’all.  Ain’t but so many hours in the day.  I know I shoulda said something before now and my sistah rikyrah asked about it awhile back, I just ain’t been in the mood.  

The long and the short of it for me is the MOVE tragedy in the eighties and the the steadfast refusal of city politicians to stand-up like grown ups and address the wider racial and political ramifications of those over-the-top police state tactics and assure Philadelphians that they will never occur again.  

With 67% of Precincts reporting,  Michael Nutter has won the Democratic Primary for Mayor with 36% and 68,221 votes to his nearest competitor’s 28% and 54, 302 votes.   The race for Mayor is over and my least favorite candidate-the “brotha” who is in favor of racial profiling and “stop and frisk” police tactics, will become the new mayor.  

14 thoughts on “City of Brotherly love chooses a new “brotha” Mayor

  1. NMP

    rikyrah,
    This about sums it up…
    Bettina Bannister, 64, who is black and from Mount Airy, said she voted for Knox (the wealthy self-financed White candidate). “The African Americans are tired of the African Americans” in office, she said. “You have nothing to look up to with the scandals. We just want something different.”
    I know that many African Americans are socially conservative and tired of crime, decaying schools and corruption under the watch of Black pols, but this is becoming a disturbing trend!
    “Philadelphia’s politics are complicated and corrupt and I haven’t the time or inclination to decipher it for y’all. Ain’t but so many hours in the day. I know I shoulda said something before now and my sistah rikyrah asked about it awhile back, I just ain’t been in the mood.”

    SB, You’re right. Most of mom’s paternal family are Philadelphians; however, their problems are endemic of old cities with large mixed communities of African Americans and poor/lower middle-class ethnic Whites. It’s the sort of tribulistic power grabbing that breeds corruption.

  2. rikyrah

    Show me DA MONEY.

    Oh, maybe the GOPers won’t have to, because, quite frankly, they never let shady deals get in the way of supporting their candidates,

    But Edwards and TBQ gotta spill it!

    Personally, I want at Rudy’s. That scumbag, from the Vulture Funds to hustling for the murderous producer of OxyContin – there are a lot of informational posts to be done. And Flipping Mitt too.

  3. NMP

    rikyrah/Angie,

    So Obama’s the poorest of all the top-tier if not all the candidates? I would love to be that kind of poor.🙂 What stands out to you about the various earnings statements thus far? I’m a little disconcerted that Edwards earns an income as Director of the Poverty Center he established. Seems like it would have been more politically correct and media savy to hire a graduate from North Carolina Central or A&T rather than paying himself. He certainly doesn’t need the $40K a year.

Comments are closed.