Interviews tomorrow

Standard

 

I’ve got two job interviews tomorrow and I am nervous as hell. It could be the beginning of something promising or the ending of my hopes for a future. Only time will tell. I just know that I am tired of the same ol’ same ol’. I apologize for the disruption of my writing but I am honestly preoccupied. On the eve of these things, I always get that uncomfortable slave on the auction block feeling. I am bout to break out and start singing “shackles on my feet” but I thought better of it. Y’all pray for me and wish me luck. Hope against hope that I don’t sound like a blithering idiot or a bitter bastard without a future.

INTERVIEW UPDATE: While I won’t say that both interviews were a slam-dunk, I did the best that could have been done under the circumstances. I have a tendency to feel like a museum exhibit during these things but I managed to crack jokes at my expense anyhow. I even got a complement for having a dry wit, for pausing before answering to collect my thoughts, and for being introspective. I haven’t the foggiest idea what the future holds for me, or even if there is one at all. All I really know is that if offered either position, I’ll take it. The dilemma for me comes if If I’m offered both. I probably shouldn’t worry about that unlikely scenario.

57 thoughts on “Interviews tomorrow

  1. If you come across even just a fraction of the intelligent, thoughtful, and quite often humorous way you do in your posts, you’ll do just fine. Will send some positive vibes your way! (Hey, I’m from SoCal, so it’s all about positive vibes, etc. ;))

  2. rikyrah

    SB,

    We all have those doubts….ok, maybe not all, but I know I do.😉

    I will cross my fingers and toes for you. But, I’m with SoCal, just be, in person, the intelligent, thoughtful person you are online, and I think that’s your best foot forward.

    Good luck!🙂

  3. a northwest girl

    rikyrah says it best. you just be you — solid and bright and clear and true. that’s enough. more than enough. for them. and for us.

    peace.

  4. dblhelix

    SB — with all of your talent, they’ll be banging down your door. Don’t forget to update your resume to include your reporter’s gig in Orangeburg😉

    Some funny business in CA-37, all. The state party got together to give Oropeza the endorsement. Here are some of the details:

    The vast majority of black delegates in attendance voted for Richardson, while Oropeza won all but a few of the Latino, white and Filipino delegates.

    For her part, Richardson accused Senate President Pro Tem Don Perata of having “dumped 130 people here” from outside the district to throw the vote to Oropeza.

    I’ll say it before Rikyrah does — hmm, how’s the alliance working out?

    MD-07 – article today in Baltimore Sun expressing ‘surprise’ in Obama taking a narrow lead in straw poll of party regulars, Howard County, MD. The only thing that surprised me was no mention of Elijah Cumming’s endorsement of Obama (formally on Fri, although I’d already heard about in the works weeks ago). Howard County is in Elijah’s district. This is why I find still find value in CBC endorsements.

  5. rikyrah

    I’ll say it before Rikyrah does — hmm, how’s the alliance working out?

    BWA HA HA HA HA….

    Too funny, but I hear ya.😉

  6. I had intended to start off tomorrow writing about this race and I have some insights. I am mulling over endorsing although I believe its useless. Thanks for the update. I deeply appreciate it. You are as big a political junkie as Political Junkie, Rikyrah, and me.

  7. “I’ve got two job interviews tomorrow and I am nervous as hell. It could be the beginning of something promising or the ending of my hopes for a future.” (SB)

    Um… Why did I feel like I was stumbling upon my own words when I pulled up your site? You snatched the words right out of my head. I feel exactly the same way. The only difference is that I have one interview tomorrow. Otherwise, everything you wrote in your post is a copy of my feelings, except I’m probably 10 times more nervous than you.

    Two reasons why I’m nervous:
    A. I never really know how the hiring manager will interpret the limits of my disability. No matter how much I try to demonstrate that I’m a super bad sister (smile), people often get entangled in the web of their perceptions of the blind/disabled. I just pray tomorrow will be different.
    B. I want to be in the middle of God’s will for my life. I don’t want this job, if it’s offered to me, to side track me from doing the things that I know I’m called to do. Speaking, writing, training… I don’t want the mighty dollar to cause me to wander away from my real purpose in life.
    (It’s funny, just as I had made up my mind that I was going to run after my purpose and passion, this job interview came up. I’m a tad bit confused. Whatever, the case, a sister can always use some more money. And I’ll make sure that the money that I make from this job goes on my real purpose in life.)

    Well, good luck to you , my brotha. God knows what both of us needs. He’ll provide as He sees fit. Plus, as everyone has already said, if you put forth the intelligence and charm that you do via this site, you’ll be just fine. (smile)

    Best wishes,

    Angie

  8. Denise

    Best of luck to you, SB.

    As long as you stay true to who you are, you’ll always be fine.
    Any organization would be lucky to have you on their team.

    Go out and do the damn thing!!!!!

  9. NMP

    SB,

    Convince yourself you already own that job and the rest will fall into place. I have NO doubt we’ll be having an online congratulatory party for you by week’s end!

  10. Man I hate job interviews. The auction block thing again. The one question I hate the most is “tell me what areas you need to improve the most in”. I am tempted to say “BSing my way through these interviews”. But the last two jobs I got, I was told that the reason I was selected was because I had the most enthusiasm…which means I am a pretty good BSer after all.😉

    Anyway, hope all goes well and it works out for the best. You too Angie!

  11. NMP

    Angie,

    I’m sure “disabled” is the last term people use to describe you. You may not have clear sight, but you are certainly more insightful than most.

  12. Rick

    Angie,

    Co-sign NMP’s remarks. You are Phenomenonal Woman!

    regarding part “B”, I pray that God will show you the way.

  13. dblhelix

    SB, more for your MOM files.

    One month ago, O’Malley was on the record in support of a bill to grant early parole to non-violent drug offenders. We are not talking about anything radical here — eligibility for parole at 5yrs of the mandatory min sentence of ten yrs for users who deal to support their habit.

    – full support from and priority of the Legislative Black Caucus
    – polls in MD, as well as national polls show overwhelming support (~70%) for treatment over incarceration.
    – 70% of MD’s incarcerated are in for drug-related crimes

    In the last minute, MOM “changed his mind.” The CW is that he’s getting all “presidential” in his thinking.

  14. rikyrah

    Angie, good luck to you too. You are ‘ tops’. Like SB, be your intelligent selves, and the rest should come.

  15. NMP

    dblhelix,

    We are talking about the same MOM who increased arrests of innocent Black men and youth, some for just loitering and public intoxication, to establish ‘tough on crime’ cred much like Giuliani in New York?

  16. dblhelix

    NMP,

    Yes, I was really referring back to an old conversation (pre-NMP, if you can imagine such a world🙂 when SB was being his open-minded self & we were cautioning that disappointment was on the horizon.

    BTW, have you seen the latest?

  17. dblhelix

    Some major DRAMA in CA-37 …

    Recall SB’s post on Gerrie Schipske. She’s openly gay and has a grudge against Richardson from way back.

    In the race, Richardson lost in a Democratic primary to Gerrie Shipske, who is openly gay. And bad feelings from Richardson’s campaign in that race continue to reverberate.
    California

    Kuehl, who is a lesbian, sent a letter out Monday denouncing Richardson and urging recipients to support Oropeza. Kuehl said “Oropeza has long been a friend to the LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender) community,” and that Richardson’s earlier campaign mailers “were filled with homophobic hate speech so shocking that many of her biggest supporters withdrew their endorsements of her candidacy.”

    Schipske is now out of the race and clearly has thrown her support to Oropeza (I figured that would happen — a little soon, but they’re voting in a month). Calling attention to her issues, that’s what it was all about.

    Is there a significant GLBT vote in CA-37? Will it make a difference?

    Damn, it’s looking like:

    White + Lationo + Filipino + GLBT

  18. dblhelix

    I’ll answer my own question. Around here at least, GLBT is good for $$$. With so little time to campaign, fundraising is a problem, so they can definitely hurt Richardson by funding Oropeza.

    SB, get yourself a glass of wine & relax. Hope it went well today.

    Angie, best of luck tomorrow.

    And both of you have bright futures, no matter what happens this week.

  19. Good luck SB

    I’m tied up with the same stuff at the moment.

    I’m going back to school this year if the right opportunity doesn’t come first.

    I have those same doubts…. the competition for good work is fierce.. Thanks to your President :)…who is killing the job market with this new world order, service based economy.

    Somehow we have to find a way to think positive.

  20. Rick

    Thanks, rikyrah

    So the author of the “End of Blackness” has decided to take on the very sensititve topic of if – or who – someone should make sacrifices in their own career in order to help support the career aspirations of their loved ones. And she cloakes her argument through the veil of “black feminism” to present an argument that Michelle is making a big mistake (and while we’re at it, sending a very poor message to other black women, especially young black girls, who are looking on).

    Maybe me and my black male friends are the only ones “evolved” — which I highly highly doubt — but many black men have (or are willing to) move, relocate, switch careers etc. in support of their wives’ career ambition. With our black women pursuing higher educations and getting offered high paying jobs across this country, these instances are no longer “isolated”, but have already reached critical mass. I think of my best friend who just moved to DC because his fiancee was offered a consulting gig with a top firm. Two other brothers moved to Ohio because their wives followed their career pursuits there (one as a surgeon, the other as a buyer for a retail chain). All of these brothers also made sacrifices, after they had very personal grown up conversations about “what would be best for the household in this particular sitution?” To my knowledge, the wives would have been willing to move if the situations were reversed. I.e. both were willing/open to the idea of compromise, which is one of the foundations of a successful marriage.

    I think Dickerson loses sight of this central aspect of the need for TWO people to be willing to compromise in order for a marriage to work. But then again, it is not in her interests to tell a complete story when sensationalized articles/books sell better and guarantee that you will be called upon by the media to present a divisive agenda (more cash flow dollars).

    That article is just not consistent with the world I live in where college educated brothers are leaving families and careers behind to support their honeys. When she “feminizes” the argument, she oversimplifies an already complex, sensitive issue.

    (As an asisde, I find Debra to be very divisive).

  21. NMP

    rikyrah et al,

    This board must be making us symbiotic or something b/c I read the same Dickerson article yesterday. I find her half-ass attempts to be witty and provocative just plain annoying!

    Dblhelix,

    Welcome back! Tell them folks you work with that you have other priorities.🙂 Yeah, I heard about the B’more proposal a few days ago, on the heels of the Philly’s election winning ‘stop and frisk’ proposal. Seems like a disturbing trend developing.

    What are your thoughts on Ben Cardin blocking Mayor Fenty’s school takeover plan b/c he doesn’t want Oak Hill in the White folks’ back yard any more? Now, LA Senator Landrieu has also sought to temporarily block it. You would think she has enough on her plate in NOLA. Plantation politics at its finest!

    P.S.: Caught the first of a two-part interview with Michelle Obama this morning on Good Morning America. IMPRESSIVE doesn’t begin to describe her! She made a point of saying Obama’s campaign is not just about them, but them as a mirror of us. The US America does not or refuses to see.

  22. Rick

    “She made a point of saying Obama’s campaign is not just about them, but them as a mirror of us.” – NMP

    EXACTLY!!!!!

    Which is why i find Dickerson’s previous attacks on Obama’s “blackness” to be beyond annoying but…dangerous (especially since the media is very happy to proliferate her verbal bullshit).

    By saying that Obama is not black, Dickerson is also saying that he is NOT a mirror of us – and worst of all- not a mirror/figure for little black boys to relate to – even as OBAMA aspires to run for the highest office in the land.

    “OBAMA IS NOT BLACK”.

    For those words, I hold Debra Dickerson in the lowest possible regard imaginable — maybe even worse than George Bush. You see, one expects the Roman soldiers to come for you at some point…but for someone within the race to turn you over for noteriety — or 30 pieces of silver — then that’s straight up betrayal.

  23. Debra Dickerson has now decided to share her hit pieces – she’s done one on Michelle Obama. I wonder if she’ll now go back and forth – you know, one for Barack..one for Michelle…Barack..Michelle…..

    Rikyrah, if Dickerson wasn’t on my S-H-Y-T list, she just earned herself a permanent place on it with that hit piece.

    Be critical of Obama’s position, but hit pieces on his wife should be off limits. She’s a big a schill as Angela McGowan, Star Parker and Amy Holmes combined.

  24. NMP

    Political Junkie,

    You’ll be even more pissed when you read how abc news is headlining the interview, “Michelle Obama: I have a big mouth.” Of everything she said during that interview, this is the phrase they think best captures who she is? And I beg you not to read the reader responses. They are a jolting reminder of this country’s indifference towards Black women.

  25. NMP

    Rick,

    “By saying that Obama is not black, Dickerson is also saying that he is NOT a mirror of us – and worst of all- not a mirror/figure for little black boys to relate to – even as OBAMA aspires to run for the highest office in the land. ”

    Let me piggyback…I don’t have the advantage that you, SB, and others have as Black men in the barber shop, on the basketball court or golf course, but I will say that when I am in an ear shot’s distance of Black men discussing this election, it is refreshing to hear them talk about it with a vested interest. To see my son wear his Obama T-shirt to his mostly all White school with a sense of purpose and empowerment is a feeling I can’t express in words.

  26. Rick

    “To see my son wear his Obama T-shirt to his mostly all White school with a sense of purpose and empowerment is a feeling I can’t express in words.”

    NMP: I wish you can see the smile on my face right now…it’s a mile wide🙂

    “proliferate verbal bullshit” Oooh, Rick, I like that!

    You should have also seen my face when rikyrah put that traitor’s name on the boards this morning…you ladies are messin’ with a brother’s emotions today!!!

    *smile*

  27. dblhelix

    NMP: What are your thoughts on Ben Cardin blocking Mayor Fenty’s school takeover plan b/c he doesn’t want Oak Hill in the White folks’ back yard any more?

    Well, this is how Cardin was sold: underneath that phlegmatic exterior one finds a seasoned pol who knows all of the procedural ins and outs. You get what you voted for.

    I am well-acquainted w/ this group of NIMBYs, but as this is a public forum, I will not comment further except to say that they are useful tools in the ongoing gentrification along the Green Line, from W Hyattsville to points north that will land up in the vicinity of proposed Green Line extension.

  28. NMP: It’s also refreshing to me when my father (age61) speaks with pride about Obama. In the past, he never expresses that much favor for Jackson or Sharpton. But he feels good about Obama. Now grant it, he doesn’t think that Obama will be elected. But nevertheless, he is proud of Obama.

  29. rikyrah

    So the author of the “End of Blackness” has decided to take on the very sensititve topic of if – or who – someone should make sacrifices in their own career in order to help support the career aspirations of their loved ones. And she cloakes her argument through the veil of “black feminism” to present an argument that Michelle is making a big mistake (and while we’re at it, sending a very poor message to other black women, especially young black girls, who are looking on).

    I agree with you. I think Michelle is doing what’s best for her FAMILY. She’s helping her husband. Black divorce rates are sky high. He’s an example of a Black woman fully supporting the husband that has supported her as she has made her own career choices.

    I don’t like Dickerson. I’ll admit it. Her Obama pieces have been nothing but hit pieces, trying to cloak that they’re not. Excuse me if I have a problem with someone who describes herself to her kids as having ‘Sideshow Bob’ hair, questioning someone else’s ‘ blackness’.

  30. rikyrah

    Rick,

    “By saying that Obama is not black, Dickerson is also saying that he is NOT a mirror of us – and worst of all- not a mirror/figure for little black boys to relate to – even as OBAMA aspires to run for the highest office in the land. ”

    Thank you.

    See, for me, part of Obama’s run, is for young Black boys and girls to have the moment that I had, as a young girl, when I sat in the living room watching the Chicago Mayoral Debates in 1983. I can’t put into words the pride that I had watching Harold Washington run rings around Byrne and Daley, and literally make them look like fools.

    We tell our children that they can be anything. ANYTHING. At least we’re supposed to. Our children and THEIR chldren need to SEE a credible Black candidate for President of the United States, let alone their parents need to see it too.

    We MUST become defined by beyond the worst of us. WHEN will the definition of US be defined by the BEST of what we have to offer?


    Let me piggyback…I don’t have the advantage that you, SB, and others have as Black men in the barber shop, on the basketball court or golf course, but I will say that when I am in an ear shot’s distance of Black men discussing this election, it is refreshing to hear them talk about it with a vested interest. To see my son wear his Obama T-shirt to his mostly all White school with a sense of purpose and empowerment is a feeling I can’t express in words.

    I absolutely loved sending the shirts to my teenaged niece and nephew. My sister said seeing the shirt on my nephew’s tall, lanky frame – there was something about it.

    And, listening to Mama talk about him too is special for me.

    I hear ya, NMP.

  31. rikyrah

    P.S.: Caught the first of a two-part interview with Michelle Obama this morning on Good Morning America. IMPRESSIVE doesn’t begin to describe her! She made a point of saying Obama’s campaign is not just about them, but them as a mirror of us. The US America does not or refuses to see

    Can anyone point me in the direction of it online?

    Is part 2 tomorrow?

  32. Rick

    “See, for me, part of Obama’s run, is for young Black boys and girls to have the moment that I had, as a young girl, when I sat in the living room watching the Chicago Mayoral Debates in 1983. I can’t put into words the pride that I had watching Harold Washington run rings around Byrne and Daley, and literally make them look like fools. ” – rikyrah

    thanks for sharing that rikyrah! that must have been exciting to watch. I can share a similar moment:

    i haven’t felt this giddy about a presidential election and a candidate’s run since 1988 and Jesse Jackson’s “Keep Hope Alive” campaign. i still get a chill just thinking about that speech during the democratic nomination and how powerful it was. it was definitely influential…too bad they didn’t have youtube back then lol

  33. Rick, I was gonna bring up the ’88 Jackson campaign and contrast it to the Obama campaign. As far as specific issues are concerned, it’s almost like things have gone stagnant or even taken a step back in the last 20 years. Kind of depressing when you think about it…

    SB, in the “unlikely scenario” that you have to choose…I was in that situation several years ago. There are so many things to consider, but of course the one key thing is figuring out where you would be happier, all things considered. Stress kills, and a little more money ain’t worth your life.

  34. I think I forgot to “Good Luck” you, and now I’m too late. But I hope you get what you want. Like you, I’m trying to make that move from “doing what I have to” into “doing what I want to” kind of late in life. But if you have the desire, it will happen, even if not today.

  35. Rick

    Ernesto-
    would be interested in your thoughts re “then and now”…if I may ask, what are 2 or 3 of the biggest differences b/w Jesse’s “Keep hope Alive” vs. Obama’s “Audacity of Hope” campaigns, in your opinion?

    (I have a feeling you’ll say Jesse’s greater emphasis on issues related to poverty, especially urban poverty, is right up there)

  36. Rick, exactly. Jesse was basically “keeping alive” the Teddie Kennedy platform of job creation, education, and social welfare which had been seriously battered by 8 years of Reaganomics, whereas Obama is going for the “crossover appeal”; talking up many of the issues affecting middle class suburbanites while apparently adopting many of the DLC talking points as well. Of course, I am hoping against hope that ANY candidate that raises tens of millions of dollars (which is any of them that have a legit shot at being elected) will avoid being too seriously compromised by all the big IOUs they will be saddled with after they’re sworn in. I hate to sound defeatist, but the more you look at the whole process, the less hopeful you become.

  37. Rick

    FYI – someone passed this on to me…just thought i’d do the same
    ——————————————————————————-
    U.S. Department of Justice
    Civil Rights Division/Coordination and Review Section
    Attorney-Advisor, GS-12 to GS-15

    The Civil Rights Division, U.S. Department of Justice, is seeking an experienced attorney advisor for the Coordination and Review Section to work in Washington, D.C.

    http://www.usdoj. gov/oarm/ jobs/07_attorney _advisor_ cor.htm

  38. just ran across ur blog. i hope everything went well. being offered 2 jobs and having to choose 1 isnt unlikely. happened to me. God works in wonderful and mysterious ways.

    stay focused and think positively.

    yak

Comments are closed.