Juanita Bynum domestic violence saga

Standard

 

photo by psalm 11, courtesy of flickr

Hat Tip: D. Aileen Dodd, Mike Morris, Atlanta Journal Constitution  

Thomas Weeks, the 54-year-old bishop who shares an international ministry with estranged wife Juanita Bynum, was released on bond Friday after surrendering on charges that he assaulted his wife.

Weeks spent about six hours inside the Fulton County Jail before emerging at 1:40 p.m., holding a finger to his lips to signal that he had no comment. He climbed into the passenger seat of a silver, four-door Jaguar and rode away.

In a brief hearing at the jail, bond was set at $30,000 on a charge of aggravated assault and $10,000 on a charge of terroristic threats, and a magistrate ordered Weeks to have no contact with Bynum or her sister, Tina Culpepper. Weeks, dressed in a gray suit and bow tie, sat silently in the small jail courtroom, his cuffed hands in his lap.

His next hearing will be Sept. 7 in Fulton County Superior Court.

Bynum, a fiery national evangelist whose sermons empower women to walk away from dead-end relationships, was allegedly struck by her husband Tuesday in a hotel parking lot after the pair had dinner together to discuss a reconciliation.

Police said Bynum, 48, has been whisked away by family as they decide what to do next.

A lawyer for Weeks said he will continue his ministry and try to reconcile with his wife after the allegations are dealt with.

“He is extremely sad over the events that have taken place,” said Edward Garland, one of the two attorneys representing Weeks. “I think there is hope on his part that the relationship can get past these difficult moments.

“He has never had any accusation of any sort like this from her or anyone esle,” said Garland. “There are a lot of circumstances surrounding these events that will be explained at a later time. He is turning it over to the court system at this point.”

Weeks, Garland said, will meet with “a variety of pastors over which he presides, and with his father, who is a minister, and he’s going to make a prayerful decision as to how he proceeds. He’s dedicated his whole life to the ministry, and we’re very hopeful that he will be able to continue to lead the ministry.”

Bynum and Weeks are co-founders of Global Destiny Church in Duluth. They were married in 2002 in a lavish televised wedding that featured a 7.76-carat diamond ring. They separated three months ago, said Bynum’s sister, Tina Culpepper.

According to an Atlanta police incident report, Bynum said her husband “choked her, pushed her down, kicked and stomped her.”

She told police Weeks “continued stomping” her into the ground until a hotel bell man pulled him away. Police also said Weeks threatened Bynum’s life.

Culpepper said the couple was meeting for dinner at Concorde Grill in the Renaissance Concourse Hotel near Atlanta’s Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport Tuesday night.

Police said the couple had met to work out their differences. Things soured, and Weeks walked out to the parking lot about 10:30 p.m., police said. He then turned back around and attacked her, said Officer Ron Campbell.

Weeks also threatened Bynum’s life during the attack, police said. “Anytime you tell a person, ‘I’m going to kill you,’ that moves it up to a felony,” Campbell said.

The bruises found on Bynum also were serious enough to bring felony aggravated assault charges against Weeks.

In a comment posted on her MySpace page, the Pentecostal evangelist said, “I am currently recovering from all of my injuries and resting well … this too shall pass.”

Her publicist, Amy Malone, said Bynum wants to keep the matter private.

“People are interpreting it to mean the two of them were fighting,” Malone said. “They were not fighting. She was assaulted.”

Clergy across metro Atlanta said they were saddened by the news of the public beating of Bynum, a respected “prophetess” whose star rose under the leadership of Bishop T.D. Jakes. Bynum is one of the leading speakers at Megafast, which has attracted hundreds of thousands of people to metro Atlanta in recent years.

Mixing love and ministerial work can take its toll on relationship for pastors with successful followings, clergy say.

“It is tremendously hard to balance a relationship,” said the Rev. Cynthia L. Hale, pastor of Ray of Hope Christian Church. “If you happen to be more successful than your spouse or make more money or have greater prestige that is where the challenge comes in. There are many men who are secure in life, but there are also men who are insecure and they have struggled with having their wives [or girlfriends] excel in ways they don’t.”

Weeks has retained two lawyers: the well-known Garland, who in the past has represented NFL star Ray Lewis in his murder trial and millionaire James Sullivan, who ordered the murder of his socialite wife; and Louis Tesser.

The couple had a home in Duluth, Culpepper said. Upon their separation, Bynum moved to Waycross, where her administrative offices are located.

Members of a Georgia non-profit group, Love for All People, were working late Thursday to hire two bodyguards to protect Bynum. Culpepper said Bynum was appreciative but that it would not be necessary.

Word of the public fight spread to clergy across metro Atlanta who have either met the couple or know of them.

Once a homemaker, a hairdresser and a flight attendant, Bynum’s big break came when televangelist Bishop T.D. Jakes invited her to speak at one of his conferences several years ago.

Jakes, who has worked closely with Bynum, had no comment, his spokeswoman said.

Operators at Bynum’s ministry in Waycross, Juanita Bynum Ministries, asked the public “to be in prayer for her.”

43 thoughts on “Juanita Bynum domestic violence saga

  1. Did you see the pictures? I’ve been following this on Essence.com w/Roland Martin. I hope that she takes it seriously. Saw the pics, and it was no joke. Black folk don’t take domestic abuse seriously enough for my taste.

  2. De'Angelia Jackson

    We all love you and is praying for you and your mariage. You are a strong woman of God and a grate inspiration in my life. I do know that your husband is a true man of God and you are a true woman of God. I would like to take this opertunity to tell you and your husband that I hurt with you, I cry with you, and soon will rejoice with you, and yes THIS TO SHALL PASS.

  3. GOD IS NOT PLEASED WITH WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO YOU…IT IS AMAZING HOW GOD ALLOWS OLD SATAN TO TEMP US TO DO UNGODLY ACTS…I KNOW THAT GOD CAN TAKE ANY NEGATIVE SITUATION AND TURN IT INTO A POSSIVE, AS I AM CONFIDENT THAT THIS WILL HAPPEN…BUT KNOW THIS, NO WOMEN DESERVES TO BE ATTACKED AND BEATEN…I AM VERY HURT AND SURPRISED BY THE UNCONTROLLED ACTS OF YOUR HUSBAND AS I AM SURE YOU ARE…HE HAS BEEN GIVEN MUCH, AND GOD EXPECTS MUCH FROM HIM…OF COURSE YOU WILL FORGIVE HIM…YOUR DECISION TO STAY AND WORK IT OUT OF COURSE WILL HAVE TO BE BETWEEN YOU, YOUR HUSBAND, AND GOD ALMIGHTY, NOT ANY OF US,ALTHOUGH WE LOVE AND RESPECT YOU GREATLY, GOD HAS THE LAST WORD IN THIS AND OF COURSE HE HAS THE ANSWER…I AM PRAYING FOR YOU, YOUR RECOVERY FROM BRUISES AND A BROKEN HEART…I WILL NOT LIE TO YOU, I AM VERY UPSET ABOUT WHAT HAS HAPPENED AND VERY DISSAPPOINTED IN HIM…TAKE TIME TO REST AND HEAL…KEEP YOUR HEAD UP…LOVE,YOUR SISTER IN CHRIST

  4. My prayers are with you, My Sister, and your husband. God knows what took place between the two of you and what it requires to fix it. No blame is assigned here, dispite the way it appears, just prayer. I don’t have to remind you that the enemy desires to ‘sift you as wheat”, divide and conquer…) – you know that. I still believe that what God has joined together, no man (even we ourselves) should put asunder. No, I don’t take this lightly and neither am I advocating you do, either. I deeply regret this has happened to you. I know it may be hard but, whatever God’s decision on the matter, you (both of you) can and will be able to bear it. I love you both but I know God loves you more and I am leaving the situation in His capable hands.

    Prayers to you, Woman of God for healing, understanding and restoration. AGE- Dallas, Tx

  5. pat smith

    This incident of domestic abuse is sad, but God knows what to expose and when. No one lives and knows just what truly brought about this situation. I do know, it takes 2 to fight. It only takes one to have Godly sense. Most seem to be blaming Mr. Weeks, but they really should blame “FLesh”, hers and his! Whatever is done in the dark, comes to the light! Also, EVERY Man is Right , in his own Eyes! Both of these people need to Repent! The Tongue and flesh are unruly! Give it over to God people. Lay aside those Egos, and pride! Who are you? What are you representing? Every work will be brought into judgement, whether it be good, or evil! Time for Wake Up!

  6. RjW

    Flesh is truly emity to God. (Two frontline leaders in the body of Christ) Satan will do all he can to destroy those on the frontline. My prayer with the body of Christ cover you and your marriage in much fervent prayer. May your decision be a God decision. May God restore, strengthen and encourage the both of you.

  7. Prophetess Bynum has always been an inspiration to me, to live a holy life, and to keep myself unto God until He sends me my husband.

    No More Sheets is Juanita Bynum’s story. I urge all to read that book as she shares with the reader the most intimate parts of herself and her struggle. To find out that she’s the victim of domestic abuse herself…it can shake your faith in God, but then one remembers the goodness of God. He will use her to give an even powerful testimony than she has already done. I will keep in prayer for this mighty woman of God.

  8. And if Mr. Weeks is being blamed, it’s because he’s a minister, and sets the example of how a godly man is supposed to treat his wife.

    There is never any acceptable reason for hitting, punching, kicking or stomping on a woman, PERIOD. While we don’t know Sis. Bynum’s contribution to the separation, the good Bishop knew better than to put his hands on his wife in less than “ministering” fashion.

  9. Woman of God, Prophetess to the Nation,
    I have had the privelege of being very close to you physically at TBN, and I must say you are as small as I am in stature, but very large in the spirit. As an anointed vessel of the Lord, there will be battles that we must fight that we never knew we were called or chosen to fight in, nor can we see the benefit or purpose of it, after all, haven’t we already paid a price larger than all that we personally know – are we not entitled to the rewards of being a great victor or warrior. And to your questions, the answer is yes, yes, and yes.
    But there is something greater than us living on the inside of us that requires more than we have to give, and that is the purpose and glory of God the Father. Jesus knows how you feel and what emotions you are experiencing right now – your love for your husband and the Father must be greater than your pain and humiliation. You must see this experience through spiritual eyes and understand that this is a part of your chosen destiny. The encounter in the parking lot is as much a part of your ministry as preaching, teaching, praying, speaking in tongues, prophesying and singing in front of the whole world. REmember, Juanita, Prophetess of the Most High, Daughter of Zion, you are dead, and Jesus Christ is alive in you. What would Jesus do in your place? In answering this question, you would answer the mystery that you are currently living through. I know the answer – do you remember the answer…I love you, my sister. When I was in one of my many abusive relationships, I saw your video – No More Sheets, and I was delivered from self destruction in that instance, and I have lived through several more, because of the illumination I received then.

    I pray for your strength in the Lord, and God’s love, grace, and mercy to operate through you as never before towards the “Man of God” in whatever decision you make and however you decide to roll. lov, Marcia, a servant of the Most High….

  10. Bell

    IF I POSSESS OMNIPRESENCE, WHAT WOULD I SEE IF I FOLLOWED YOU HOME? WHAT WHAT I HEAR WHEN YOU TALK TO YOUR HUSBAND OR WIFE IN THE PRIVACY OF YOU HOME? WHAT LANGUAGE WOULD YOU USE AND HOW WOULD YOU TOUCH HIM OR HER? HOW WOULD YOU TREAT HIM OR HER WHEN THEY HAVE MADE A MISTAKE? IS THE “SUNDAY CHRIST” DOMINANT MONDAY THROUGH SATURDAY? IS CHRIST IN YOUR HOME OR DO YOU MEET HIM ON SUNDAYS FOR RECONCILIATION? PLEASE FOLK, GIVE THE NEGATIVITY A REST AND REPLACE IT WITH PRAYER FOR BOTH PARTIES. REGARDLESS OF THEIR PLACE IN SOCIETY, THE PEOPLE THAT THEY KNOW OR THE MONEY THEY POSSESS, THEY ARE HUMAN AND SUBJECT TO ERROR. REMEMBER WE ARE ALL “STRIVING FOR PROFECTION”!!! THANK GOD FOR GRACE, MERCY AND FORGIVENESS!!!!

  11. Wives submit yourselves unto your own husbands as unto the Lord…. Husbands,love your wives even as Christ also loved the church that he gave himself for it… EPHESIANS 5:23FF.

    The is what God Says. Any other way is a perversion of the perfect will of God. My prayers are with you.

    For if ye forgive not men their trepasses, neither will your father forgive your trespasses… – Jesus.

    Sin is never justifiable but the sinner can be justified by the blood of Jesus… His blood still works. For both those who hurt and those who harrass. Be blessed in the Lord.

  12. Joyce A.

    This situation I believe has been allowed to expose the sickness that exist in Chritian Marriages. The sickness of silence. There are so many families that are dealing with DV. Although I believe that our Father is grieving over this situation for more reasons than I can write, I do feel like this is going to be a testimony to many. How both Bishop and Prophetess deals with this is going to be very instrumental in many lives. My prayers will be with you both. God is a healer and mender of broken fences. This is mendable. Love you both!

  13. LaVonne J. Timbs

    I am very sorrowful for the events that has taken place between Bynum and Weeks. But nothing and I repeat nothing excuses a man from beating his wife. It sickens me to hear there are two sides to every story insinuating that Prophetess sparked Bishop to hit her. So if a person has a sex urge to have sex with a child, are there two sides to that story. Come on people of God, domestic violence is not God’s will. And love is more than a word it is a action. If I truly love you, would anything you do justify me trying to kill you, No I think Not! Yes, the tongue running free is wicked, but can I assault anyone that say the wrong thing at the wrong time. No. I’m sick of people taking violence against women so lightly. It is not!

  14. My,my, my. This really surprises me. How would you like it if your daughter was not only choked, but beatened, and stomped. You wouldn’t be talking about both sides of the story and somebody coercing someone to do something. I may not be that old but I was taught to violate someone in anyway physically, mentally, spiritually, or financially is wrong. There is no both sides of the story ANY man that beat his wife in a parking lot like she is not worth the 7.7 ct ring you put on her fimger is a coward and a hypocrite. If your flesh can be that in control of you, you don’t need to be in any leadership position, because you can be capable of doing all kinds of things. That is why we can half get sinners to come to church now, because you have leaders doing some things worse than them. Don’t nobody want to follow you and you beating people in public. Who does he think he is? HE is not all of that. If you ask me he needs to go handle his flesh and then come back and try it again because right now you are misrepresenting your church because I would not care to ever go there with a leader like that.
    I am praying for you Juanita you keep your head up, and in case everybody else is so into his fame and money that they can’t help you make your decision here is mine. If he do it once he will do it again, and then you will be tempted to kill him because you are going to get tired of it. So unless you want to be getting beat up for the rest of your life. YOu need to pray and let God check that situation. Don’t let him phase you with that innocence because of all the negative exposure he is getting think about the next time he get mad, and you could be in the grocery store then he gone beat you in that parking lot too. Girl please he is not worth it Bishop or none if he really cared about his title he would behave as such.
    My prayers is definitely with you.

  15. Godelive Sona

    Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.(Prov.3:5-6)

    For both of you servants of the Lord Jesus-Christ.

    God bless.

  16. Dannette

    It hurts me to my heart to hear folks insinuating that there could be any justification for this kind of violence towards a woman. You know, “saved” people can not reflect this kind of sanctimonious hypocrisy and expect to serve God. If a non-Christian person committed the violent acts that he’s accused of, that person would be condemned out of hand and with no doubt. The fact that a prominent Bishop is the presumed actor, on the other hand, is cause for “fair-mindedness” and non-judgment. And quoting of verses. Whatever. Right is right, wrong is wrong, regardless of what labels and categories we want to apply to people. That kind of moral relativism and hypocrisy in rationalizing away absolute cruelty just because the culprit claims to be a Christian, 1) is not God’s will, 2) makes you sound like the devil himself/herself, and 3) is the exact reason people in the world don’t have faith in the church. It’s disgusting. And to quote an iconic figure who was very clear on this question, “Girl, you betta bash Mister’s head in and think about Heaven later!”

  17. Felisha Bates

    This saddens me! In a time in this world where we are all looking for strong leaders to carry us through, it seems that no one can sustain the fight. No one can carry the burden of expectation. I don’t understand the purpose of these evamgelists. The only thing that I see is lots and lots of money and asking for more money. I see their extravegances amd their big smiles and false tears. I don’t see anything else. While watching the afore mentioned, questions come to mind. Questions of trust and of faith, and when you think that just maybe I can believe in the words that flow through this ”annointed” ones mouth; there is a light shown for me everytime. I have decided to trust the light.

  18. Felisha Bates

    As for Ms. Bynam (the woman, not the annointed), do not get back with this man. He has proven that he is a violent man. If you choose to reconcile with him after what he has done to you, then evrything you have ever preached will be for nothing. You can still forgive him without getting back with him! Know that he is sick for what he has done, but you don’t have time to baby him and stroke his ego to his liking. May God be with you. Loyalty to the church is one thing but loyalty to your health (mentally and physically) is everything!

  19. Lisa Moody

    I am a survivor of domestic violence and no man has the right to treat his wife in any way but respect. I did not see the domestic violence for what it was until I had been married to him for 12 years and then stayed for 3 more years. After I left, God used a scripture that freed me in more ways than I can explain. The latter part of the scripture Malachi 2:16 reads as follows……”and I hate a man’s covering himself with violence as well as with his garment,” says the Lord God Almighty. At the time God revealed this scripture to me I was questioning some things that my clergy had told me. The statement that I will never forget is the one where he said to me not to use this as an excuse to get out of your marriage. After fifteen years of trying to make it work and I am going to use this as an excuse. I am no mans stepping stone, I am God’s daughter and his princess. My prayers are with Ms. Bynum and I have to just put Mr. Weeks in God’s hand because he did not have the right.

  20. Pastor Mark Paris

    This domestic violence case is unfortunate. I am though concerned about the approach or attitude that is taken toward these cases. My heart aches for women or sometime men who are attracted to abusive personalities. The abuser cannot be labeled a man of God. A man of God does not exhibit murderous traits. The Bible says “You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desire. He was a murderer from the beginning. John 8:44. I also know that an abuser does not become an abuser over night, this is a usually a pattern. Abuse is a pattern fueled by the fear of loses of control and a deep insecurity that does not begin as an adult. Some people opt to abuse themselves rather than abuse others but their private conflict eventually erupts into public flare-up. Also a person who is attracted to an abuser has emotional issues that have not been addressed or open wounds that have not completely healed. I believe that an abuser should step out of ministry until he or she is healed. Healing does not happen overnight, feeling sorry doesn’t dry up the abusive fuel that burns in the soul of an abuser. Healing comes through the recognition of our condition. The Bible says “I the Lord your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the fathers to the third and fourth generation.” We are fighting generational issues. Sin is in our DNA. Sin is deeper than we want to admit. God can transform but God will not reveal to us everything in us at once or we will give up become discourages. Transformation is a process. An abuser who threatens the life that only God can give needs to take some time and allow God to pull his deep rooted stuff out of him. The Bishop needs to resign from ministry and let God transform him without the stress of trying to fix it up and make ti look good. And his wife Juanita needs to be healed so that in her healthy condition she will be attracted to a healthy man. Hopefully this will be her present husband after he is healed by God.

  21. first off i would like to say that god is a true healer,and he will restore juanita bynum,and heal her emotions,as well she is a true fighter she will get through this,and come out pure gold,and i agree that when it comes to african-american’s we turn our heads towards abuse ,and act like we don’t see it,but i love the fact that she used wisdom,and pressed charges ,but no this no weapon formed against her shall prosper god will not be mocked,nor deceived she will overcome this love you juanita bynum,and iwill be warring for you!!

  22. Velma B.

    Ephesians 6:12- For we wrestle not against flesh and blood but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickness in high places.

    1 JOHN 1 :9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

    BISHOP WEEKS – PROPHETESS BYNUM WEEKS
    STAND, STAND, STAND AFTER YOU HAVE DONE ALL STAND, STAND, STAND, STAND, STAND, STAND, BECAUSE JESUS IS ABLE TO DO EXCEEDING ABUNDANTLY ABOVE ALL THAT WE ASK OR THINK, ACCORDING TO THE POWER THAT WORKETH IN US.

    LOVE FROM AUGUSTA GEORGIA

  23. I have read the posts and agree with various perspectives but I must say from a scriptural standpoint this bishop is not to be “a striker” but one who has godly self-discipline. Also, the bible teaches that we as christians are to guard our reputations…..this has been a major blow to the ‘Church’ in that people who are grasping with their spirituality and people who are looking for hope and guidance and someone who is truly standing for God.

    I really feel that the ‘distractions’ that are visible in the church today reflect the weakened ministries we see. I really, really believe that materialism in the church has run ramphant and as prophetically told would be the churches downfall…speaking of the ‘mainstream churches’ but the remnant ‘church’ will come out of her.

    Please wake up and take heed saints!

    Love in Christ!

  24. Tuelo (Botswana)

    I LOVE U AND AM PRAYING FOR YOUR SPEEDY RECOVERY PROPHETESS. I KNOW U ARE THE PROVEBS 31 WOMAN.

    lOVE IN CHRIST
    TUELO
    BOTSWANA

  25. mali carter

    I have followed you, Dr. Bynum for quite some time the words that you have spoken to me everytime that I see you on t.v. are exactly what I need to hear and not the opposite. I know by the words I hear you say from God, that you are a fearsome woman of god who does not let any unforseen obstacles detour you from doing as God tells you to do. Having said that, I encourage you to be well spiritually and physically.
    Love,
    Mali

  26. Kingdom,

    Prophetess Bynum has her eyes fixed and focus….as we should. Yes, pray for our sister but make No mistake, God’s got her and Bishop Weeks….

    GOD makes no mistakes and her steps are ordered by the Lord…..
    Instead of viewing this as a problem she or he caused; intelligently view this from a Spiritual perspective as well…. Don’t you all realize how many lives could potentially be effected, how many souls may never be saved…because of this. Think about it…..Pray about it.
    Saints……….

    In the immatchless name of Jesus Christ I speak life and destiny over the both of them,

    ~Summer~
    22 yrs young Lady on FIRE for Christ! WARNING—If you get too close you may receive the Holy Ghost!

  27. Tafadzwa Dangwa

    Iam just shell shocked, this is a lady who spoke a prophessy of our country and what she said is slowly but surely happening, and you hear she was hit by her own husband who is a Bishop for that matter? I hope they make up soon and I hope the Bishop has repented by now he must have been given punishment by all the publicity of the story and considering that Bishop Jacks played a huge roll in shapping up Prophetess Juanita, Bishop Weeks should be feeling very bad, but such is life, we are all human, only that when such things happen to people we look forward to, its really confusing.

    We will continue to pray for the couple

  28. The Wise Man

    PLEASE WOMAN, STOP THE VICTUM TRIP. I DO BELIEVE WHAT HE DID WAS WRONG FROM THE JUMP AND NEEDS TO BE DISIPLINE FOR HIS ACTIONS. LETS DEFINE ABUSE LADIES. ITS NOT JUST PHYSICAL, ITS EMOTIONAL (TALKING NEGATIVE), MENTAL (UN-NECESSARY STRESS). I DO BELEIVE BYNUM WAS TALKING NEGATIVE TO HER HUSBAND AND HE SNAPPED. I ALSO BELEIVE SHE DIDN’T LIKE THE PREACHER WIFE ROLE AND WANTED TO BE THE NEXT FEMALE T.D JAKES. CHRISTIAN WOMEN, IS YOUR TITLE OR STATUS MORE IMPORTANT TO YOU THAN YOUR MARRIAGE? WE NOW BEHIND EVERY GREAT MAN THERE IS A GREAT WOMAN. WHY DO SHE HAVE TO COMETE WITH HER HUSBAND? SHE IS A IDOL WORSHIPPER WHICH IS HER STATUS/TITLE!

    BYNUM NEEDS TO START THE DOEMSTIC CLUB FOR WOMAN AS FOR THE FOLLOWING:

    RULE #1 SHUT UP IF YOUR TALKING NEGATIVE
    RULE #2 STOP SCREAMING TO MAKE YOUR POINT
    RULE #3 JUST BECAUSE YOUR CRYING DOESN’T MEAN YOUR RIGHT.
    RULE #4 STOP FAKE TALKING TO TONGUES
    RULE #5 HUMBLE YOURSELF MORE EVERYDAY!!!!

  29. trina

    This comment is in response to “The Wise Man” who posted 9-8-07. (and I believe is as wise as a fifteen year old)

    When one of your female relatives, lets say you have a young daughter, and she comes home with bruises from her “loving man” are you going to first stop her and question her about what she did to deserve this abuse?
    This is ridiculous! NO ONE deserves to be struck. This is what I teach my young sons and my young daughter. My ex-husband was very abusive and I USE to be a submissive wife but reality kicked in when my ribs were broke, jaw dislocated and the scars (the ones you can see)are still here to remind me.
    Basically your telling women (strong woman at that)like me to shut up and put up with it. You are wrong and i’m sure you would never respond to your young daughter in such a manner. Quit blaming her. Even if she is in the wrong….NO ONE deserves to be struck. and fyi its against the law. I thought you christians were suppose to live by laws.

  30. The Wise Man

    TO TRINA,

    I NEVER NEVER SAID SOMEONE DESERVES A PHYSICAL BEATING AND ITS O.K. ALL WOMAN SHOULD NEVER GO THROUGH THAT DRAMA. MY BOTTOM LINE IS RELATIONSHIPS IN THE AFRICAN AMERICAN COMMUNITY. WE HAVE FORGOT OUR ROLES IN THE HOUSEHOLD AND ESPECIALLY HELPING EACH OTHER. WE ARE NOW COMPETING WITH EACH OTHER.
    TRINA, ABUSE IS NOT JUST PHYSICAL, ITS EMOTIONAL AND MENTAL ALSO. IF YOU DEGRADE YOUR SPOUSE WITH WORDS (CONSTANTLY), THATS ABUSE, IF YOU CHEAT ON YOUR SPOUSE, THATS ABUSE. I FEEL SORRY FOR YOU WITH THAT WASTE OF TIME DRAMA COWARD NEGRO YOU HAD, HOWEVER YOU CHOOSE HIM TO MARRY YOU AND WHY?? I KNOW WE ALL MAKE MISTAKES BUT I HOPE YOU CHOOSE FROM A DIFFERENT TREE OF MEN DUE TO THE CHILDREN IN YOUR LIFE.

    TRINA, I TELL MY WIFE IF WE REMEBER ALL THE CHURCH SONGS, SCRIPTURES, AND SHUT ALL DAY ABOUT JESUS AND NEVER APPLY IT AT HOME, IT MEANS NOTHING. CHURCH STARTS AT HOME NOT AT 11AM -2PM EVERY SUNDAY. JUST BECAUSE I AM A NICE MAN, HERE IS A SHORT LIST ON SOME QUALITIES OF A GOOD MAN.

    1. KEEPS A CLEAN BATHROOM
    2. HAVE GOOD CREDIT( OR PAYS BILLS ON TIME)
    3. NEVER BRAGS ABOUT WHAT HE HAS
    4. LOVES YOU WITH ACTION AND NOT ALL WORDS.
    5. COOK
    6. LISTENS TO YOU AND TRY TO UNDERSTAND YOU.
    7. ENCOURAGES YOU

    IF YOU FINE A MAN LIKE THAT WITH ALL 7, YOUR HEADED IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION. SORRY I AM OFF THE MARKET.

  31. The Wise Man

    Bynum is no LADY! Weeks got fed up with dealing with her STUBBORN-DIVA AZZ so he walked away. Bynum couldn’t stomach the rejection so she ran up on the ANGRY brother while spewing insulting daggers into his ears. She adamantly pursued the azz whoopin’…and Weeks obliged the FALSE PROPHETESS

  32. The Wise Man

    Guess What, I was thining that they where at the hotel 4am. Yes they where doing the nasty and the Bishop Weeks stood strong on his belief about the church business. She got mad because she gave him some and felt used and started to act ghetto. Thats what she gets. I hate woman like that using sex to get there way. A true 2007 Jezebel. Whoever disagrees with me has alot of growing up to do in LIFE!!

  33. Im aware and I care

    I am amazed that a marriage started with all the pomp and circumstance of material wealth lasted that long. How do you celebrate the spirit in a million dollar wedding when people are homeless and starving, for two ministers this was a bad start. I believe in the grace of god on our lives and as leaders we should be more humble, not exaulting the same things that have always taken us down…return to the message with humility and a lesson for all.

  34. rochelle

    I don’t believe that women should be beaten and abused but I do agree with Wise Man, some women do verbally and mentally provoke these men. Not saying that the men should react to it by abusing the women, just puttin it out there that some women to provoke men sometimes. No one really knows but the two of them and God, and if God were in some of these people they would know how to respond to these situations without them escalating to violence.

  35. Efe Aghomishe

    i believe to every story there are two sides. i know there is somethings both couple are not disclosing to the public for God’s sake these are human that are prune to fall. Lets just be praying for she and her husband. divorce is not permitted in the things of God.

  36. Joan Morse

    I, in no way, ever believed in ‘divorce,’ being raised in Pentecostalism, the Assemblies of God and the Charismatic Movement, at large. I waited long years to marry, and finally I met a man with a Bible in his hand and a cross necklace on and the word of God coming forth from his lips! I had met him in a church. Because I had waited this long, I felt that God had brought this man my way by a divine act, however, this was not so. He was (and is) a wolf in sheep’s clothing, and crept into my life to try to destroy me, and later our two children. We were married for 8 very long and turbulent years! Finally, I was forced to leave this man and our home and our marriage, due to domestic violence and sexual abuse both to me and my two young children as well (this was proven in court). He had began ‘grooming’ our two kids when they were very young! I had no idea, but as we became residents of the Women’s Shelter Network in our area, I learned to realize ‘all’ we were being made subject to, all in the name of ‘love.’
    Sometimes ‘love’ is just not enough. The welfare and well-being of each one in the family, myself and my young son and daughter, was of utmost importance. There is no reason why any woman, no matter who she is, should remain with a man (no matter who he is) who abuses her in any manner and to any degree. As soon as the warning signs begin to reveal themselves, this is the time to ‘flee’ the situation, even the marriage! It is never a good thing or a right thing to remain living in it! God would not have it so. I never have remarried (this was my only marriage), I never have dated again, and I have had ‘years, many years’ of healing to me emotionally and to both of my children, now adults 27 and 29, my daughter being a disabled adult, and under psychiatrist care all of these years! My son also having gone to personal therapies for years, and myself! This is part of my teaching, and this is what I believe!

    I will say to Juanita Bynum, when I was introduced to your book, NO MORE SHEETS, this is when much healing began to come into my own personal life, and I do thank God for that book, and others you have written, to this day! Thank you for not being ashamed to write such things and talk on them to other women who are suffering within their own emotional selves! These things are truly needed in the body of Christ. I had considered you to be a role model to me spiritually, and I am only sad that you remain such a part of the TBN Family, and your ministry with them to try to bring in untold thousands of dollars both for them and for yourself. This is not what it is about, Juanita, not at all. You are dramatic and full of great passion for the hurting women in the body of Christ, and I just don’t see you remaining on TBN or any other so-called Christian program who spends most of their time actually ‘begging’ for monies!’ Again, this is not what it is all about, Juanita! You are a dear sister in Christ Jesus, and have been through some of the things I have gone through in my history, and I don’t believe that you are in your rightful position in the body of Christ. When I saw you in your white gowns some weeks ago on TBN, my heart really sank, and I prayed inearnestly, Lord, please remove her from it, take her out of it, and ‘set this woman apart unto You O God at this hour of her life,’ and let her only respond to Your Voice, Father, and not to the voice of man!’ I write this as my heart still goes out to you this evening, and I only hope and pray you shall get a copy of this sent your way, once I send it out tonight! Again, you are still in my prayers, and I continue to lift you up to the Father. Please read all of this, and send me an email back letting me know you have received it? I thank you from the bottom of my heart! JM in the State of Washington. 9/30//08 6:14 PM***

    PS: PLEASE ANYBODY WHO HAS READ THIS LETTER, DO EMAIL ME AND LET ME KNOW WHAT YOU THINK? I ONLY PRAY THAT JUANITA BYNUM, HERSELF, READS IT. THANK YOU. azulsilversea@yahoo.com

Comments are closed.