Gov. Deval Patrick to endorse Obama

Standard

 Hat Tip:  By Glen Johnson, Associated Press 

BOSTON (AP) — Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick, a one-time Clinton administration aide, has decided to endorse Barack Obama over rival Hillary Rodham Clinton in the Democratic presidential primary, The Associated Press has learned.

Patrick planned to make his declaration next week during a rally with the candidate in Massachusetts, according to a top administration official who spoke on condition of anonymity prior to the official announcement.

While Patrick served in the 1990s as head of the Justice Department’s civil rights division under former President Clinton, husband of the New York senator, he also shares a strong connection with Obama from their mutual Chicago heritage and experience as black student leaders at Harvard Law School.

Last fall, Patrick became the first black governor of Massachusetts and only the second black state leader in the nation’s history. Obama has the potential to become the nation’s first black president. He also visited Massachusetts on Patrick’s behalf during last year’s gubernatorial campaign and his endorsement returns the political favor.

In an e-mail sent Wednesday to his supporters, the contents of which were read to The Associated Press, Patrick praised Obama’s “unifying, visionary leadership.”

He added: “As a Democrat, I am proud that the field of Democratic contenders is so strong. Many are friends and colleagues with whom I have worked over the years. But frankly, I believe the importance of this election transcends friendships and party. I believe we need unifying, visionary leadership. I believe we need a president who would level with the American people. I believe we need Barack Obama.”

The governor declared that “not just national policy but the national character is at stake.”

Clinton spokesman Phil Singer said the campaign was mindful of the long-standing friendship between Obama and Patrick and of the fact that they share a chief strategist.

Obama strategist David Axelrod, a Chicago-based political consultant, was a media adviser to Patrick during his gubernatorial campaign.

17 thoughts on “Gov. Deval Patrick to endorse Obama

  1. SB,

    I’m feeling you. I understand, but then again, I told you long ago that strategically, Obama had to run THIS time because of Gov. Patrick. Putting on my tinfoil hat, he was definitely taken into consideration when Obama was making his decision to run.

  2. I like Gov. Patrick and I like what he did over at Justice during Clinton’s administration. Too bad he got shouted down on going after Ward Connerly and that Prop.209 mess. It was around that time Patrick left the Administration – Clinton slung him under the bus.

    I won’t say he’s endorsing Obama as a pay back for being slung under the bus during his DOJ days, because he’s too classy for that. But the Borg Queen is getting some heavy hitters endorsing her, and this is the first heavy hitter Obama has managed to snag? As I said, I like that Gov. Patrick is endorsing him, but there’s an eerie silence coming from folk that matter, and no, I’m not talking about Jesse or Al, either.

  3. Denise

    I seem to recall that Patrick completed one presidential term then moved on to get PIZZZZZZZ-AID at texaco, coca cola, united airlines, reebok, et al.

    I don’t consider that getting “slung under a bus”. LOL

    If Senator Obama was instrumental in getting Patrick elected, then, yeah, he should do whatever he can to help his campaign.

  4. Denise, I was in the Feds during the Clinton Administration, and there were a lot of brothas and sistas in Clinton’s cabinet that got slung under a bus when they tried to do their jobs. Patrick was one of them, but he got out when the getting was good, mind you.

    Henry Cisneros – HUD Secy tossed under the bus by Clinton.

    Joycelyn Elders – Surgeon General – tossed under the bus by Clinton.

    Lani Guinier – AG nominee – slung under the bus before she could even get confirmed as Attorney General.

    Federico Pena – Transportation Secy – slung under the bus. Replaced by a brotha, Rodney Slater, who proceeded to allow the passage of Prop. 209 when he, on Clinton’s orders, refused to take action against Gov. “Sneaky” Pete Wilson’s refusal to keep the goals for awarding Minority and Women owned businesses contracts as required by Federal law. I worked in the Civil Rights Department at Transporation and helped write a “white paper” to the Transporation Secy, advising him that Wilson was breaking the law. Clinton was so concerned about getting re-elected, he allowed attacks on Affirmative Action and Civil Rights go without mounting up a response (also aided and abetted by beneficiaries of affirmative action, Ward Connerly).

    Patrick was Asst. Attorney General at DOJ during this period. He saw what happened to Lani Guinier, and made a wise decision to get out before they could do to him what they did to her. ‘Nuff said.

    But the Borg Queen has people like Ron Dellums on board, and other heavy hitters, which Obama doesn’t have. Patrick is the first or second one he managed to snag. Now if he can get Eliot Spitzer (New York Governor) to endorse him, that would be the biggest of all blows he could deliver to the Borg Queen, because that’s her Governor supporting Obama. But that’s a big IF.

  5. Denise

    I can’t speak to what appeared to transpire from your vantage point during the Clinton Administration; my recollection is different.

    ’nuff said, indeed!

  6. Denise

    p.s. Quiet as it’s kept, “bus slinging” is the D.C. pastime. Today you sling… tomorrow you get slung.

    EVERYBODY does it.

    It’s simply the price of doing business here. No big deal😆
    😉

  7. Anonymous

    Deval Patrick is the only black state executive in the country. I’d say that’s a bigger get than all the CBC members in gerrymandered districts in the country. Also, DP has a 40,000 person volunteer email list that he can put at the disposal of Barack in NH (adjoining states).

  8. Denise

    “… I’d say that’s a bigger get than all the CBC members in gerrymandered districts in the country…”
    o_O

    Uh huh. I bet the ice is colder there too, right?

    LOL

  9. Y’all cracking me up with Patrick’s endorsement of Obama. And yes, Denise, as I, too, live here in DC, slinging someone under the bus is pure spectator sport in Chocolate City, so your comment of “today, sling someone under the bus; tomorrow, you get slung under the buss” is sooo witty, that I’m stealing that line.😉

    It’s also on point that the CBC endorsements aren’t really worth the paper they’re written on; it fact, they might do Obama more damage than good, when you take a second look.

    Rikyrah:

    Denise can probably speak to the police shootings here in the District better than I can, but I will say Fenty’s going to have hell on his hands with the cab drivers come Halloween. They’re planning to go on strike for 24 hours to get their point across (Fenty’s ordering cab drivers have meters in their cars; they don’t want meters). But I will say that brotha’s shaking up DC – whether it’s to the good or not remains to be seend.

    And thanks for the hat tip on Spitzer’s endorsement of Hillary – I’d totally forgotten he’s done an endorsement. Does anyone know if Gore’s endorsing Obama or Edwards, cause I can’t see him endorsing Hillary…

  10. Denise

    Thanks, ladies. We all gain something from each other, and that’s the important thing.

    I honestly haven’t been watching local politics lately. Lemme get back to ya.

    “Does anyone know if Gore’s endorsing Obama or Edwards, cause I can’t see him endorsing Hillary…”

    Are you absolutely certain he’s not planning to run? Granted, I have no insider intel, but something in my bones tells me not to write him off just yet. ;-)LOL

  11. “Does anyone know if Gore’s endorsing Obama or Edwards, cause I can’t see him endorsing Hillary…”

    Are you absolutely certain he’s not planning to run? Granted, I have no insider intel, but something in my bones tells me not to write him off just yet. ;-)LOL

    Well, before anyone says anything, I’ll remind folks now…

    Gore IN= Me throwing Obama under the bus

    I’m as clear on that as I am that I’m not voting for TBQ.

  12. “Gore IN= Me throwing Obama under the bus.”

    I sho’ hate to admit it. But that’s the truth for me too.

    I had actually counted AG out. But after this recent accomplishment, I expect that he will throw his hat in this thing in a few more weeks. Let’s see.

    I hope he does. That way I can whole heartedly put my support behind someone. Im supporting Obama, only because I refuse to put my vote and support behind Hil rather than Obama.

  13. Damn, this is disappointing.
    You are absolutely right SB. It should be the other way around. Deval Patrick is the real deal. He was a classmate of my husband’s at Harvard and this southside Chicago household (6 voters) celebrated his election as Gov. of Massachusetts while watching the “FOR SALE” sign go up on Barack Obama’s lawn.

    Now Obama is pandering to the anti-gay religious right in South Carolina with three Gospel concerts and at least one performer who believes he’s been “cured” of his homosexuality through religious intervention.

    I guess the votes of bigots count just as much as the votes of anybody else–maybe more–since so many votes in “psycho liberal, gay-loving Democrats” districts don’t even get counted.

    Wake me up when the primaries are over.

Comments are closed.