Sense and Sensibility

Standard

DWB - Driving While Black or Brown by Carlos N. Molina  

Sense and Sensibility is not only a great work of English Literature, it’s also supposed to be the strongest quality of all good law enforcement officers.   Apparently, nobody in the Carolina locality I was driving in last night got the memo. 

As a club member in good standing, I am one of those Negroes that drive around with his brights on because the driver side low beam done went out and my money is funny.  I defy any mofo to challenge me on this issue. 

Ain’t nobody gonna tell me nothin.’My car is my momma’s name but I makes the payments. What?  Her credit is better than mine is.  Hell. You betta not say nothin.’  Anyway, the Po Po turns around and runs up on me like a runaway slave.   I HATE THAT S***, Y’all hear me.  I truly hated it, with two snaps up, honey.   My name ain’t Kunta Kinte. And, it sho’ ain’t what my license say. 

I mumbled a prayer to the one who is able to keep us from falling.    “Father, I stretch my hands to thee.  No other help I know.  If you don’t pull this cop off me, into a jail cell shall I go.”   

The driving while black merry-go-round is as tired as O.J. Simpson’s guardian angel.  My doctor won’t permit me to discuss the number of times I’ve been stopped for ABSOLUTELY  NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!  Ain’t no dead white woman at my crib and I don’t drive a white bronco.   Y’all feel me? 

He done hung behind me for a little bit, enough to run my plate and move the Hell on.  What he doin back there? Is he solving a crossword puzzle or flirting with the dispatcher. Eric Benet lost interest in Halle Berry quicker than this.   

The fool up ahead don’t recognize the Po Po and is stopping waaaaay beyond the white line at every red light.   “God of our weary years, God of our silent tears, keep the fool ahead of me forever behind the white line I pray.”  

Too late.   

I’m off the hook.              

15 thoughts on “Sense and Sensibility

  1. SB,

    I know that it’s hard for my Brothas out there. As a Black woman, doesn’t happen to me often, but I do make sure to watch the speedometer in certain suburbs, because they sho’ like the Black and Brown folks for tickets.

    My thing is the Shopping While Black. Sometimes, it just pisses you off, and sometimes, it’s just an irritant – ya know? I had to LOL with a little bitterness when Tyler Perry gave an ode to SWB in Why Did I Get Married.

  2. SB,

    I enjoyed it. I think it was Tyler’s best work.

    I enjoyed it because it was 4 Successful Black couples.

    Their lives weren’t perfect, but there would be no movie if they were. The Jill Scott stuff was painful, especially since I used to be that Plus-Sized Sister, but it turned out well for her in the end – she was terrific. And, I could relate to the cruelty of her husband – hit a bit too close to home, but I’m glad Tyler put that up on the screen.

    I loved seeing good Black men. Men who loved their women – that was 4 out of the 5 men in the movie.

    I recommend it.

  3. SB, I honestly fear for a brotha when he gets behind the wheel of his car. I am always praying that he gets where he’s going and that he gets home safely. I also pray if I’m in the car with him, I don’t react like Thandie Newton’s character did in the movie “Crash”, because what the hell can we expect our black men to do in that situation, challenge the po-po and get gunned down in front of me?

    Hell, no – I’d rather have my man alive and safe than dead and dying because he wasn’t going to “Punk” in front of me.

    And since I got ticketed DWB out in “liberal” California, no less – when I showed up in Traffic School and the instructor asked why was I there, I basically said “I was ticketed for DWB” and he shut up asking anyone else why they were there.

    Rikyrah, I saw “Why did I get Married” over the weekend, and I have to give props to Jill Scott – she lit up the screen, and had me crying with her on that mountaintop. I’ve been there, too, with a verbally abusive brotha (not like homeboy, though), and though painful to watch, I, too, was glad Tyler Perry put that stuff out there, and he’s doing something that Spike Lee, with his “joynts” couldn’t do.

    Get Hollywood to take him seriously. Tyler’s movies have led at the box office since Opening Day. And he did it on his own terms.

    Just think if Spike Lee had Jesus at the wheel of his projects, he and Tyler could unite and basically take over TinselTown.

  4. I also pray if I’m in the car with him, I don’t react like Thandie Newton’s character did in the movie “Crash”, because what the hell can we expect our black men to do in that situation, challenge the po-po and get gunned down in front of me?

    I’m glad I wasn’t the only woman who wanted to bitchslap her after that scene.

    I, too, would want my man alive to live another day.

    I, too, was glad Tyler Perry put that stuff out there, and he’s doing something that Spike Lee, with his “joynts” couldn’t do.

    Get Hollywood to take him seriously. Tyler’s movies have led at the box office since Opening Day. And he did it on his own terms.

    I picked up my copy of Entertainment Weekly and there Tyler was, practically the first real article this week. I am very glad for him. I’m not too fond of his sitcom, but I tape it every week for my sister who doesn’t have cable (she refuses to have it because of my niece and nephew). He’s employing Black folk, and showing a Black family working together, so I’m not going to hate on that show, even if it’s not my cup of tea.

    Tyler’s not subtle in his material. The bad guys are going to get theirs, and the good people, even though they suffer, will triumph.

    He has no idea how much I appreciate that he ALWAYS provides examples of Good Black Men.

    I wanted to smack ‘The Community’ for not supporting Daddy’s Little Girls as they should have. A movie about a Black man taking care of his children and fighting for them…we should have been shouting from the rooftops for it. (PS- I’m also still pissed about the lack of support for Akeelah and the Bee)

    I listen to ‘The Critics’, and they simply don’t get it, and why Perry’s movies appeal to folks.

  5. That figures.

    If we do it (affirmative action), they want to take it away.

    If whites do it, it’s not affirmative action, but white privilege in action.

    And whites don’t understand why we’re ready to catch a case up in this SOB. Stuff like that article is why.

  6. Denise

    “I’m also still pissed about the lack of support for Akeelah and the Bee”

    girl, don’t even get me started 👿

  7. Yeah, I’m gonna check it out, but I swear, if brotha gets nominated for another Oscar for playing another bad guy, that’s sending volumes about what Hollywood thinks of African-American actors; that we can’t get an Oscar nod for playing strong roles featuring people of strong character. Let’s review:

    Hattie McDaniel – got an Oscar for playing “Mammy” in “Gone With the Wind”. I tend to give her a pass because she said that she’d rather get fat paid for playing a maid, than having to actually go to work as one.

    Sidney Poiter – didn’t he get that Oscar for playing Bigger Thomas? I forget because I wasn’t quite two years old when he got his award.

    Denzel Washington – now this one was well-deserved for playing a brotha with some dignity during the Civil War in “Glory”.

    Whoopi Goldberg – for playing a faux psychic channeling a dead Patrick Swayze in “Ghost”. (Sigh)

    Denzel, again – for playing a rogue cop in “Training Day” ::shakes head::

    Halle Berry – for playing a wife with a husband on Death Row…and falling in love with the bigot who’s going to be pulling the switch to execute her husband in “Monster’s Ball”. A role where there was no thread of decency or dignity – I don’t know how many Black women would willingly subject themselves to being such a slave to appitites with the man that’s going to execute your husband on Death Row, do you?

    That’s what giving out Oscars to Blacks in Hollywood means. Pictures like Tyler Perry’s will always be ignored because he doesn’t feature stereotypes – he goes out of his way to bust them up.

Comments are closed.