Southern Comfort

Standard

I drink rarely and when I do, wine is usually my drink of choice. If I’m feeling really adventurous, Southern Comfort is my favorite liqueur. Wikipedia describes it as, “a fruit, spice, and whiskey flavored liqueur produced since 1874. It is made from a secret blend of whiskey, peach brandy, orange, vanilla, sugar, and cinnamon flavors.” It is so damn yummy and the perfect metaphor for the focus of this and subsequent posts I’ll be doing this week on Louisiana and Tennessee.

Wikipedia goes on to say that “Southern Comfort was first produced by Irish bartender Martin Wilkes Heron (b. 1850 c. 1920), the son of a boat-builder, at McCauley’s tavern at the corner of Richard and St. Peter Street, in French Quarter of New Orleans, Louisiana. He moved to Memphis, Tennessee in 1889, patented his famous creation, and began selling it in sealed bottles with the slogan “None Genuine But Mine” and “Two per customer. No Gentleman would ask for more.” Southern Comfort won the gold medal at the 1904 World’s Fair in St. Louis, Missouri.”

“The plantation depicted on the label of Southern Comfort since the 1930s is Woodland Plantation, an antebellum mansion in West Pointe a la Hache, a small town in Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana.”

Being a lover of history, even the history of this liqueur evokes the right image of warmth and cozyness that I feel once I’ve downed a glass and settled in for a rich discussion of political history and southern politics. That being said, here we go.

Looking around the web I spotted the latest campaign finance reports of several races I have my eye on and found several interesting things.

Starting in Memphis, Tennessee, there is the race between the sistah I have dubbed the Corporate Mammy and her opponent, Steve Cohen. Cohen, you’ll recall, is the white successor to Harold Ford, Jr’s Memphis Congressional seat and is set to defend it next year against Nikki Tinker, a corporate tool cut from the same cloth as her mentor, Harold Ford, Jr.

At this point, its all about the benjamins and sistah ain’t no slouch having raised $176,000 so far this year with $171,000 on hand. Her white opponent is running scared and clocked a healthy tally of $374,000 on hand. The Commerical Appeal is reporting that the corporate mammy ain’t playing fair and has resorted to push polling to get her campaign jump started. This race has only begun to get interesting. The racial angle is what we thrive on here at Skeptical Brotha.

Next up is the race in Maryland between challenger Donna Edwards and her opponent, Congressman Al Wynn, a corporate butt buddy of Harold Ford Jr in the DLC. I’ve got much love for this sistah and have endorsed her for this seat. She’s been endorsed by Democracy for America and hopefully after the corporate pod people at Emily’s list are whipped mercilessly with a wet noodle-Emily’s List. Something tells me that we’ll all turn blue black and die holding our breath on that one.

Sistah Donna has rasied over $214,000 for this race with $115,000 on hand. Fat Albert has raised over $592,000 with $400,000 on hand. He is giving new meaning to running scared because he clearly is terrified. She is burning money at a fairly good clip and that concerns me, but I think that whatever she’s doing, she’ll have the money to continue and win this February primary over Wynn.

Finally, there are two races I’ve classified as no way in hell. My favorite two candidates for the Senate: Vernon-I-didn’t-rape-her,-I’m-just-a-little-freaky-Jones, and Vivian-I’ve-lost-my-damn-mind-Figures. Vernon Jones, the DeKalb County CEO, is term-limited and running for the Senate seat of Saxby Chambliss, the shameless xenophopbic bastard that accused his opponent, former Senator Max Cleland, of coddling Osama Bin Laden in a series of ads so foul that they are still infamous to this day-5 years later.

Jones has no hope of unseating the senator and his millions in campaign cash. Jones is being aided in his hopeless quest by raising over $376,000, which is more than respectable at this point. He has over $265,000 on hand. Dekalb county, the largest suburban county outside Atlanta is booming and he can rightfully take credit, but it still won’t help. We are talking about Georgia after all. I wonder if he takes a page out of Marion Barry’s book when his supporters ask about the rape allegation and tells them “The Bitch set me up.”

Anybody who knows me knows that I enjoy Alabama politics because like all southern politics, its colorful and interesting. The most interesting race in Alabama of late was the Mayor’s race in Birmingham in which they ousted their two term Mayor in favor of Jefferson County Comissioner Larry Langford. They were so pleased with the Mayor that he got only 8% of the vote. Ouch.

It also featured a wealthy candidate endorsed by CBC corporate whore Artur Davis. He came in second. Hallelujah, Thank You, Jesus. Anyhoo, the Alabama Senate race has none of the same Pizzazz. Instead, its tired and as over as Whitney’s marriage to Bobby.

To put it simply, State Senator Vivian Davis Figures is delusional. Her campaign report states clearly why: she ain’t raised but $24,636 dollars in the short time she’s been in this race. Not an auspicious start at all. Senator Jeff Sessions, a neo-confederate racist, has $3.5 million on hand. Like I said, the sistah is delusional and needs to check herself into a private funny farm somwhere before she’s involuntarily committed to a padded cell she can permanently call her own.

I almost forgot the little matter of Harold Ford, Jr’ s up and coming nuptuals to his fiance and his impending announcement of a run for Governor.

Before I comment on that fully in another post, what do y’all think about that. Y’all think he’s been hitting a bottle of southern comfort on the regular or do you think that it’s a mental thang for him to believe that jumping the broom with snowflake is not gonna make his gubernatorial run an exercise in futility.

I’ll let you all in on a little secret. There is a certain black female politico that I met a few years back and she met Harold Whore Jr at one of the Democratic National Conventions and has been pining for him ever since. Like Harold, she is fair skinned. What we used to call “Light, bright, and damn near White.” I’m sure if she got the chance, she’d tell him what Lonette McKee told Wesley Snipes in Jungle Fever “I wasn’t light enough for ya, you had to get you a white girl.”

30 thoughts on “Southern Comfort

  1. A Black man accused of rape in the South running for office.

    Um, I’ll be back after I have my hysterical laughing fit.

    ….ok, I’m back.

    Well, if he and the Sister in Alabama want to go through the process, then, oh well.

    Dark Sith with Snowflake…I’ve already had my fun discussing this over at Booker Rising.

    But, if you come up with something new, SB, I’m more than ready for it. Actually, I’ve been looking forward to your opinion on this, because, if nothing else, it will give me a Black male perspective on this. Maybe, as a certain kind of Black woman, I, um, can’t see past the ‘ issues’….so, I’ll look forward to your Black Male perspective.

    Y’all think I’m ‘ idealistic’ supporting Obama.

    But, Dark Sith running for Governor with Snowflake- if that’s not the height of DELUSIONAL, then, my dear Skeptical Brotha, I haven’t been living in THESE United States of America.

  2. Anybody who knows me knows that I enjoy Alabama politics because like all southern politics, its colorful and interesting. The most interesting race in Alabama of late was the Mayor’s race in Birmingham in which they ousted their two term Mayor in favor of Jefferson County Comissioner Larry Langford. They were so pleased with the Mayor that he got only 8% of the vote. Ouch.

    Now SB,

    I had to LOL when reading this.

    Eight percent?

    Who voted for him? Only his family?

    DAYUM.

    Talk about voter dissatisfaction.

  3. “Y’all think he’s been hitting a bottle of southern comfort on the regular
    or do you think that it’s a mental thang for him to believe that jumping the broom with snowflake is not gonna make his gubernatorial run an exercise in
    futility.” SB

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
    Too funny!

    “I’ll let you all in on a little secret. There is a certain black female politico that I met a few years back and she met Harold Whore Jr at one of the
    Democratic National Conventions and has been pining for him ever since. Like Harold, she is fair skinned. What we used to call “Light, bright, and damn near White.” I’m sure if she got the chance, she’d tell him what Lonette McKee told Wesley Snipes in Jungle Fever “I wasn’t light enough for ya, you
    had to get you a white girl.”

    I betcha she would.
    BTW: That’s one of my favorite lines in Jungle Fever.

    No wonder Harold got all hot and pissed when they pulled out the white girl card on him. I took notice how he got all heated when they accused him of liking the white girls. Now, we understand.

    How about I bet that his opponents already knew that Harold had him a white girl. He might have kept it from America at large. But stuff like that leaks in the home court. That’s why they threw that pasty white card on the table to take the whole game.

  4. M2C

    On Harold Jr., one has to ask him or herself whether his former black fiance failed to represent? On the other hand, he may not have given the relationship his all b/c the black fiance was not what he wanted.

    I ask these questions b/c following his first engagement, his social life appeared lacking where black women are concerned.

  5. Michael

    sarcasm alert for you thinskinned types:

    Wow, what cynicism! We are supposed to all act like race doesn’t matter and is in no way a trait that influences ability. But here some of you are judging Harold Ford on the color of who he has fallen in love with and not the content of her character. If only you cared so much about that fake-ass empty suit Obama, who married a real black woman to try and pass himself off as a real POC. I guess being catty and judgmental is a trait common to all people! Finally, the races are united! So I guess Obama done got him a black girl……

  6. New Here

    So has he said how much he’s in-love. I must have missed it because I have yet to hear that. Maybe he forgot though. This may be a political move.

  7. LMAO at all of y’all on this one.

    The only thing I’ve said about this is if Harold was going to cross the racial divide, at least he could have gotten someone like Jessica Alba. I read in Vanity Fair that Ms. Alba had a crush on him and even threw him some cheese for his Senate Campaign.

    I read his engagement announcement – and it was decidedly lacking in his avowal of love. I found that strange, since he is making a public commitment to her, after all.

    As for his first fiancee, Jennifer Baltimore, consider the fact that she was an AOL Corporate Lawyer, raking down about $250K a year, owned her own home, and basically had done very well for herself. She was also a UPenn grad and law grad as well. Forget politics for a minute – I’d like to speculate why this wasn’t a match made in Heaven.

    (1) She was expected to give up that career and follow Harold around like Laura Bush and Nancy Reagan did their husbands. Homegirl probably said, “Negro, please!” to that suggestion.

    (2) She got a good look at the family she’d be marrying into. The women who marry the Ford men tend to get dragged down into the mud with them (case in point, Tamara Mitchell-Ford, ex-wife of former State Senator John Ford, who’s about to pull a five year stretch in the joint for bribery and corruption. She’s been popped by the cops for drunk driving to the point they know her by name. The drinking started after she learned John couldn’t keep it in his pants and had several women and kids around Memphis). Harold, Sr., tried on bank fraud charges when he was still in Congress. Ed Ford is caught with his hand in the cookie till as a City Councilman, and sister Ophelia replaced John in the State Senate, but she’s too busy drinking and falling off bar stools in Nashville hotels to do her job.

    Ms. Jennifer probably saw that and said “no, thanks”.

    The rumor mill keeps churning that Harold’s gay. While I didn’t sense that when I met him, I can honestly confess there are some days when my gay-dar doesn’t work properly. So maybe he’s getting married to provide a “beard” maybe?

    Finally, this girl comes from money, and how they got to know one another is that Ms. Threlkeld donated a lot of cheese to Harold’s campaigns. The fact that he kept her under a rock while he ran for the Senate stil says everything he does is for political positioning and material gain, plus the perception of having power.

    Calculated move on Harold’s part? I don’t know. But if he knew he would reduce his chances of getting the Senate seat by keeping Emily under a rock, why is he trotting her out now, when he still has the snowball chance in hell of getting the governor’s mansion?

    If he’s drinking Southern Comfort, he’s mixing it with MD-20/20, because it’s convinced him that he can play the race card and have a white girl on his arm while he obtains higher political office. We’re still 20 years away from that, and in Tennessee’s case, they’re about 50 years away from even considering having a Black Chief Executive, let alone one with a white wife.

    Oh, and SB; Nikki Tinker is a Corporate Mammy, and will be no more than a lapdog for the Corporations should she unseat Steve Cohen. He’s done more for the 9th District in one year than Harold Ford did in 10 years. The Black Agenda Report and CBC Monitor have already endorsed his re-election, so he’s not exactly running scared from Ms. Tinker.

    Fat Albert always have had more money than Donna Edwards, and she wipes the floor with him anyway. That’s what has him running scared – he had to steal the ’06 election, and unlike Shrubya, he can’t pull the same tricks twice.

    Who you need to keep on your radar is DLC bagman Artur Davis. AIPAC money bought him that Congressional seat from Earl Hilliard back in 2002, and it’s AIPAC/DLC money that keeps him there. Plus, he recruits candidates to run on DLC platforms, and he’s planning a bid for the Alabama Governor’s mansion in 2010.

    The day Alabama elects a Black man as Governor is the day I’ll have to consider befriending a member of the Klan.

  8. Damn, peeps should talk about stuff they actually know. Jr being gay is one of the more comical rumors I’ve heard to date.

    He’s not so dim to realize that marrying a White woman and running for governor in this state is going to be a hard sell in the two communities that regularly take the piss with him. There is one very powerful Black female legislator in TN that is very likely none too happy with his choice of mate (based on what I know of her), however her power is on the wane. She’s not likely one to let her personal feelings get in the way of her business, politics. Still, she’s an example of where he would have problems.

    OTOH, there were many Black women who just wanted him to get married, no matter to whom it was. I had a few women tell me that. This marriage is not a death knell to his chances. The number of people who didn’t vote for him based on race last time are not going to grow in numbers because of the marriage. You can count on that number staying the same.

    The marriage will, very unfortunately, add a new dimension/distraction as people like me who talk about this stuff for money are going to be asking the question you’re asking here repeatedly. And it’s not just unfortunate because I’ve supported him in the past, it’s unfortunate because it speaks volumes about our country.

    One more thing. I’m still seeing all this stuff about Cohen being the second comming of Paul Wellstone. While Cohen is certainly as liberal your most liberal, his penchant for doing the good is tempered by real political pragmatism — just like many politicians.

  9. Who you need to keep on your radar is DLC bagman Artur Davis. AIPAC money bought him that Congressional seat from Earl Hilliard back in 2002, and it’s AIPAC/DLC money that keeps him there. Plus, he recruits candidates to run on DLC platforms, and he’s planning a bid for the Alabama Governor’s mansion in 2010.

    The day Alabama elects a Black man as Governor is the day I’ll have to consider befriending a member of the Klan.

    TPJ,

    You are hilarious, but I admit that I LMAO at this section.

    Um, do I need to remind folks that he, too, is UNMARRIED?

    What is it with these Black folks thinking they’re going to break the mold when it comes to men running for office.

    I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again:

    NO NEVER MARRIED, SINGLE (reportedly heterosexual) MALE is going to win higher office than Congressman.

    ESPECIALLY from the South.

    Not.going.to.happen.

  10. I can truthfully say that the sistas are after Artur like flies on stink here in Chocolate City. Whether he chooses one of them is anyone’s guess, but I’ll lay odds that it will be a sista. 😉

  11. Mark,

    I ain’t hatin’, I’m past that. I’m just questioning whether or not Harold is arrogantly assuming that black women will give him a pass for his woman. I don’t think that all will. Moreover, I think the same people that voted for him in Lincoln Davis’s district in East Tennessee will have a problem with the inter-racial marriage deal. Despite the fact that we should be past this stuff doesn’t mean that Americans actually are. That’s why the “Call Me” ad was so cleverly racist.

  12. I ain’t hatin’, I’m past that. I’m just questioning weather or not Harold is arrogantly assuming that black women will give him a pass for his woman. I don’t think that all will.

    Neither do I.

    Not only does he think they’ll give him a pass, but he fully expects them to work for him too – to give him their votes and the action to get out the vote. Who exactly do you think does the grunt work in the Black community? Black women.

    Moreover, I think the same people that voted for him in Lincoln Davis’s district in East Tennessee will have a problem with the inter-racial marriage deal.

    Yep. Now that they have a suitable alternative.

    Despite the fact that we should be past this stuff doesn’t mean that Americans actually are. That’s why the “Call Me” ad was so cleverly racist.

    Yep, and if he hadn’t of known the power of it, then why didn’t he bring her forth DURING the campaign, instead of hiding her in the cellar like a Crazy Uncle?

  13. Oh, and SB; Nikki Tinker is a Corporate Mammy, and will be no more than a lapdog for the Corporations should she unseat Steve Cohen. He’s done more for the 9th District in one year than Harold Ford did in 10 years. The Black Agenda Report and CBC Monitor have already endorsed his re-election, so he’s not exactly running scared from Ms. Tinker.

    What do you think her chances are, TPJ?

    I mean, she could take the same positions as Cohen, get in and then do the conversion to DLCite.

  14. If only you cared so much about that fake-ass empty suit Obama, who married a real black woman to try and pass himself off as a real POC.

    I’ve been thinking on it, and I still can’t come up with it – what does POC stand for?

    And Michael, maybe we’re skeptical about Harold because:
    1. He lied on his GRANDMAMA
    2. He was obviously going out with this girl DURING the campaign and hit her in the cellar like a family would a Crazy Uncle

  15. Rikyrah, if she can debate well against him, she might have a shot, because black folks in Memphis, while they admit Cohen’s a better representative, most of them listen to their pimp-daddy pastors, who are pushing for Tinker.

    Just because she’s Black.

    Lord have mercy; Black folk will still sometimes vote against their own interests, just to say they got a Black Congressperson. Never mind if that congress critter screws them over and makes them like it (i. e. the Bankruptcy bill, courtesy of the Dark Sith and Artur Davis).

  16. dblhelix,

    Thank You. I was racking my brain. Obama is a real and genuine person of color, I don’t know why people keep questioning that. What they really should question is whether or not he’s politically black. The jury is still out for me. For every step forward, he takes two steps back.

  17. Person of Color?

    Um, ok.

    I don’t like Person of Color. Too vague.

    I’m with SB…question if whether he is politically Black…that’s cool, and you’ve done that before Michael.

    Dark Sith is a Person of Color, Michael. So’s Uncle Clarence and Aunt Condie.

  18. Michael

    oy vey! politically black? Ok, I get it. But I still don’t think there is anything remotely genuine about B. Hussien. Agree on the 2 steps back!

    But still, Jennifer Baltimore a marriage made in heaven? Perhaps on paper. Either way he kicked her to curb, she could have been a raving biatch for all we know. Credentials mean absolutely ziltch when it comes to matters of the heart. She may have been just a really crappy person. I think his new chicky is a catch as well. I doubt she’s a dunce if she is with Harold. Junkie….love it..Jessica is indeed a catch, but Harold doesn’t quite rate that..lol. I’m going to find out a little more about his new gal. They look good together

  19. ….love it..Jessica is indeed a catch, but Harold doesn’t quite rate that..lol.

    Now, who’s hating, Michael? LOL. I posted on my own blog a year ago, that Harold should marry whomever the hell he wants, and that he should marry the woman because he was in love with her.

    Harold will admit his first fiancee kicked him to the curb. One of my colleagues has a daughter that worked with Jennifer when they both were AOL Corporate lawyers, and Jennifer was the one who broke off the engagement, not Harold. She really never said why – she’s classy like that.

    What we’re skeptical about is the fact he’s trying to reignite his political career in a region of the country that hasn’t come into the 20th Century on relations regarding race, let alone the new Millenium. If Harold’s running for Governor in California, I guarantee you no one would give a damn about the race of his significant other. He could get the Governor’s mansion in California or New York even if he really were gay. But Tennessee? Hell, they’re still hanging nooses outside the state house in Nashville,for pete’s sake!

    And it seems that he didn’t get the lesson with that “Harold, call me” ad that was so cleverly racist, as SB has already said. That, plus the fact he managed to piss off enough of his Memphis base to the point voters stayed home on election day, is why he’s not sitting in the Senate now.

    Rikyrah also put it out there; why did he hide his woman from the public like a family does with that crazy relative you keep locked up in the back room, if he knows trotting her out on display was going to wreck his chances at that Senate seat? I don’t care how smart you think Emily Threlkeld is – no woman, regardless of their race, is going to allow their man to hide them away like a high priced ho. There’s that sense of the man being ashamed to be seen in public with her.

    Let me put it a different way. I dated a guy who told me he was going through a divorce. Okay, so I’m thinking he’s ending it, right? So, we should be able to go out to places in and around Oakland; even if people see us out, no big deal, right. During the course of our relationship, I noticed anytime we went out to dinner, brotha made damned sure we didn’t go anywhere where he or I would be seen.

    I wound up dumping his ass (after learning he was nowhere near getting a divorce, but it explained why we always went to out-of-the-way places). Because he appeared to be ashamed to be seen with me (not to mention scared shytless that his wife would catch him). Harold’s keeping this women underground reminds me of my ex. If you’re proud of her, and many constituents were worried about your single status, why not trot out your woman? Why wait until long after your Senate race was over?

    Why trot her out, now? What’s the purpose? Cause most of us familiar with the Dark Sith knows that he never does anything unless it’s calculated to benefit him directly in whatever way he’s seeking.

    Not hating – just speculating and considerating, you know.

  20. Michael

    Yip I here ya, good points all. I had heard though that Jennifer was a raving bitch and that who the heck would put up with that no matter the credentials. But who really knows at the end of the day. If it were me, and I was in the viscuous political climate, I would be very strategic about letting my personal life out. Look at the crap these the politicians have to go through on both sides of th aisle.

  21. Aww… leave this man alone for having a white gf/soon to be wife. Black man always catches Hell for breaking these unwritten rules. Hmmmm.

    But what makes him think that he can win the governorship…. particularly after his failed Senate bid in 06? Tennessee is no less racists now than it was then.

    Perhaps he is hoping to ride the waves of Iraq. But that might not be enough. Although Tennessee is somewhat of a purple State… I don’t even think the Democratic Presidential candidate will be able to flip it in next years elections.

    (I still can’t get that picture out of my head with the confederate flag as the backdrop…although I knew he was just campaigning and got caught with the camera at the wrong time).

    SB…. have some mercy on this man.

    But here’s another nightmare for you SB…. what if he’s chosen to be the Democratic running mate? lol.

    Just a reminder that it could be worse.

  22. Denise, LOL at Don Imus. He’s coming back on the air and I think one of his first acts will be to call out everyone that slung him under the radio bus and got him fired from MSNBC.

    Watch how fast Harold tries to kiss and make up, and watch how fast the I-Man tells him, on the air, to blow it out of his butt-hole. He will sound as nasty as the Rude Pundit.

  23. Not meaning to grave dig on the thread. Just mad busy.

    SB

    He knows that some are not going to like it. I mentioned the powerful Black women here who definitely will not. Thing is, how much wont they like it is the question. When it comes to their business, they are not likely to let the relationship get in the way. Being frank, though, he can pull off Memphis without them. The people he needs are East and Middle Tennessee activists.

    Jr doesn’t need Imus anymore. Imus is tainted even if he is making a comeback. His power will be diminished. Think about it, his legacy, when you look him up in the history books, will be “nappy headed hoes” and have him branded a racist. This come back is going to be an historical footnote to that fact.

  24. Denise

    I hear you, Mark. My point was simply that HFJr. will definitely get major static from the Don Imus crew the next time he seeks elected office.

    Now, cabinet-level political appointment is a slightly different story…LOL

Comments are closed.