What’s Ahead

Standard

This week, we are continuing our experiment of all Skeptical Brotha, all the time.  I may provide some links to some noteworthy news, but I shall no longer provide extended or complete news excerpts from other sources.  

I do have some questions for you to answer: Do you like the renewed emphasis on writing or did you prefer more news and less writing?

Have you heard of the controversy surrounding Obama’s Gospel outreach concerts and the LBGT community’s objection to the inclusion of Donnie McClurkin, the “ex-gay” gospel artist and mega church pastor, in the program.  Did Obama’s face saving attempt to repudiate McClurkin’s views and include a white gay minister on the program to lecture an audience of black people about tolerance, help or hurt his cause.?

Do you believe as I do that the campaign is over and the Democratic Nomination is already decided?   I’m gonna write about Obama one last time on Thursday or Friday.  He is doing an appearance at North Carolina Central University on Thursday and I intend to be there and will share my impressions with you. I am ready to “turn the page,” to borrow a phrase,  and focus more squarely on Hillary.

23 thoughts on “What’s Ahead

  1. If I cannot have both, I’ll choose.

    I want your WRITING.

    I have other blogs where I can get news information, but it was your writing that got my attention. So, if a choice by you has to be made, put my vote down for WRITING.

    PS-As long as you do the Open Thread, where your loyal readers can go back and forth amongst ourselves, dropping links on good stories and being able to discuss them…it’s the best of both worlds.

  2. As for the McClurkin episode, once the mistake was made to invite him, he was Stuck Like Chuck. He put out the statement that he didn’t agree with McClurkin, and that should have been the end.The Wright incident came back to bite him in the ass this time…LOL He shouldn’t have invited the WHITE Gay Minister – :rme:

    Did you see the new Iowa poll that has him a percentage behind Hillary? Same poll has Huckabee in second place in Iowa.

    And, are you going to watch the debate tomorrow on MSNBC?

  3. Chesapeake

    1. The writing;
    2. Heard of it;
    3. The fiasco did not hurt or help him. It’s a wash: if anything, he traded one vote for another one; and
    4. No, the Democratic nominee is not decided. Not enough has been about funding sources/presidential influence, yet. Unions will be a factor, beginning especially in December.

  4. Oh – forgot to comment about the gospel singer thing. Obama may have picked up some black votes but he lost some gay money. The question is: which is more important? That’s hard to say, especially in SC.

  5. sagereader

    Is my living in vain? Am I wasting my time?

    lol. It ain’t over yet. It’s all about Iowa baby and they are statistically tied there. If he weren’t doing well in Iowa, I’d also think it was over. But he’s doing well there and has the best ground organization there.

    I like both writing and news.

  6. I want the writing, period. Your skepticism keeps it real.

    And John Aravosis over at http://www.americablog.com has been all over the Obama-McClurkin controversy. It’s not pretty.

    So Obama’s heading off to San Francisco on November 14th; presumably to make peace with the gays. The Rev. Cecil Williams of Glide Memorial Church, is a pastor who’s a bit of an icon in San Francisco, and Obama should have probably brought him into South Carolina to help out with his “gospel tour”. However, I think the damage is done, and Obama needs to return to the Senate, do the job for which he was elected, and hope and pray that Illinois residents have short memories if he wants to be re-elected.

    Wouldn’t it be a riot if Carole Moseley Braun came back to give him a primary challenge in 2010?

  7. SB,

    • More writing. Links to news are sufficient.
    • yes, I think I even commented on the subject. While his bald-faced pandering to black Christians in SC in particular and the religious right in general may win him votes in SC, he has damaged himself elsewhere. Couple this with his recent ill-advised comments on Soc. Security and he’s done.
    • which brings me to your last question: a lot can happen over the next several months, although I seriously doubt HRC will be making any missteps. Could Gore get in the race? Or toss his considerable weight behind another candidate (Edwards)? And, at the risk of wandering into conspiracy theory territory, I can think of two plane crashes occurring just before crucial elections that took the lives of the almost certain projected winners (Wellstone in MN, and Carnahan in MO). I’m just sayin’…anything can happen.

    Tpj,
    I still have my “make history” t-shirt somewhere. Rumor has it that Carole wanted her senate seat back in 2004, but was flattered and persuaded to run for POTUS by Dems who were already in Obama’s camp.

  8. Tpj,
    I still have my “make history” t-shirt somewhere. Rumor has it that Carole wanted her senate seat back in 2004, but was flattered and persuaded to run for POTUS by Dems who were already in Obama’s camp.

    Braun wasn’t going to get back that Senate seat. When she lost folks like my mother, I knew it was over for her. Folks act like Obama was leading in that race from beginning to end, and that wasn’t true at all.

  9. Right, he wasn’t leading in that race in the beginning, but remember there were no frontrunners in that race until Obama became the frontrunner. In his own mind, he’s always the frontrunner. (He was genuinely shocked to have his head handed to him by Bobby Rush)

    My political sources tell me many
    movers and shakers thought she could’ve won that seat back in that particular group of Dem candidates. Even after losing it ’98. She is, after all, the first and only African American woman elected to the United States Senate. But Carole was definitely delusional–she ran for POTUS! Obama’s people felt she would pose the biggest threat to Obama among the target voting group: white women. It was this group Obama focused on above any other.

    Carole broke my heart. I don’t think I could ever vote for her again.

  10. toni

    I’m black and I’m ashamed of you so call blacks.You still have that house nigga menality way of thinking.Only the white slave masters can rule and govern over your stupid black asses.Obama has told eveybody where he stood on the LGBT community and he has very good policies.But you sell-outs want to listen to the white bloggers and have you lynch one of your own.So let me ask you something, what do think Miss Hillary will do for you,I can tell you nothing at all.Me and the rest of my black friends are still voting for Obama.!!!!!

  11. yogo

    The shame is that disagreement among blacks always comes down to tired old namecalling:

    House nigga, field nigga, lawn jockey, uncle tom, slave, lynch, whose water is colder, who got a cold, who got the flu–

    Damn that’s tired.

    When I get the memo or the newsletter or the Black Handbook that outlines Contemporary Black Thought written by some authority on the matter then I might consider going along with whatever the black CW is. Until then, I’m not going to let some anonymous internet flame thrower tell me who I should vote for and how I should think. After all, isn’t “the black community isn’t monolithic” one of the black talking points?

  12. Carole broke my heart. I don’t think I could ever vote for her again.

    She broke my heart too. I could have forgiven or understood if it I had fallen out with her over policy issues. But, she let that guy ruin her career, and for that, I just can’t get past that.

  13. I’m black and I’m ashamed of you so call blacks.You still have that house nigga menality way of thinking.Only the white slave masters can rule and govern over your stupid black asses.

    Look TROLL,

    And that’s what you have to be, because anyone who has spent more than 10 minutes at this blog would know that this is the LAST place you’re going to find ‘House Negros’. Now, I’m willing to point you in the direction of where you can find some, but HERE is not the place!

    So, take your troll self, and keep on stepping until you have something intelligent to say.

  14. Chesapeake

    Toni the Troll,

    Your language suggests you need to check your mentality and further not publicly associate with ANY candidate until it’s in check. Work it out, you don’t hold all the pieces to the puzzle.

  15. toni

    The truth hurts I guess that’s why you call me a troll.I’ll tell you what I am a black person who knows that black people are full of shit half the time.Oh you talk a good game about black power and blacks need to be taken more seriously,But when you actually get a true black leader like Obama,you do just like the whites and hang them out to dry.

  16. Colonise This!

    I really appreciate both because I don’t live in the US and like to keep up on things affecting AAs.

    However if I can’t have both, then I prefer your writing.

    Btw. I may not show up in your stats but I’m always reading from my blog feed.

    Love your blog!!!

Comments are closed.