South Carolina panic attack

Standard

 

For the past five days, Hillary has left the Natural free to roam the upstate fields and low country swamps of South Carolina. Bill has been gleefully going door-to-door in the black community in a quest for whom he may deceive and devour. Never one to go anywhere unaccompanied or empty handed, I envision Bill smartly tailored with a bucket of chicken in one hand and bucket of chitlins in the other. I shudder to think of the dumbstruck reactions of unsuspecting blackfolk upon discovering their pastor and the 42nd President of the United States on the front porch.

Investing myself emotionally in this campaign is truly a nightmare and the aforementioned image has kept me up for many a night. Ron Lester, a black political consultant who has handled the campaigns of several members of the Congressional Black Caucus, has produced a poll for Ebony/Jet Magazine, which shows Obama leading Hillary by a 37% to 27% margin. His margin of error is 2.9%. Worst case we’re looking at 34% to 30% with 22% undecided. I trust him because he told me to call him out of the blue one day and he encouraged me to keep writing.

In addition, his poll shows 26% of African Americans undecided. That’s a big number given the fact that the last day of respondents was polled the day after Hillary ripped Barack’s head off and shat down his throat. HOW IN THE HELL CAN ONE BE UNDECIDED AFTER SEEING THAT.

Damn. I don’t want to sound negative, but I just don’t feel good about South Carolina. The election is tomorrow, other polls show Obama firmly ahead by larger margins, but none was taken by a brotha well versed in deciphering blackfolks opinions.

After being introduced to phenomenal Michelle Obama, a homegirl with Georgetown, SC roots, they’d better not turn back around because Bill Clinton fell up in their crib brandishing some damn fried chicken and chitlins to make up for the Clintons stealthy triangulations and groundless attacks which made this campaign about race.

67 thoughts on “South Carolina panic attack

  1. I am nervous too.

    I think what happens tomorrow will not only be about politics.

    It will be about the state of the Black Mind in 2008.

    Are we so far gone as to be unrecoverable, or is there hope? Are we minstrels or martyrs?

  2. The undecided thing always pisses me off. Number one because of what you said…it’s way too damn late not to catch a clue about the dynamic of this particular election and number two, these knuckleheads that make up their mind at the last second ALWAYS vote for the worst candidate.

  3. Denise

    Undecided like a fox. My crystal ball says he’ll be aight in SC.

    Folk down there are just holding their cut card (in this case, voting choice) close to the vest.

    You know how we do. LOL

  4. maryblu

    I am a white 58 yr. old woman from NYS. I want to see Barak Obama the next President of the US. I want my grandchildren to grow up in a land they can be proud. I want them to have a leader they can look up to with pride. Obama is a man all our children can look up to and say, “I want to be like him!” and that includes my grandaughter! When Obama becomes president it will open the doors for anyone and everyone no matter what walk of life they come from. He knows and understands what we and our children need. He knows and understands what this country needs. We are all in this together. He doesn’t work to seperate us and use us for his own purpose, he works to unite us all! Men and woman from all walks of life are getting together all across the nation to support Obama. We all need to get the word out! The lies and acts that the Clintons are participating in are not being over looked by anyone.

  5. Patrick

    What did David Geffin say at the beggining of this campaign?A diehard finantial supporter of the Clinton said he would not support them because the Clintons are liers.Before the seman dried on the blue dress he was telling us that he did not have sexual relationship with that woman,without a condom.Hillary has supported Bill through all his lies to us and to her without giving anyone the heads up. Maybe good for their relationship,but I don’t know how good it is for the country,or us as Black people.I don’t beleive you when you say he showed up at peoples door with chicken,but his act in South Carolina is no less the height of hypocrisy,Like the preacher extolling virtue from the pulpit while seducing a young chior member,Clinton in S.C. is like the proverbial fox in the hen house.An unrepented lier is still a lier.

  6. Rick

    “Hillary has supported Bill through all his lies to us…”

    The black community also supported Bill during his second term, despite the shame he brought on himself. Whatever so-called debt we supposedly had was re-paid back then. I wish someone would remind the Clintons, and the media, of that…

  7. Bay

    According to the new ARG poll out late tonight, Obama only leads by 3. Hillary is well within the margin of error.
    http://americanresearchgroup.com/

    Guess what, yall. Obama has lost black support while Hillary has gained. Yup. Don’t be shocked if black folks use their power to send Hillary into Feb 5 as the clear frontrunner, virtually ending Obama’s presidential race. Black folks. I am not suprised. I got a bad feeling about this just like I had a bad feeling about NH after Hillary cried. I knew those white women were gonna rally behind. They were not going to let the cute popular black basketball star beat out the homely studious student council president. Hell no. And something is telling me them knee grows down in SC are not going to let some Harvard educated proper talking bourgie black man beat out Missy Ann O’Hara! Hell to the no.

    Watch Hillary wins tomorrow. I hope I’m so very wrong, but I am not expecting an Obama win. I’ll hold my breath until they call the race for him. Until then, I fully expect black south carolinians to fall in line and put massa’s wife in power.

  8. maryblu

    Bay,
    I pray you are wrong! I don’t even want to turn the TV on to see this today. If Black voters won’t support Obama, they can’t expect others to have faith either. Obama CAN win the election if nominated!
    The republicans want Hillary to win the nomination. They have so much they can rip her apart with. I hate brining up the race issue, but damn it, those republicans and all like them would rather see a white woman then a black man. They are afraid if Obama wins that their hold on all of us will be shattered. Their hold on you and all others who they look down on. Ask who opened the door for jobs to be shipped over seas… Clinton! They want to keep all of us in our place, not just blacks. The Clintons of this world play their games behind closed doors.

    Obama is the first honest man to come along since the days of Martin Luther king and JFK! Honesty scares the others, it scares the Clintons.

    God Bless you all down in SC. and God help us all if Obama doesn’t come through this!

  9. Rick

    Obama Leads South Carolina; McCain Up In Florida: Poll

    By REUTERS
    Published: January 26, 2008
    Filed at 10:24 a.m. ET

    COLUMBIA, South Carolina (Reuters) – Barack Obama expanded his lead on rival Hillary Clinton to 15 points heading into South Carolina’s bitterly contested presidential primary, according to a Reuters/C-SPAN/Zogby poll released on Saturday.

    Obama, an Illinois senator, gained two points on Clinton overnight to lead 41 percent to 26 percent just hours before voting began in Saturday’s primary. John Edwards was in third place after slipping two points to 19 percent.

  10. Rick

    Chesapeake and I were discussing the other day that one of the interesting subplots of this campaign is that it mirrors what black men and black women face on the regular in corporate america. the latest example? Now all of a sudden, it’s not enough for Obama to win SC. Now the media (both liberal and conservative) is saying that Obama has to win by some unambigous large margin in order for this win to really count. Ain’t that some *ish? It’s a dynamic some call as “hiding the ball.” You hit one bar, even exceed expectations, but they immediately say you have to do something else…but that “something else” is always ambiguous and different from what the expectation was last time. The only way to win is to hit the ball (they are hiding) out of the stadium.

  11. Luv

    One thing I know about my people (especially my southern people) is that we can be obscenely uninformed. We tend to fall for the first or latest message thrown at us and don’t do the proper legwork or research to discern truth from fiction.

    The Clintons prey on this type of naivete and I pray that not too many of us can’t see these people as the soulless opportunists they are.

  12. Andrea

    All week I really, really, really wanted to post and reply about “this or that” commented of others and follow-up the last post I entered days back to Black Survival’s dogmatic rant but for all this week I have been fighting with a former co-worker who quit her job recently to work on the Clinton Campaign. This week was daunting. It took my breath away. It’s a very personal pain for me because she was someone I saw teetering towards the Black Establishment no matter what she verbally advertised in talk. The fighting this week although in increments took up a lot of time and energy because trying to remain calm while at work, emailing back and forth to her in South Carolina, is so small in the grand scheme of world-changing events but it is so immensely crucial in tipping the balance of my friend’s life and my ongoing anger with the Establishment.

    I was trying to remain calm and not have a perpetual contorted face of anger while doing work I get paid for so at times I could not read your blog or anything else opinionated to also have to self-medicate from being upset with her on the clock. Physically, trying to remain cool does not mix with having the Clintons pissing you off at work.

    Having her tear your blog apart as both psuedo-liberal propaganda (yeah, she did), I learned that they were a cult. She did assault you as a fraudulent progressive but I didn’t have time to defend you because I was trying to tackle the brainwashing things said about Obama and his power over Black People. She liked your writing until she started on that campaign. Everything she said about Obama sounded so outlandish and off the mark in them using race as a tool when I kept telling her the Clintons framed that for them canvassers and field organizers to eat up and propagate. She could not believe they would do anything like that to their own staff so she attacked me as being disillusioned. This was exhausting see how good they were on using their naive, idealistic workers as Storm Troopers. Her language sound like that of someone taking orders. I really do get how those in Washington who were their opposition felt when the Clintons were in the White House (you continue cussin’ at open space not believing this is really happening AGAIN).

    I felt like I lost her and since I watched my family enable the Establishments, all of them, all my life to see a young woman I confided in and shared a lot who knows better than play coy and hide behind the excuse of Hillary’s women-centered advocacy argument when I know she wanted to entry into the Establishment, I felt like we were a people burning the candle at both ends this week seeing another person I know sell their soul to the devil.

    I swear I felt like I was living the Stars Wars epic all this week grasping for good to conquer evil. This week was really a blow for me. No matter how tonight turns out, I lost a friend to the Dark Side.

  13. Rick

    “The only way to win is to hit the ball (they are hiding) out of the stadium.”

    Lord, I thank You for this grand slam of homeruns.

    Let us remember to stay humble and gracious in victory. And let us always remember to keep our eyes on the prize. Thank you Jesus!!!

  14. Caroline Kennedy’s Endorsement:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/27/opinion/27kennedy.html?hp

    A President Like My Father
    By CAROLINE KENNEDY
    Published: January 27, 2008

    OVER the years, I’ve been deeply moved by the people who’ve told me they wished they could feel inspired and hopeful about America the way people did when my father was president. This sense is even more profound today. That is why I am supporting a presidential candidate in the Democratic primaries, Barack Obama.

    My reasons are patriotic, political and personal, and the three are intertwined. All my life, people have told me that my father changed their lives, that they got involved in public service or politics because he asked them to. And the generation he inspired has passed that spirit on to its children. I meet young people who were born long after John F. Kennedy was president, yet who ask me how to live out his ideals.

    Sometimes it takes a while to recognize that someone has a special ability to get us to believe in ourselves, to tie that belief to our highest ideals and imagine that together we can do great things. In those rare moments, when such a person comes along, we need to put aside our plans and reach for what we know is possible.

    We have that kind of opportunity with Senator Obama. It isn’t that the other candidates are not experienced or knowledgeable. But this year, that may not be enough. We need a change in the leadership of this country — just as we did in 1960.

    Most of us would prefer to base our voting decision on policy differences. However, the candidates’ goals are similar. They have all laid out detailed plans on everything from strengthening our middle class to investing in early childhood education. So qualities of leadership, character and judgment play a larger role than usual.

    Senator Obama has demonstrated these qualities throughout his more than two decades of public service, not just in the United States Senate but in Illinois, where he helped turn around struggling communities, taught constitutional law and was an elected state official for eight years. And Senator Obama is showing the same qualities today. He has built a movement that is changing the face of politics in this country, and he has demonstrated a special gift for inspiring young people — known for a willingness to volunteer, but an aversion to politics — to become engaged in the political process.

    I have spent the past five years working in the New York City public schools and have three teenage children of my own. There is a generation coming of age that is hopeful, hard-working, innovative and imaginative. But too many of them are also hopeless, defeated and disengaged. As parents, we have a responsibility to help our children to believe in themselves and in their power to shape their future. Senator Obama is inspiring my children, my parents’ grandchildren, with that sense of possibility.

    Senator Obama is running a dignified and honest campaign. He has spoken eloquently about the role of faith in his life, and opened a window into his character in two compelling books. And when it comes to judgment, Barack Obama made the right call on the most important issue of our time by opposing the war in Iraq from the beginning.

    I want a president who understands that his responsibility is to articulate a vision and encourage others to achieve it; who holds himself, and those around him, to the highest ethical standards; who appeals to the hopes of those who still believe in the American Dream, and those around the world who still believe in the American ideal; and who can lift our spirits, and make us believe again that our country needs every one of us to get involved.

    I have never had a president who inspired me the way people tell me that my father inspired them. But for the first time, I believe I have found the man who could be that president — not just for me, but for a new generation of Americans.

  15. Singing: *I thought I told you that we won’t stop, I thought I told you that we won’t stop, uh huh huh*

    And with Caroline Kennedy’s endorsment, It’s ON NOW!!!

  16. Bay

    155,000 more black folk voted?!! Lord, Jesus, thank you making me so wrong!

    I can’t believe how we really came together to do the damn thing!

  17. maryblu

    Gotta have faith!
    I think I read that he got 25% of the white vote down there also. Not bad considering there were 3 people running. He pullled off Iowa and was damn close in New Hampshire both predominitly white. See what we can do together? All of us still have much work to do to take this all the way to the whitehouse.

    Thanks for allowing this NY Yankee to speak.🙂

    http://mindtravels.wordpress.com/

  18. Chesapeake

    Congratulations, Obama supporters. That was impressive! It was interesting to see Clinton jet off to Tennessee for a town hall and put an almost black cast in view behind her podium. Anyway, the people of SC really gelled behind Obama.

    I had a rough one last night. Not only did we take one squarely on the chin but also I kinda lost my cool.

    Most of my friends are Obama supporter, including the one I consider my best. That brother called me about 7:30 last night while I was in my book club meeting and left a very long gloating message on my mobile. I stayed externally cool, and called him back on my way home to congratulate him. If that wasn’t enough, he repeated some of his message and continued, including a dig to the effect that nobody’s listening to Edwards, and Obama’s kicking his tail with his message. That one pushed me after I was over the second edge!

    Maybe you know I am very serious about my support of Edwards, like many of you for Obama. So, I lost my cool – checked him with the point [paraphrased] that this is not some card, pool, or bowling game or boxing match where you can just boast at the end of it like that. And even in those games, you don’t quite go to the lengths you’re going.

    We’re certainly still boyz. But y’all can help me gain some perspective. Did I lose perspective? Was I being too sensitive?

    Anyway, while we’re dressing our wounds … again, good showing!

  19. Denise

    Congratulations, Senator Obama!

    I knew black folk would have his back in this fight.

    Cheseapeake: I have an ongoing disagreement with a close a “brotha-friend” about the Obama campaign and the political stakes in this election. I also get the gloating phone messages, especially to report news that points to proof of Mr. Obama’s support by white voters.

    I simply write off these differences as an instance where we won’t see eye to eye.

    As I have watched this campaign unfold, I have come to the conclusion that Mr. Obama is A DECENT, HONORABLE MAN, I’m simply not ready to support his political candidacy.

    ‘Nuff said.

  20. Rick

    Chesapeake: first, you had a right to be annoyed. But remember there are jerks in each campaign who don’t portray the candidate they support in the most favorable light. Personally, I admire the Edwards campaign for being decent and honest.

  21. jc

    You had tears in your eyes after Obama won Iowa and I have tears in my eyes after reading your past few posts and the comments that followed. But they are not for joy but rather from heartbreak that people like the Clintons who’ve been smeared and repeatedly taken out of context by the media are being portrayed as racists here. That when it all comes down to it too many will still accept and reject a person based on skin color. And no, before anyone thinks it I’m not a Clinton supporter –just a racially mixed girl who’e devastated by the realization that at this point in time in my country I’ll never be accepted for who I am “totally” anywhere.

  22. K Martin

    Congrats to Obama on the rout in my home state! We will try to replicate these fantastic results of trouncing Billary and Edwards here in GA. And, I will pledge to get my crew to the polls so we beat that 25% of white voters mark. Why won’t Edwards just leave and deliver more of that anti-billary vote to BO?

  23. Pater Fam

    Magic “HIV” Johnson Endorses Hillary Clinton
    ——————————————————————————–
    The AIDS must have eaten away his brain cells…..

    “In a radio ad airing in South Carolina, Abdul-Jabbar’s former teammate Magic Johnson endorses Hillary Clinton and suggests that her chief rival, Barack Obama, is an overreaching rookie: “On the court and in life, successful leadership comes from hard work and experience. That’s why I’m endorsing Hillary Clinton for President. … My rookie year, we won our first game on a last second shot. I was so hyped. But the captain of my team said, “take it easy rookie, it’s a long season, it’s a long road to the championship.” He was right. Winning comes from years of hard work and preparation.”

    Kareem was pissed about being dragged into this…..

    “Mr. Abdul-Jabbar, who told the Huffington Post that Magic has it wrong about Obama. “I don’t think he’s a rookie. He’s served as a senator very capably, and he is very skilled in terms of his ability to organize and lead people. And that’s what we need right now. Magic has spent his whole life under control of white men .They told him when and what to eat,when to sleep,what and how to think and etc.You can listen to him on TNT as a commentator and you will realize he has no respect for fellow Blacks.He is a perfect example of the results of the plantation mentality”.

  24. Rick

    What I find so disturbing about the subCrime crisis is the collective failure, once again, to protect the vulnerable from a slow moving – in this case, economic – catastrophe.

    Skeptical Brotha, have to agree with Rikyrah…very much interested in your take on the SC primary! (no additional pressure or anything, bruh lol)

  25. Denise

    And since I’m playing the role of Buzz Killer this afternoon, I might as well own it!

    Uh, would someone kindly explain the politics of securing a political endorsement? What exactly is involved here? Are folks stepping up SOLELY because they think someone is capable?

    Thanks in advance.

  26. Pater Fam

    LOOKS LIKE TONI MORRISON HAS SEEN THE LIGHT !

    Toni Morrison, the Nobel Prize laureate who dubbed former President Bill Clinton the nation’s “first black president” because of his affinity for African-Americans and theirs for him, has come out in support of the man who would then be the second black president if he were voted into the White House, Sen. Barack Obama.

    Here’s the press release from the Obama campaign:

    Toni Morrison Endorses Barack Obama for President

    CHICAGO, IL — Nobel Prize winning author and Pulitzer Prize recipient, Toni Morrison today endorsed Senator Barack Obama in a letter citing the need for the country to embrace this rare opportunity to vote for change. Toni Morrison has been a voice of leadership and inspiration through her many awarding winning novels and continued work in education. This is Toni Morrison’s first public endorsement of a presidential candidate.

    “Toni Morrison has touched a nation with the grace and beauty of her words, and I was deeply moved and honored by the letter she wrote and the support she is giving our campaign,” Obama said.

    ENDORSEMENT LETTER

    Dear Senator Obama,

    This letter represents a first for me–a public endorsement of a Presidential candidate. I feel driven to let you know why I am writing it. One reason is it may help gather other supporters; another is that this is one of those singular moments that nations ignore at their peril. I will not rehearse the multiple crises facing us, but of one thing I am certain: this opportunity for a national evolution (even revolution) will not come again soon, and I am convinced you are the person to capture it.

    May I describe to you my thoughts?

    I have admired Senator Clinton for years. Her knowledge always seemed to me exhaustive; her negotiation of politics expert. However I am more compelled by the quality of mind (as far as I can measure it) of a candidate. I cared little for her gender as a source of my admiration, and the little I did care was based on the fact that no liberal woman has ever ruled in America. Only conservative or “new-centrist” ones are allowed into that realm. Nor do I care very much for your race[s]. I would not support you if that was all you had to offer or because it might make me “proud.”

    In thinking carefully about the strengths of the candidates, I stunned myself when I came to the following conclusion: that in addition to keen intelligence, integrity and a rare authenticity, you exhibit something that has nothing to do with age, experience, race or gender and something I don’t see in other candidates. That something is a creative imagination which coupled with brilliance equals wisdom. It is too bad if we associate it only with gray hair and old age. Or if we call searing vision naivete. Or if we believe cunning is insight. Or if we settle for finessing cures tailored for each ravaged tree in the forest while ignoring the poisonous landscape that feeds and surrounds it. Wisdom is a gift; you can’t train for it, inherit it, learn it in a class, or earn it in the workplace–that access can foster the acquisition of knowledge, but not wisdom.

    When, I wondered, was the last time this country was guided by such a leader? Someone whose moral center was un-embargoed? Someone with courage instead of mere ambition? Someone who truly thinks of his country’s citizens as “we,” not “they”? Someone who understands what it will take to help America realize the virtues it fancies about itself, what it desperately needs to become in the world?

    Our future is ripe, outrageously rich in its possibilities. Yet unleashing the glory of that future will require a difficult labor, and some may be so frightened of its birth they will refuse to abandon their nostalgia for the womb.

    There have been a few prescient leaders in our past, but you are the man for this time.

    Good luck to you and to us.

    Toni Morrison

  27. Rick

    true story
    ——————–
    * the music stopped *

    :: everyone looked around, puzzingly, to see the lights turned on at 1:00 AM as the fire marshalls coming in to shut down the party supposedly ending at 3 AM (due to overcrowding)::

    That was the real life scene three weekends ago at a party in our nation’s capital. Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority, first incorporated in 1908, was celebrating 100 years of its existence. I was there to support a dear sister-friend. (And maybe, just maybe, to meet someone). It was the type of affair that didn’t happen every single weekend. Not at all. And, I was pschyed!

    Arriving from NYC, there were so so many OBSTACLES that were in the way of getting there (in this case traffic). Undeterred, my hopes were still sky high along the way. Young black men and women from all over the country — Dallas, Atlanta, New York etc — had assembled for a great and noble cause. Smiles were all around the building (especially the brothers lol).

    And then, when it ended so early, and so suddenly, when there had been no real disturbance to the peace — and some folks had come from such a loong way, and had faced so many obstacles along the way (and did I mention had waited so long for this?)…it was actually a bit heart-breaking that the fire marshalls came to shut the party down. (don’t forget some people even paid MONEY to get in to that party, which is a minor point).

    Of course, I knew I had to at some point come back to my mundane life back in nyc, where problems were still here waiting for me. they certainly didn’t go anywhere. But wow is it nice to celebrate every once in a while when you deserve it!🙂

  28. Marla K.

    Hello SB’s Crowd,

    As we await SB’s take on the latest events I would like to add my own….

    I went to South Carolina over the weekend and the Obama support was overwhelming across all demographics…it was exhilarating to see and be a part of, unfortunately the media didnot do Barack Obama justice in sharing with the television audience the level of energy and excitement he actually created within a very diverse “mob”. He was and is “Barack Star!!” They reported what happened but to a lesser extent. Rick, your “hidden ball” assessment of the media’s performance seems to be right on the money.

    It’s a shame your’s,Chesapeake’s and presumably most black males (and females)cannot have our actual job performance acknowledged and rewarded fairly in main stream corp America. I guess all the more reason entrepreneurship is a great option when possible.

    Sen Obama seems to be taking his entrepreneurship to the top of his game. He is an organization builder and a leader!! I believe he will be President of the U S.

    Chesapeake, thank you for your good sportsmanship and congradulations, however, sorry I’m not feeling your pain over John Edwards’ loss….He was already losing….apparently he’s hoping to play king maker at the convention….but I dont think that will be possible or neccessary. Given the Kennedys’crown of glory on his head “Barack Star” will likely already be King before the convention….although I ‘m sure when Hillary recovers from the trauma, she will still put up a good fight; however I would not be surprised if the nomination will be settled this Tuesday….if we dont set on our laurels….so, are you and Denise ready to pitch in, or are you just going to sit there on the wall….apparently worrying that he maynot be sincere or walking a tightrope even if he is elected??

    Rikyra thanks for making Caroline’s full letter of endorsement so readily available. Her endorsement, along with that of her uncle’s,the Lion of the Senate, Ted M.Kennedy is a blessing to our community, the US, and the world. I believe this. All praises to our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ: Yeoshua, the Messiah.

  29. Y’all,

    I am here, I’m just biding my time and gathering my thoughts. I am just as amazed as all of you by the hand of God at work. It is as clear too me as the pug nose on my face.

  30. I really didn’t write a post either, but here are some of my thoughts.

    The thing that I can’t get past is that 155,000 number.

    155,000 MORE Brothers and Sisters voted this time than last.

    I worried about the voting machines. I’m paranoid enough never to ever trust them and only half trust them when there is an actual paper trail.

    The only way to combat them is by overwhelming turnout.

    Period.

    And, South Carolina came through.

    I’ve been looking through pictures on several sites, and three made me cry:

    1. At the Obama victory rally, an elderly Black woman is just looking up at the stage. She’s surrounded by younger voters – White and Black. They are so animated. She just is looking at the stage, so calm and serene, with a slight smile on her face.

    2. Two elderly Black men, dressed up in suit and tie at the Obama rally. They obviously felt this had to be done out of respect. They, too, were not animated, but calm.

    3. A young Brother, standing in front of the American flag, with a Ralph Lauren Polo vest on, pin striped shirt and appropriate pants. He looked like he could be an ad for POLO, but he has these white striped sunglasses on, thus giving it his own bit of style, as only young Brothers can do. They identified him as being 19 years old, and this is his first vote.

    Those pictures made me weep, because of all that they represent in our community.

    Jack Turner, of Jack and Jill, has been gathering on the ground accounts of South Carolina, and this is part of one I would like to share:

    As I walked the neighborhoods I had a big roll of Obama 08 stickers, and I gave them out to a handful of young kids — ages 8, 10, 12 or so — who were outside entertaining themselves in front of their respective houses. One african-american kid was climbing a dogwood tree in his front yard — hands and feet each on a different branch. I offered him some stickers, gave him about ten, and warned him gently to not go too far out on the limbs because dogwood trees are especially gorgeous in the springtime. He knew who Obama was and as I walked on down the road he announced from the tree “My name is Barack Obama, and I approve of this message!”

    I think about all the articles written about Black South Carolina voters, and their hesitancy. I honestly believe those children are the reason the 155,000 came out. Each of them have a child in their life, and wanted to make a statement to those children.

  31. Denise

    With all due respect, Marla, the way I see it, I’ve already played a small but important part in making this possible.

    I’m no hater, trust me.

  32. Watching Hardball, and there’s this young Brother on…and, I do mean YOUNG.

    Man, is he handsome (yeah, I’m being shallow..LOL)

    South Carolina State Rep. Sellers.

  33. Rick

    Representative Bakari T. Sellers

    Rikyrah, don’t let those young looks fool you. He’s one of the sharpest knives in the proverbial draw. I saw him as a guest on MSNBC on Saturday as the SC primary results were still being tabulated. He took the Clinton campaign and media establishment to task for suggesting that the Obama campaign was running as strictly a black candidate. Was more than competent in first drawing attention to, then unraveling, the media’s false underlying assumptions when making false statements. I didn’t see him tonight on Hardball but I must say I was very impressed with this brother on MSNBC. I came away with the feeling that we need more brothers and sisters like Rep Sellers to appear as guests on such shows to represent our interests!

  34. Rick,

    When I went to South Carolina for the first time to see Obama a year ago, Bakari was the cat the white woman next to me kept prattling on about. He is very young, under 25, and a law student at the University of South Carolina. He is very bright, articulate, and clean, as they say.

    He has a bright future if he gets out of South Carolina and goes to Washington where all bright young brothas belong.

  35. Chesapeake

    K.Martin,

    My opinion: Edwards can’t just leave, and I really don’t think many progressives want him to. If not for Edwards, neither Clinton nor Obama would come close to talking about putting govenment back in the hands of the people, including the people who don’t vote, have no interest in voting, don’t have the information, identification, or transportation needed to vote.

    The contest is primarily for the nomination, but the delegate race is important as well. Obama seems to be ahead in obtaining Edwards’ staunchest supporters should Edwards lose; but the pulse over here is that it’s still just rhetoric coming from Obama with no plan to accomplish reform. At this point, the conventional wisdom among Edwards’ people is that both Obama and Clinton are angling for Edwards’ supporters. Both are drawing some, but the overwhelming majortity is still fighting with Edwards and waiting for a pop.

    You may disagree, but Edwards has driven both Clinton and Obama to a place neither of them expected to go. It’s doubtful, though, that they have the authentic passion and compassion to execute. As long as he’s in, though, they have to continue to go on the record in support of some of Edwards’ platform. Even if he doen’t win, he has value in the nomination. If he loses or drops out, he and his supporters will likely continue to evaluate and observe Obama’s and Clinton’s consistency before we leap.

  36. Chesapeake

    Denise and Rick,

    I haven’t read the article Denise referenced, the subprime mortgage crisis has a horrible subplot: Not only are the mortgages bad products but also, allegedly, black buyers and refinancers who were qualified to get good mortgage products were bamboozled into believing they did not qualify and, thus, took the subprime “deals.” These are criminal acts serious busts, prosecutions, and jailing! Plus, while the lenders are the kingpins, real estate agents, brokers, underwriters, insurance companies, and appraisers were active co-conspirators.

    Yeah, we need somebody to deal with these mamma-tappers!

  37. Marla K.

    Sorry, my bad Denise, I thought you were supporting another candidate, still holding out like Chesapeake. I hoped to draw Chesapeake out for some more of his provocative political humor or propositions…….

    Rikyrah, if I had to guess, i would say the 155000 new black voters were not only inspired by Obama, but were largely due to Sean Puffy Combs and the Vote or Die efforts of 2004 which included large registration drives after the primary, but before the general election. This would have been their first primary. I believe there was a significant increase in the number of young whites voting as well for this same reason…any thoughts on this possibility?

  38. Rick

    “I guess all the more reason entrepreneurship is a great option when possible.” — Marla K

    Amen, Marla K. Amen. Two things:

    First, I’m look at what some of our sistas are doing in terms of starting their own businesses, taking courses in web design, or whatever…making use of multiple talents to develop MULTIPLE streams of income. One shouldn’t wait until one is forced to leave a job to find out what one is good at, or where one’s passion is. It’s all a hustle. And as you mentioned, sometimes the best hustle is your own…

  39. Rick

    Gov. Kathleen Sebelius Endorses Obama

    TOPEKA, Kan. – Gov. Kathleen Sebelius on Tuesday endorsed Barack Obama for president, a Super Tuesday boost in a GOP-leaning state where Democrats hope to reclaim in the White House campaign.

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080129/ap_on_el_pr/obama_sebelius

    Gov Sebelius also gave the Democratic response to Bush’s state of the union address last night. High profile.

    (Anyone else thinking that she might be the VP candidate on an Obama ticket? Not just in light of the demographic she would attract, but those Kansas (midwestern) states I’m sure look very tempting).

  40. Marla K.

    I have really enjoyed chating and discussing the primaries with you guys, but as you suggest Rick, sistas have to stay focused on our own ventures or enterprises if we hope to achieve our goals….

    Thank you for sharing Jesse Jackson’s ’88 convention speech. I appreciate that you appreciate Rev. Jackson’s tremendous role in our history and wanted to share with us again.

    I wont try again to win you to Obama’s camp Chesapeake… I respect your position a great deal. I admire your integrity in sticking with your candidate in good and bad times….

    I agree that John Edwards is a great leader in progressive politics ( I have loved him since 2004) and given that Hillary isnt giving up without a fight(her new endorsements from the CBC) and apparently she is still polling ahead of Barack in most Super Tuesday states, it’s possible we may need John Edwards.

    I will say that if Edwards were to get out of the race I believe most of his supporters would come naturally to Obama. I see Sen Obama as I believe most others whom have given him a close look see him: a man of vision, a unique leader, with character and integrity, judgement,determination, initiative, creative thinking and follow through.

    I dont know if you understand this, it took a while for me to realize “Barack Obama was against the war from the very beginning”. This is no fairy tale…..Ted Kennedy will vouch for him. (:

    K Martin and Maryblu although most media insists on saying Barack recieved close to 25% of the white vote in SC, it was closer to 33%!!…and we still need to get this percentage up!!! Help!

    Denise the reason someone endorses a candidate is usually because they believe the candidate can get elected, and get the job done, and in a way they will approve. All those endorsing Barack believe he would make the best president given what they want to happen in the country.

    Good luck to you all

  41. maryblu

    Marla K said:

    “K Martin and Maryblu although most media insists on saying Barack recieved close to 25% of the white vote in SC, it was closer to 33%!!…and we still need to get this percentage up!!! Help!”

    Obama is getting the message to all better then anyone else can. But we all have to keep getting the word across! I’ve been trying to bring people’s attention to Obama since “Audacity of Hope” was first published. Ironlically it was my African Amreican friends who resisted any talk about him running for president more then whites out of fear that the US was not ready for a Black president. I think that was one reason I watched SC as close as I did.

    The old man politics that has tried to drive and keep a barier between all of us, the one that kept bigotry in every form alive while trying to say we were all equal, has been dying for a long time. They are shaking in their boots to think we can get past the walls they put up for us all, the walls that enslave us for their purpose. They underestimated the power of free thought and free will. The cracks in those walls are getting bigger by the minute.

    Here in NYS I am hearing of so many turning to Obama.
    I have searched feminists blogs and forums and the number of women who are for Obama due to his ideals out weighs those that only speak through, and want women to chose by virtue of their ovaries!

    It’s not about his race, it’s about the person he is and what he stands for… for all of us! That is what we need to get to people everywhere!

    Bless you all!

  42. Chesapeake

    Thanks, Marla. You make a valiant effort. My wife and 19 y.o. are still working on me. They keep the door shut to my old Colts room ’cause it’s now filled with Edwards ‘nalia.

    My best!

Comments are closed.