I’m back

Standard

Mentally exhausted and spirtually drained, I kept meaning to post but just couldn’t do it.   I still feel tired and I am so ready for this campaign to be over.  I haven’t been able to think, and I am seriously considering turning this blog over to someone else entirely or getting a writing partner.   I don’t know if I am just stressed out or simply depressed.   I am sure it will pass but I haven’t been able to shake it yet.  

Anyway, I intend to post tonight on the “Debate” on ABC last night that I’ve heard about ad nauseum.

20 thoughts on “I’m back

  1. zeitgeist9000

    SB, you’re doing a great job. Ditto the Condi comment.

    Your remarks here, though, are among the first I’ve totally agreed with you all campaign, my being the black Clintonista (along with Mayor Nutter) that I am. This has been grueling. But it’s (I mean the nomination) quickly going to be over. The GE will be a blink of the eye, especially if the nomination goes to the convention.

  2. Yes, SB, I’m glad to see you back. I know you’re not up to being Skeptical Brotha, but that’s okay. Just take care of yourself, refresh, refill, and reconnect with yourself. And we’ll be here. You don’t have to write up anything major. Just let us know that you are there. That’s all.
    I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but your open thread’s generate a lot of comments and discussions. But we depend on you to open that thread. **smile**
    If you need anything, let me knhow. I would be a terrible writing partner. But I can have your back as a prayer partner.
    Peace,
    Angela

  3. Rick

    Brotha to Brotha –

    I have found such moments in my own life, which occur every so often, to be refreshing reminders that I don’t have to be “Superman” all the time to everyone…and that it’s actually ok to be “human”…to reach out for help…to set aside “me” time for myself occassionally.

    Don’t worry, SB. We’ll all be here when you get back. Sometimes we need to step away, to replenish our energies, to recharge. Have you ever noticed that our sistas go to the spa and have learned to pamper themselves more than we do? Generally speaking, us brothas tend to keep going, and going and going when under pressure, until we drop. And that’s not good either! Not for us, or those who care for us.

    I’ll close by saying it’s very healthy to ask for help. Others will respond, as shown already. I’ve learned to do the same. Emphasis on the word “learned”. Because I was not born with, and American society has not taught me, to ask for it without it being a sign of weakness. Seen in that light, I should have said I’ve had to “unlearn” alot of what I’ve learned.

    In the end, yes our blessings are for other people, but we also have to take care of ourselves too! And that, my brotha, is the balancing act. God bless ya, Skep. And stay balanced.

    (Hi Angie!)

  4. msbizniss

    Yes, I have to say I really missed reading your thoughts. I am fairly new to your site and became interested after I heard your name throughout Indianapolis. Yes, Indianapolis!

    Now, you have become my water cooler conversation at my office. Not to mention, I have become very addicted to the conversations that everyone brings to the table. I could not wait to see what was said about the so-called debate last night.

    But most of all, Thank you, for taking the time to enlighten us with your intelligences and open minded thoughts. I know it is hard to gather your brilliant thoughts and write it out for all of us to understand.

    So, take your time, find clarity in your heart, mind, and soul and I will be eagerly waiting to read you!

    Hope this stroked your ego a little. (wink)

    P.S. don’t take tooo much time away from the blog.

    Keep up the good work!

  5. Hey SB!!!

    I was worried about you! Everyday as I go through my blogroll, I checked and, yes, disappointed, I found only Condi staring back at me.

    I understand how you feel. I think we’re all Democrat-nominee fatigued – I know I am! Stressed or depressed, neither is good (trust me I know!). Do what you need to do for yourself. I’m with everyone else here in saying, I can wait to hear you.

    Take care Sweetie!

  6. TripLBee

    Glad to see you back on the horse SB. The debate—if one can call it that—provided some great blogging material. I look forward to your thoughts.

  7. I had to drop in and tell you that I’m with those who just couldn’t take looking at Condi….if they felt 10% as bad as I did for about the week that we suffered through looking at Tucker Carlson…I feel that…..LOL

  8. john in california

    Take care of yourself and don’t let the writing become a drudge. We can all check in daily and go OT if we have just got to say something.

  9. From Roland Martin:

    April 16, 2008
    Former Newark, N.J. mayor, mistress convicted in federal court
    Sharpe James, one of the last big city powerbrokers who ran Newark, N.J. for 20 years, was convicted today of fraud, along with his mistress.

    According to the New York Times, they were convicted of “conspiring to sell city-owned properties to a former girlfriend, who quickly flipped them and earned hundreds of thousands of dollars in profits.”

    The paper says “the jury found Mr. James, 72, guilty on all five counts he faced. His former girlfriend, Tamika Riley, 39, was convicted on the same fraud and conspiracy charges as well as eight others for numerous tax violations in connection with what the authorities said was her failure to file income tax returns for her public relations firm.”

    James ran Newark prior to the election of Mayor Cory Booker.

    The two face up to eight years in prison and will be sentenced on July 29.

  10. rikyrah,

    I saw this yesterday. I’m happy the crook and his ho went down. I went to school with a aide to a crooked Newark Councilman who subseqently went to jail. Her reverance for Sharpe’s game stands out in my mind. She never thought they would eventually come for him. I wonder what ole girl thinks now.

  11. Hey, take it easy SB. Don’t try to force it. As much as I wish it to be so, this blog is not your job or obligation.

    I hope your new church can help you lay that burden down.

  12. SB,

    I thought I was the only one. I stopped blogging regularly a month ago. If it weren’t for Rikyrah I would have deleted my blog.

    Hillary Clinton is driving ^#%@$@ crazy!!!

    There were other reasons for me slowing down…but this Democratic primary was definitely one of the bigger reasons.

    I noticed that you had to put the Obama-Aid down…. But I would tell you…don’t step back from Obama for that reason. It’s in those situations when he needs us the most (in terms of understanding his situation). The media placed Obama in an impossible position. He had to publicly distance himself from Rev. Wright… if he had not done so, his campaign would have been over. The same was the case with the media’s attempt to corner him on Farrakhan. I’m pretty sure that even Rev. Wright understands the situation that Obama was in and supports him 100% dispite what happened.

    I’d rather see a man drop support for Obama based on a policy position…. not based on the media’s swiftboat attempts.

    And I think co-bloggers are a good idea. Just don’t take my Rikyrah…

    I know she loves this blog.🙂

    That’s my franchise player. This woman is so in demand…that she is blogging for all kinds of different blogs right now. I don’t know how she does it. I guess that’s the sign of a real political junkie.🙂

    And Bob Johnson…. why hasn’t he been arrested on Genocide charges yet? Can’t we petition the International Criminal Court? Ironically, Black Americans (Bob Johnson’s victims) would never support locking his ass up.

  13. TripLBee

    Angry Independent,

    I don’t know. If you put it to a vote, black votes might support locking up Brother Johnson. He has come unhinged. He should get back to exploiting black women for profit.

  14. Biggest

    Dear SB,
    It is good to hear your voice again. You were missed. I’ m very happy to hear you going to hear God’s word preached. The joy of the Lord is our strenth. Be encouraged for God is with thee.Seek Him first and all else will fall in line. We need your voice out there. I will be praying for you. May the peace of God be upon you.

Comments are closed.