Wesley Snipes gets played

Standard

Hat Tip: Yahoo, Associated Press

Wesley Snipes was sentenced to three years in prison on tax charges Thursday, a victory for prosecutors who sought to make an example of the action star by aggressively pursuing the maximum penalty.Snipes’ lawyers had spent much of the day in court offering dozens of letters from family members, friends even fellow actors Woody Harrelson and Denzel Washington attesting to the good character of the “Blade” star and asking for leniency.

 

 

They argued he should get only probation because his three convictions were all misdemeanors and the actor had no previous criminal record.  But U.S. District Judge William Terrell Hodges said Snipes exhibited a “history of contempt over a period of time” for U.S. tax laws, and granted prosecutors the three year sentence they requested one year for each of Snipes’ convictions of willfully failing to file a tax return.  “In my mind these are serious crimes, albeit misdemeanors,” Hodges said.

 

 

Snipes apologized while reading from a written statement for his “costly mistakes,” but never mentioned the word taxes.  “I am an idealistic, naive, passionate, truth-seeking, spiritually motivated artist, unschooled in the science of law and finance,” Snipes said.

 

 

Snipes said his wealth and celebrity attracted “wolves and jackals like flies are attracted to meat.” He called himself “well-intentioned, but miseducated.”

 

Snipes was the highest-profile criminal tax target in years, and prosecutors called for a heavy sentence to deter others from trying to obstruct the IRS. The government alleged Snipes made at least $13.8 million for the years in question and owed $2.7 million in back taxes.

 

Snipes was acquitted in February of five additional charges, including felony tax fraud and conspiracy. Snipes’ co-defendants, Douglas P. Rosile and Eddie Ray Kahn, were convicted on both those counts. Kahn, who refused to defend himself in court, was sentenced to 10 years, while Rosile received 54 months. Both will serve three years of supervised release. Snipes will serve one year of supervised release.

 

Snipes and Rosile remain free and will be notified when they are to surrender to authorities.

 

18 thoughts on “Wesley Snipes gets played

  1. He didn’t help his case when he left the country after they filed the charges. Made a brotha look dang guilty; like he was running away from Da Man.

    One thing Cosby said that I agreed with – sign your own dang check; at least you will always remember why you wrote it. If Wesley had signed his own check to pay the IRS, he wouldn’t be ignorant of law or finance.

    Having an accountant because other celebrities have one is a recipe for getting ripped off…

  2. Cliff

    “Snipes was the highest-profile criminal tax target in years, and prosecutors called for a heavy sentence to deter others from trying to obstruct the IRS.”

    Slavemaster: Booooy I’m telling you, this has been good year for the body of Satan.

    Micheal Vick (Check)

    Marion Jones (Check)

    Wesley Snipes (Check)

    Aint no way in hell a Negra can thank he could remain on top, and we can’t take them off their high horse, and destroy that new Negra mind coming up in the future. Booy Satan is lettin them Negras know how our society compares them to…

    {dogs taking steroids who refuses to pay for slavery}.

    Boooy, I’m telling you we got one more on our list, a half Negra who thanks he run my country.

    Boooy, if only we could les of em’ who thank like this…

    Cliff: You know you’re up against the ropes, being torn between to worlds, a world that accepts all people as one, in peace and harmony, and world that confirmed the reality of society considering that you and your race are less than the value of a dog. How can you sell us the world that you describe in most of your speeches that works for all Americans?

    Obama: You know, I believe in change, change for America, change for the world. I am willing to pray for change, take action for change, and enact a new government which conforms to a new policy. All the Americans know the present policy has not worked, all the administrations of the past have only attempted to reach the apirations I have in my mind. We can do it, if we work together.

    Cliff: Keep it Real Obama, you can’t possibly think that we can change this, we’ve just pulled the nooses off our necks a few years ago, and I could still smell the ashes of our charred skin, and some of us twitch when we read our history, can you tell me how you can help me envision your world?

    Obama: Cliff, you got to come out of the past, and see this country for what it’s really worth. This country is not just filled with racist savages who want to kill you for being black, or for anyone’s race, on that matter. One day we’ll come to together and see my vision, I hope it is before we get pushed in another war by the Republican Party, and we’ll be united with what all Americans will eventually have to be united with, poverty.

    Cliff: I hope we can get into your head and somehow, someway make this happy, joyful, “we all love one another world,” come into reality.

    Slavemaster: Boooooy but if we had the old south back, we could get more and more Negras to thank like this.

    Satan: Where are you at Bob?

    Bob Johnson: Shakin it ova’ here boss.

    Satan: We need a NEGRA who is willing to take risks. We need one who is willing to obtain our overall agenda. You know the only thing black people from America can do, is dance, have sex and smoke what your dogs, call “THE CHRONIC,” and oh yeah I got your sistahs on deck too. I got your rappers by the balls, then I lock up every Negra I could find including your champions Micheal Vick, Marion Jones, Wesley Snipes etc. Can you help us keep them ignorant of our scheme.

    Bob Johnson: Yes Sir, I’m gonna do my best to keep them ignorant of all aspects of the ability of their brains, you’ve counted on me before, and I delivered your wishes, I don’t see why you could think I would fail you. When you gave me that billion, I declared you my God and you control my thoughts, actions and desires. You make me feel good with your instant satisfaction, who gives me immediate need to my desire, plus you’ve promised me security for my children, right?

    Satan: I’m still not satisfied. We’ve got one who has constantly rejected our offerings. We’ve given him numerous chances to play ball, but he has refused, yet he speaks like a ball player, to give the people the impression that he’s with us, but I don’t think so, I’ll need to see his actions before we can trust him, having the ability to turn to the most powerful God, since I can only offer we can only offer temporary enjoyment.

    Bob Johnson: I’m on the case. He is a Negra like me, as you’ve taught, and as you know we are inferior to you, as you‘ve taught , we love you, and consider you superior to us, that is why every time you feel threatened by one of us I offer my help immediately. They can not hear any message which gives the impression that they are not inferior to you, for this is why I will help keep your ideology remain freshly present in their minds.

    Satan: I thought a billion can buy any Negra on the planet, and you’ve helped me to prove my point. It was a gambled on whether or not you would get on your knees, and I won. We established a bueatiful relationship.

    Bob Johnson: Give it to me, whatever you got, 1 million, 2 million, 3 million, 4 million, 100 million, even another billion. I can’t live with out your blessings, when I pray, I envision you.

    Satan: The problem is that every Negra on the Earth does not think like you. A new idea is bubbling, and somehow they think that they can think above me, and my machinations. There is a new wave of thoughts coming in their heads. I WANT YOU, to help me establish a new relationship with the Negra mind.

    We’ve got a tough mentality to deal with nowadays. He’s not listening to us like he used to. He actually thinks he could ascend beyond the level of the parameters of our world which is limited to the scope of being our slave.

    This is a problem for us; He’s got to contiue to accept us as his superior ruler and all the methods of procedure to our action , or else I’m afraid you will have failed me.

    You can be like those who rejected us, yet they suffer, and are poor, and beg on the ALL POWERFUL GOD, and have as what they call “faith,” for permanent peace of mind. As I’ve stated before what we give has a time limit on it. THE MOST POWERFUL, maybe will come through for you, but yet you’ll wait forvever for Him. We fulfill needs at present with expedition.

    We control the money, your women, the power, the respect, aint a gotdamn thing we don’t have our hands on, but of course with that little ticker attached to it.

    All we did was call you, and you obeyed me.

    We can count on you as we’ve counted on you before, correct?

    Bob Johnson: SHAKIN IT OVER HERE BOSS!

    B!

    L!

    A!

    C!

    K!

    M!

    A!

    N!

    Rikyrah I did’nt forget.

    “CHANGE WE CAN BELIEVE IN”
    🙂

  3. Cliff, I remember when you made your first appearance on this blog. Sir, you are something else. I’m glad that you let your voice be heard. Keep developing and keep the fire, brotha.

  4. Don’t think you won’t give the Guvmint its money.

    He already got the Celebrity Special with that sentence. If it had been Jon Q. Public (Black, White, Whatever), they’d be in jail.

    But then, he had to go and play Boo Boo, Da Fool on them.

    And the Guvmint said..

    ” Ok Negro..you wanna play it that way? Off to jail your Black Ass will go.”

    Don’t drop the soap, Wesley.

  5. Andrea

    Cliff,

    You are crazy!

    …each and everytime you hit us with another one! I’m not supposed to be caught giggling this early at work on a Friday. Massa already is hip to me blogging. I gotta’ go!

  6. Angie

    What trips me out is that this brotha is going to prison, and TIP got probation and community service for his fellony.

  7. Cliff

    Angie, Andrea, Rikyrah

    Thanks, I am little crazy, but I love to push the limits that SB allows.

    Thank You SB, I love your blog. I have actually closed out a year to this date. I am actually a Safe Negro, who loves to write my feelings.

    I will have to calm down a little bit. Don’t want to be too crazy, but I’m am crazy about black people . Seems like these types of laws are only able to be applied to black people. Bob Johnson, I did’nt mean to be so harsh.

    Let’s set up a table to compare to the Satanic mind of White Supremacy.

    Michael Vick: Your Negra ass hanged and electrocuted dogs.

    Punishment for a Negra: I raped, tortured, hanged an electrocuted enslaved millions of Negras all over the planet, I need to lock you up for two years for my crimes.

    Marion Jones: Your Negra ass took some lotion that my trainer gave you, which had steroid chemicals in it.

    Punishment for a Negra: I need your Negra ass in prison for me entrapping you, and I need you records to be erased, and I need to pawn your gold medals , and I need your children to never believe they can never do anything but dance, sing, shout, have sex, smoke on that “good stuff,” and be our slave. I need to lock you up for you falling victim to our crimes of entrapment in our scheme.

    Wesley Snipes: Your Negra ass is a descendant of slaves which built our country. We have not given you Negras a gotdamn thang since you’ve been here. Except for a few million for a few movies, here and there.

    Punishment for a Negra: I need your Negra ass to pay for slavery, and our lynching and raping every Negra we could find. We need every gotdamn dime you make going toward our slavery and rape fund, going towards the IRS.

    “CHANGE WE CAN BELIEVE IN”

    “THIS IS CHESS NOT CHECKERS”🙂

  8. Cliff, I have to bow to your superiority with the written word as well.

    Rikyrah, I heard about the acquittal in the Sean Bell case. Shades of Rodney King all over again, except for the lack of a video tape of the shooting.

    I hope the Justice Department decides to rehab itself and go after these officers on Civil Rights violations. IN an Obama administration, yeah.

    In a Bush Administration……(((crickets chirping)))

  9. renee

    ok, Snipes is going to a country club “prison”. He deserves what he gets. IRS always wins. They will get their money…period.

  10. Okay, Michael, since you’re not going to “be like Mike”, put away your hood, robe, burning cross and head over to blogs like InstaPundit, where tripe like you just posted is warmly welcomed.

  11. damn

    couldn’t the tax man just force Wes to pay his taxes and not send him to jail.

    but really Wesley (and everyone else for that matter) needs to get at least a bit schooled in the arts of law and finance

Comments are closed.