The Last Dog Dies: Obama clinches the nomination

Standard

Today is a time for supporters and skeptics alike to savor this seminal moment in American history and take a vacation from cynicism. I don’t have many elegant thoughts or well-turned phrases to bedazzle you with this evening. I have many irons in the fire and none are appropriate or ready for unveiling at this time. Today marks the fulfillment of the 25 year-old dream that I have been patiently waiting and hoping for and I feel numb.

It is much like the feeling I experienced when my grandmother informed Mom and I last week that she would have to put down her beloved dog, Homer. Homer, a pure bred Shar-pei, was her faithful companion of nearly 12 years. Mama cried some bitter tears over his inevitable decline in health and the decision was made to humanely put him down.

In the same vein, the indefatigable Clintons campaigned for America’s imperial throne with an air of white entitlement until all hope was gone and the last dog died. Now that her campaign has been euthanized, and they weep bitter crocodile tears, it is incumbent upon Senator Obama to put a stake through the heart of the Clintons permanent campaign and forever remove the possibility of a political resurrection through the lifeline of the Vice Presidency.

The specter of placing the Queen of triangulation and America’s most resilient corporate vampire on the same ticket with Obama is both repellent and counterproductive. I look forward to the coming days as Obama sets his sights on a running mate and shall continue to savor this moment for all its worth.

36 thoughts on “The Last Dog Dies: Obama clinches the nomination

  1. NJC

    I don’t want to get you depressed, but unless you know some behind the scenes goings on, I’m not exactly sure Clinton has a such a poor chance.

    Some of the rancor between politicians is campaign driven. Then there’s factoring in on what a VP will add to the ticket.

    I gotta be realistic. Her campaign’s dead, but she as yet may be the undead.

  2. I must be honest… I was not emotionally prepared for the horror show I witnessed tonight.
    If y’all had told me that I was going to be watching a ghost that does not realize that they’re dead yet, I would have been sure to not have watched.

    I’m creeped out by this woman. And more than that, I’m pissed off by her.
    Her very presence is offensive to me.

    She is classless!

    The race is over. But you would not have known that from her speech.
    Her speech sounded like a woman that was still making a case that she is the most electable and qualified to be the nominee.
    Her speech sounded like she was trying to make sure that the entire world knows that she was the won that carried the swing states.
    Her speech sounded like she wanted to let all of us know that you have made a grave mistake picking that boy over me.

    I will be horrified if Senator Obama makes a mistake and selects her as his running mate. He needs to keep that sick woman far, far away from his campaign.

  3. I’m glad to see you back.

    Her speech will climb into the pantheon of completely and utterly classless political speeches.

    I am so repulsed by her, I can’t even listen to her voice.

    So craven and hollow she is; she’s disgusting.

    And, trying to bully herself onto the ticket – hell no.

    Her speech sounded like she wanted to let all of us know that you have made a grave mistake picking that boy over me.

    Which made her classlessness even more obvious when contrasted to Obama and his graciousness.

  4. Befree

    Clinton met her goals by pundits, Media and other

    1. She had people talking ALL day about will she
    concede, not Obama.
    2. She has everybody talking about her speech
    and not Obama.

    SB,

    I feel numb also, but I can’t vacation from cynicism. I would have to have a lobotomy. LOL

  5. Andrea

    Befree,

    You are not a cynic. You are seasoned! You have allowed yourself to have courage to think the uncomfortable and scary things. That’s intelligence — not cynicism. I applaud your tenacity to critically think.

  6. I just watched Clinton’s speech. It was the most graceless 15 minutes I’ve ever witnessed in American political speech. She repeated all of the lies upon which her campaign has been predicated. Her supporters chanted “Denver, Denver” and her smile widened. Some supporters shouted “Don’t vote for Obama!” and she smiled even wider.

    The moment embodied the crux of Clinton’s campaign: she appeals to the darker side of human nature. She plays upon fear and hatred and concocts resentments. And, in a purely objective political sense, she is a master demagogue.

    Obama, by contrast, appeals to the better angels of our nature. And that is his magic. That is why he beat Clinton. That is why he will beat McCain. Like the Skeptical Brotha, we are all just tired and worn down by the lies and fear mongering of our leadership. We need a change.

  7. Ernesto,

    I didn’t expect anything less from her….but sometimes, you’d like to be wrong, because you knew how ugly she was.

  8. Honestly, I didn’t know what to expect. I knew that she was evil, a spoiled sport, dishonest, and so on… But I thought that maybe this time, if no other time she would have to eat a little crow, and shut her loud mouth for just once.

    I didn’t expect her to endorse him last night. But I did expect her to say that she was finished. I expected her to thank all of those who supported her in this carnival of a campaign.

    I guess I expected that because that’s what any person with any sense and dignity would have done.
    But look at who we’re talking about. It’s Senator Clinton.

    Instead of her gracefully bowing out, she used those 15 minutes to demand the VP slot. (Actually, it sounded like she was still demanding the Presidential slot.) Instead of her using those 15 minutes to thank the 18 million people who voted for her, she held them for a ransom last night, making sure that everyone knows that she will hold them hostage until her demands are met.
    WHAT THE HELL?!!!

    I couldn’t even be happy for Obama last night for being so damn mad at Clinton.

    Rikyrah, I “lobster hate” her. **smile**

  9. After Katrina, if you had told me we’d be here, today, I would have scoffed. But here we are.

    There is much to be done for black americans, africans the world over, and america. But the summit is in sight.

  10. Akech

    Bob Johnson, the BET guy and the man who said Mr. Obama was a drug pusher in the Southside of Chicago, appeared on CNN at around 7.10 AM in this morning to appeal to the elite Congressional Black Caucus members to urge Mr. Obama to pick Hillary Clinton as his VP.

    This guy Johnson reminds me of Joseph Mobutu who handed over Patrice Lumumba to be slaughted and burned to ashes by his Belgian bosses in Congo in 1960!

    As a result of behaviors of people like Mobutu, the citizens of the mineral rich Democratic Republic of Congo are still living in despicable slums with no running water or sewage.

    The diamonds from Congo can be seen on the necks fingers, wrists and othe body parts of many women in the Western and eastern world; most of the time given as tokens of love by the powerful men who can afford these pieces of luxuries.

  11. Nquest

    the indefatigable Clintons campaigned for America’s imperial throne with an air of white entitlement

    Right when the Pfleger thing hit the news, there were 266,000 hits on Google for “Clinton + Entitlement” with the most relevant stories coming from periods in the campaign well before Pfleger ever made the news. Now there are 309,000 hits.

    It’s amazing how Americans have issues with the truth and, worst, despicable how Pfleger and Wright generate way more feigned outrage than there has ever been for the lies told and the lives lost as a result of Bush policies.

  12. LoveTruth

    Hillary Clinton IS Norma Desmond from Sunset Boulevard. She is delusional and arrogant. I found this video on Youtube and its fitting especially after last night’s speech. She is the epitome of entitlement. Now who told her that she was entitled? Well, her attachment to white patriarchy.

  13. zeitgeist9000

    Congrats to Senator Obama, his supporters, our Party and the democratic process. As the dust settles, we have much to reflect on and savor in the coming days.

    As for nixing the Hillary as VP possibility, I for one would love to see her on the ticket with Barack. I would go so far as to say that with over half the Dem voters casting ballots in her favor, Senator Clinton is more than deserving of the no. 2 spot. I look forward to seeing her united with Barack at the convention, and I hope that the two disparate halves of our Party can come together to beat John McCain.

  14. imhotep

    Excuse me but when you casually throw out comments that include a possible assasination TWICE. You are automatically dismmissed concerning being VP. Can you see the woman second guessing every decision, looking over my shoulder, acting like Mrs. Daisy. Every loud noise OB is ducking and she is smiling. No Thank you! Obama should make a clean break from the Clintons. Edwards is a better choice, Bill is a better than that woman.

  15. NuPolitico

    zeitgeist9000:

    people are Deserving of a Right, but no one is Deserving of a Privilege.

    SB: nice to see you back.

  16. Angie-Nuvision

    When someone runs for the nomination, and they come in second place, they are not guaranteed a spot on the ticket.
    She lost. Fair and square…
    Senator Obama owes her nothing.
    He thanked her for helping him be a better candidate and a better person. And to me, he was being nice.
    I’m sick of Clinton and all of her supporters acting like somebody owes Clinton anything.

    I saw Tubbs-Jones on MSNBC last night. Do you know that woman suggested that Senator Obama consider Clinton to be his VP because he will need someone with her presidential abilities to help him clean up the Bush mess. She was actually suggesting some sort of unofficial co-presidency.
    Unbelievable…

    One more thing…
    Last night, my four-year-old niece was asking me over and over could she watch Noggin. I kept telling her no, explaining to her that auntie was watching the news.
    I sat her in my lap and tried to explain to her the significance of what her auntie was watching.
    Of course, she didn’t understand what the hell I was saying. But I find comfort in knowing that one day she will understand the significance.
    Today it’s Dora the Explorer and Little Bill. But one day, she will have to face the hard truths of the world she lives in.
    And when she grows up, and gains a greater understanding, I hope that she realizes that this moment that I’m witnessing, this moment that she lives in today, was for her.

    Last night, it did my heart well for my mother, a young woman, who has been made “old” due to a massive stroke, got a chance to witness a black man gain the ability to be a presidential candidate in her lifetime. That meant a lot to Mama.

  17. tabt

    Congratulation Sen. Obama!
    A black person winning the Democrat presidential nomination is a truly great and historic event. You did it Senator, and you did it under amazingly difficult circumstances. Last night was yours to celebrate. I hope that you were able to revel fully in your accomplishments, for at least one brief moment, before the hard and ugly running against McCrazy begins.

    On this momentous occassion, with the help of the MSM, Hellary did her best to make the night all about her. She didn’t say, “You ran a great campaign. You won the nomination. I congratulate you and I will do everything that I can to work for your election.” She just kept repeating that she won the popular vote, how many milions voted for her, that she won the important states etc. It was not a concession speech. She’s still running and, IMO, for the presidential spot. I don’t put it past her to challenge Obama at the convention, esp. if she doesn’t get the VP spot, that she now feels is somehow owed to her.

    Please, Sen. Obama, do not pick
    Clinton(s) as your VP. It would be political suicide. Please other influential Democrates, show some backbone for once, and don’t let the Clintons force you to “snatch defeat from the jaws of victory” yet again.

    SB glad that you are back. I’ve missed you.

  18. Excuse me but when you casually throw out comments that include a possible assasination TWICE. You are automatically dismmissed concerning being VP.

    Not only that, but she’s demanding he at least offers her the position, and that he’d better not consider offering the post to another woman.

    She just included the setback of gender as well as race, and since she’s too classless to get off the stage, we may have to give her a good old-fashioned shove off.

    Bob Johnson is immaterial and irrelevant. How in the hell can all who dissed Obama believe they have a right to demand anything from him?

    The CBC members who supported Hillary have now had this conversation with her:

    CBC Members: Uh, we supported you and now we got primary challengers. You need to tell Obama to get them off our back so’s we can win re-election.

    Hillary: Before he gives you Negroes anything, I’m tellin’ that boy I demand he put me on his ticket as VP. I’m not making any decisions regarding you darkies, but I’ll at least ask him to call off those primary challengers.

    CBC Members: We toted your water, and this is how you repay us? Maxine has already given her superdelegate vote to Obama; followed by Carolyn and Jim Clyburn! You leaving us in the cold, Missy Hillary!

    Hillary: I haven’t even conceeded yet! I told you I’m not making any decisions until my batshyt crazy supporters send me emails to tell me what I need to do! I’m trying to figure out how I’m going to get this SOB to pay off my campaign debt, so drink your glasses of STHU until I figure out how I’m going to ruin him for the Presidency…Where’s Bill?

  19. zeitgeist9000

    “Drink your glasses of STHU”! I like that.

    BUT hmm….

    So Hillary is supposed to work her out to get Obama elected with no tangible benefit in return?

    And anything that she doesn’t do to help Obama will be perceived by some as an assist to McCain so that she can turn around and run again in 2012?

    Um, yeah.

  20. zeitgeist9000

    Ay, I left out “heart.”

    And it’s not because I think Hillary is lacking in one.

    I skipped lunch today!

  21. Akech

    Do the Clinton own Congressional Black Caucus?
    How much would it take to buy back these stocks in Billary Clintons trade?

  22. Chesapeake

    Having digested many complaints about Sen. Clinton’s refusal to concede and congratulate. And, while on any other day her refusal might tick me off, this Obama critic can’t help but celebrate the triumph of grace, humility, perseverance, tenacity, discipline, and creativity. Presumptive nominee Obama, the senator from Illinois, demonstrated all these virtues throughout the nomination process and culminated the process last night with diction and presence, the “buffalo stance” if you will, that said “I acknowledge that I ran against the toughest and one of the best, I overcame, and I’m ready for the fight ahead.””

    Someone within, the Holy Spirit, will not allow to indulgence just yet in the Clintons’ impropriety. Instead, this is a joyful time to celebrate the world’s historic moment, as incremental as it is.

    I understand the frustration. Maybe tomorrow … but today all I can say is congratulations Barack Obama, and praise God!

  23. Yes it looks as though the Clinton campaign is transitioning from delusion to dementia. At this point it would be best for all involved if Hillary were to just go away….far, far away. Even if she were to do a 180 and endorse Obama, the damage has already been done. She fired way too many a toxic salvo in the past few weeks, and will never be of any help to Obama’s chances for election. Too much baggage there. Too many soundbites the Republicans can use against an Obama/Clinton ticket.

    Obama needs to continue the current tack of heaping praise upon her while keeping her at more than arm’s length. If he wants to pick a woman, go with Sebelius or somebody, anybody. She ceased being viable as a VP candidate since her sleazy performance in Pennsylvania and continues to dig a deeper and deeper pit for herself as evidenced by her latest speech.

    Obama should pick a VP a few weeks before the convention and he shouldn’t even give her an interview. For all the votes he’ll lose, he’ll pick up just as many Independents for avoiding her like the plague she is.

  24. I saw Tubbs-Jones on MSNBC last night. Do you know that woman suggested that Senator Obama consider Clinton to be his VP because he will need someone with her presidential abilities to help him clean up the Bush mess. She was actually suggesting some sort of unofficial co-presidency.
    Unbelievable…

    Co-presidency…that sounds about right concerning what is being aimed for…

  25. NJC

    After my first post, I reconsidered some and thought maybe Hillary has damaged herself too much and even some of the supporters who voted for her are tired of her. Although ya’ll may be a MINORITY.

    Hee. Tha’s a joke.

    We’ll know soon, I hope.

  26. I spent part of the morning trying to find all the different newspapers that I could. Really thinking and reflecting on what Obama had accomplished. Politically. Socially.

    I thought of Mama and Daddy,both born in the Jim Crow South.

    I thought of my little great-niece, who would know a President Obama in the history books when she gets to school.

    Then, I thought of that wretched bytch and what she pulled last night.

    Angie put it well:
    I knew that she was evil, a spoiled sport, dishonest, and so on…

    I LOL when I first read it.

    It began with Billy Shaheen, and last night, KNOWING DAMN WELL WHAT HISTORY THAT MEANT TO THE BLACK COMMUNITY,

    She put the cherry on her hateful, racebaiting sundae she’s been building since New Hampshire.

    Then, I had to suffer through hearing that her Sambo Billionaire Bob Johnson was writing the Congressional Black Caucus. And that sycophant Lanny Davis was creating petitions, and that loser Debi Schultz was drafting a letter to CONGRESSMEN…

    She tried to over shadow this historic moment, and now, she was going to BULLY him into putting her as VP.

    HELL NO.

    You remember how I was when you first began posting about TBQ, and you told me ‘ resistance was futile’, SB.

    It might be futile, but you gotta fight it.

    I thought about what would happen if the shoe was on the other foot, and just about screamed, cause I know how Obama would be treated if he tried this bullshyt.

    ‘ They say’ that she’s going to pull out.

    Four points on that:
    1. I’ll believe it when I see it.
    2. It was the media’s reaction to the speech. The Clinton News Network was Blistering. IMO, it was one phrase:

    Deranged Narcissism.

    Thank you, Jeffery Toobin

    3. I don’t care what anyone says about the HHH, I know that Rangel CAUGHT HELL from Black folks, even in New York. You notice that NOT ONE of the HHH brought their Black behinds out to try and flip the script on the RFK/Assassination remarks back to Obama…there’s a REASON for that.

    And Rangel is a student of history..he understands what last night meant, and her NON-acknowledge was like the cherry on top of the racebaiting sundae that she’s been serving up to the Black community since Billy Shaheen.

    Black folk weren’t having it…and there’s only so much you can take….even as a HHH…Rangel has at least THAT much sense….Tubbs-Jones is hopeless and needs to go.

    4. I read a DailyKos diary a couple of days ago that insisted that Pelosi and Reid were going to lower the boom, cause they weren’t about to let that woman fuck up their chances to increase their majorities, with her tantrum going to Denver.

  27. Oh, and SB, you gotta give us an open thread, or do a post on it…

    The Barack/Michelle ‘Dap’.. ( I admit it..I want to see that picture around the net as much as possible)

    LOL

    This was in the replies at JJP

    Here’s something I found on Slate.com today to make you guys giggle.🙂

    ————–
    The presidential campaign—well, one in particular—has introduced a new greeting to the political world: the fist pound (also known as daps). Last night, we saw perhaps the most high-profile pound of all time, as Michelle and Barack Obama bumped fists on national television before he took the stage.

    What’s hilarious is watching the formal, AP Stylebook-loving media trying to figure out what to call it. In an article about Obama’s body man Reggie Love, the New York Times called Love’s preferred greeting a “closed-fisted high-five.” Last night produced other assorted references:

    “Taking a fist-pound from wife Michelle, Obama stepped to the podium Tuesday”—MTV.com

    “Michelle Obama (L) gives her husband, Democratic presidential candidate U.S. Senator Barack Obama, a knuckle-bump as a sign of support before he speaks to supporters.”—Monsters and Critics

    “At 09:09:27 Central Time, Michelle Obama gave Barack Obama a pound in St. Paul, Minnesota.”—Lola New York

    “I never realized how romantic and respectful and mutually appreciative and loving a frat-tastic fist bump could be. Could it be the new peck-on-the-cheek?”—The Frisky

    “… Obama, who was joined on stage by his wife Michelle, with whom he shared a celebratory fist-bump.”—Reuters

    “Obama, began with a loving fist to fist thumbs up with Michelle.”—Capitol Hill Blue

    “Michelle is not as ‘refined’ as Obama at hiding her TRUE feelings about America—etc. Her ‘Hezbollah’ style fist-jabbing …”—Human Events

    “I loved that moment, when they touched their hands together like that.” –Commenter, bjkeefe

    Hilarious. Some editor trying to find a description of it to put into a story..LOL

  28. Befree

    Andrea,
    Thank you. I have been reading your post for sometime and you sit in a place where truth is your ultimate goal. Your post reminds me never assume the obvious is true. Your post always elevate the conversation.

  29. GDAWG

    On the matter of the so called “Dap” that BO and his wife did on the night he clinched the nonmination, brought back memories for me.
    I can recall that during my stint in the military in the early 70’s one of the greatest fears I had was wondering if I was going to be able learn the intricacies of “dapping” with the brothers! And what BO and Michelle did was nothing compared to what we had to do as greeting among brothers in the service back then. It drove white folks crazy watching us do our thang. We called ourselves ‘bloods’ back then in the military because we were truly ‘bothers under arms.’ Obviously ‘blood’ had a different connotation than it later had with the ignorant gangbangers.

    In any event, we had “short time” for when you were in a hurry and had to get to a duty station or whatever, and then there was the regular dap which generally took a bout 5 minutes. Now imagine meeting uo with, say, 10 brothers, and having have to greet all of them by dapping. It was mandatory! But, in any event, I learnt the routine and was dam proud of myself for doing so.
    Finally, I can’t wait to see what kneegrows in NY are going to do with psycho-lady when and if she runs for another elective office.

  30. Akech

    BOB JOHNSON”S HISTORIC CAMPAIGN LETTER IN FAVOR OF HILLARY FOR VP.

    http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/2008/images/06/04/johnson.letter.pdf

    Quote:

    June 3, 2008
    The Honorable James Clyburn
    U. S. House of Representatives
    H-329, The Capitol
    Washington, DC 20515
    Dear Jim:
    Now that you have endorsed Senator Obama as the Presidential Nominee of the Democratic Party; I, as a long-time supporter of Senator Clinton and of the Democratic Party, urge you to do everything possible to unify this party to win the Presidential election in November. For me and millions of other Democrats, I believe that the most important step that you can take now is to encourage the Congressional Black Caucus to urge Senator Obama to select Senator Hillary Clinton as his Vice Presidential running mate.
    As a businessman I understand the vitally important role that a Democratic President can play in establishing programs and policies throughout the government that stimulate and support economic opportunities for African Americans. As African Americans we agree that the stakes in this election are far too high to take any chances that this party will not be unified from the top to the bottom in our effort to gain control of The White House.
    You know as well as I the deep affection that millions of African Americans hold for both Senator Clinton and President Clinton. You also know that Hillary Clinton has been a long-term advocate for racial and gender equality, from her early days as a lawyer with the Children Defense Fund to her prominent leadership roles on these issues as First Lady and as Senator from New York. But most important, we need to have the certainty of winning; and, I believe, without question, that Barack Obama as President and Hillary Clinton as Vice President bring that certainty to the ticket.
    Jim, as the highest ranking African American in Congress, I encourage you to follow your commitment to build a unified party by helping to make this a historic election of Senators Obama and Clinton who both have demonstrated that they have the courage and the ability to inspire and lead this nation to greatness today and for years in the future.
    Warm regards,
    Bob Johnson

    Unqote;

    Are we talking about the same Clintons who stood by while the genocide in Rwanda was taking the lives of 8,000 Africans a day for a period of 100 days?
    Bill and Hillary Clinton were, at that time ,the leaders of the free world!!
    One of the point man in the Clinton’s adminstration told a frontic Rwandan female representative who was smuggled out to come and beg Bill Clinton to do something to stop the genocide that “America do not have friends. America have interests”. As far as this Clinton’s representative was concerned, Rwanda did not have anything America was interested in!!

    Why can’t people like Bob Johnson and CBC unite to stand for African Americans the same way AIPAC and NRA protect their members without blinking?

    http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/evil/etc/slaughter.html

    I will not be surprised if Bob Johnson does not mount a scathing campaign, worse than the one he launched during the primaries, to see to it that Mr. Obama does not get elected as the President of the free world.

    This letter reveals everything about Mr Johnson’s intention. It also reveals the self serving nature of relationship between those Black elites and the Clintons. They feed on the misery plaguing millions of poor African Americans who are unable to defend themselves from this ferocious and pretentious liasion.

    These folks are merely proxies through whom the poor Black communities everywhere in the world are exploited. Very sad indeed.

  31. Richard

    Ok I have worked in prisons for over 20 years this is where the fist bump began which is now known as the Obama Bump…. The reason it is done in prisons is because the inmates do not trust the other inmates to be clean so they bump fist rather than risk shaking the hand of an unclean inmate. I was curious so I ask them not once but when I worked for the State and te Feds. I always got the same answer if you respect someone and consider them clean you shake there hand if you do not know them or trust them you bump fist. I do not know if that is why she does it but it is possible who evet taught it to her considered them not clean or not trustworthy. I am not making this up ask anyone you know who works or has been in prison…

  32. Supposedly, the pants hangin off the ass style that is so popular amongst teenagers these days began in prison as a way of soliciting gay sex. So by your reasoning every high school kid you see wearing their pants this way is looking to be f— in the a–. Hmmm…maybe all the people who vote Republican (and make less than 500k per year) should be wearing their pants hanging off their ass (along with giving pound).

Comments are closed.