John Edwards: Selfish, Egotistical, Narcissistic

Standard

I guess y’all heard. I found out in the middle of a damn staff meeting that John Edwards supposedly stopped lying today when he finally admitted to an affair with actor/director Rielle Hunter. In so doing, he confirmed the persistent blog chatter and consistent drumbeat of salacious revelations generated by the National Inquirer.

According to ABC News:

“Two years ago I made a very serious mistake,” Edwards said, blaming the prominence of being a vice presidential candidate. “All of which fed a self-focus, an egotism, a narcissism that leads you to believe that you can do whatever you want,” he said.”

“Edwards also denied he was the father of Hunter’s baby girl, Frances Quinn, although the one-time Democratic Presidential candidate said he has not taken a paternity test. He said he would be happy to take one.”

“…Since becoming pregnant, Hunter has lived under assumed names in a series of expensive homes in North Carolina and, more recently, in Santa Barbara, Calif. …Edwards denied paying any money to Hunter to keep her from going public but said it was possible some of his friends or supporters may have made payments without telling him.”

“…Late today, Edwards’ former national finance chairman said he had provided assistance to Hunter and others without the knowledge of Edwards.”

Wow.

His two-year old mistake looks suspiciously like an ongoing affair, an effort to preserve a political future, or both when one recognizes:

a.) He’s sneaking out to the Left Coast without telling Elizabeth he’s seeing Rielle.

b.) She’s living under assumed names both here and Cali.

c.) the “help” she’s been receiving from Edwards intimates.

What the hell kinda help does she really need? If you paid me $114,000 to produce a documentary in 2006, I’d still be living on it. Despite the denial of paternity, maybe the child really is his and he is as deluded about the paternity of baby as he was about winning the presidency.

What I know for sure is that he impressed the whole family into service for his selfish, egotistical, and narcissistic fantasy of becoming President. They did this even though they new that he strayed. What an A hole. After attending the first Hardball College tour during his first run in 2004, I left there mumbling, “He ain’t ready.” I later changed that view; I guess I should always go with what my gut tells me. What’s your opinion?

31 thoughts on “John Edwards: Selfish, Egotistical, Narcissistic

  1. What’s my opinion?

    1. The Democrats dodged a bullett. Could you remotely imagine folks who thought Edwards was ‘the safe choice’, because he was The Southern White Guy.

    We are 20 days away from the convention. 88 from the election. It would be over.

    2. He couldn’t have better taste? Um, she looks haggard to me.

    3. I need men to answer this question for me. If you’re a rich man, and you have children (both sexes), please explain to me why you don’t just get a vasectomy? I had that question with Jesse Jackson, and I’ve got it with Edwards.

    4. He’s a multi-millionaire many times over, and he’s paying the hoochie from the campaign funds? You’re telling me that there wasn’t some offshore account she could have had access to instead?

    5. The kid’s his, and she, like Jesse Jackson’s hoochie, has found her way to financial stability. Filmmaking ain’t stable. Now, she’s got a guaranteed 18 year check coming in.

    6. Pathetic.

  2. I don’t think Edwards was in the running for VP because insiders new about this baby thing LOOOONG before he made his admission.

    Obama, take note of this scenario!

  3. Angie

    **Yes, I know I’m supposed to be taking a break, but I had to comment on this. And after this, I’m gone for real. I can’t stomach the coverage on this on line or on television. So, I’ll be fasting from the news for the next few days.**

    In a way this shocked me. Not because I didn’t think that Edwards was capable of cheating… But because I thought he had better sense to not allow something like this to happen… Getting her pregnant? Um, birth control… Did they not know it exist?
    Paying her with money that can be tracked and traced to him? Really? Ridiculous. He has enough of his personal money that he could have given her, rather than campaign dollars. But I guess “his wife” would’ve been able to figure out what was going on sooner.
    What a shame that he was cheating on her while she was having the battle of her life, battling for her life. **shaking my head**
    And what is this about it being someone else’s in his camp’s baby? Huh? Are they going to do the great mix up on the day that the blood test is done? Or was this woman getting it on with whoever she could hook up with? Just wondering… It sounds suspicious on Edwards part though. I bet he is the father of that baby.
    And he didn’t love her? That’s pretty low. I would’ve rathered him actually be in-love with this woman. It wouldn’t sound so trashy to me. I guess I would understand the risk of destroying your life, your marriage, and your political career if emotion, such as love, rather than just plain, lustful, mindless sex was his motivation.
    A

  4. TripLBee,

    He was not out of public life. He was in the running to join the ticket or Administration. It matters because, as rikyrah said, had he pulled off a miracle and somehow obtained the nomination, it would be over. McCain strategists would have had multiple orgasms contemplating their media strategy against a man who cheated on his now terminally ill wife.

  5. rikyrah,

    It sure sounds like the kid could be his, but why would he claim to be “happy” to submit to a paternity test if, as he said, the affair was long over before her pregnancy. This is a PR trick. It ain’t his. He already looks like an asshole for having cheated on Elizabeth but he wants to knock this down to salvage a little bit of dignity.

  6. Angie,

    You’re welcome to break your hiatus anytime and comment here. I love you’re point of view. At this point, I am more sad than mad because I eventually came to believe in John’s sincerity as a progressive politician and not some Machiavellian pol on the make.

  7. If Edwards had been the nominee, of course this would be news. But he dropped out almost six months ago. Truly, I just think that jumping into the bedrooms of public figures is repulsive. This is between him, his family, and Ms. Hunter.

  8. NillaWaif

    On last night’s Nightline, JohnE said that he was more than willing to take a paternity test.

    Rielle’s sister is pressuring him to take the test, according to today’s news reports.

    Also, according to news reports of today, Ms. Rielle Hunters says that she will not subject her child to a paternity test.

    Do The Math!

  9. SB,

    Why are YOU being naive- the kid is his.

    That woman planned that kid as much as Jesse Jackson’s hoochie did.

    Did you see her ‘ work’?

    Like I said….she’s found her way to a five-figure monthly check for the next 18 years.

    Maybe she’s given up on the ‘Brass Ring’, and is just content now with getting paid.

  10. Got some more for you SB,

    Remember when Edwards endorsed Obama? Remember the BS beforehand? That the reason they didn’t do it sooner was because Obama didn’t kiss their ass enough?

    Some folks didn’t like JE’s body language towards Obama during the event. Like he was resentful towards Obama.

    Now, knowing what you know now, doesn’t that piss you off even more? He’s mad at Obama, with THIS in his closet? He had the nerve to be mad at Obama with this bomb in his background?

    NERVE

    I will reiterate…WHAT IF…he had won the nomination?

    We’ve been accusing Billary of not giving a rat’s ass about The Democratic Party.

    Seems as if they weren’t alone

  11. Spisy

    TripLBee:
    I don’t expect we’ll see Obama casting any stones towards Edwards… despite having cast many ‘moral’ stones towards the black community.

    rikyrah:
    I wasn’t aware there was any problems between Edwards and Obama – in fact, I really liked Edwards’ endorsement speech. Nevertheless, I am not surprised.

    And I agree with you on Ms. Hunter – her monetary mission has been accomplished. I’m happy I was not one of the many Edwards supports who contributed to Ms. Hunter’s payday.

  12. Spisy,

    I don’t see that Obama has been casting moral stones at the black community. Rather, I think he’s been cheering us on to do better. I was fortunate to be in the audience the day he gave his Father’s Day speech. I observed that people felt uplifted rather than chastised.

    Also, I think the zero-sum game morality litmus test, where Obama is supposed to criticize a white person for every misperceived slight against the black community, is pointless.

  13. Spisy

    TripLBee,

    That Obama “cheers us on to do better” is somewhat my point. He advocates for race neutrality and yet is mostly compelled to cheer on the black community to “do better.” There is room for many other groups to do better. One such group being those who think adultery is not a big deal and/or believes adultery does not portray a person’s (moral) character.

    And in his public denouncements of Rev. Wright and Louis Farrakhan, Obama again cast moral stones (indirectly) towards the black community.

    Ms. Obama seems to have this same tendency to target the black community’s need to “do better” as she points out in this interview with Ebony Magazine:

    http://www.ebonyjet.com/EBONY/MichelleObama/fitness_1.html

  14. Ms. Obama seems to have this same tendency to target the black community’s need to “do better” as she points out in this interview with Ebony Magazine:

    Michelle Obama spoke up about Malia and Sasha as to why she changed the food choices in their home.

    I listened to the clip, and didn’t hear anything wrong with what she said.

  15. Spisy

    Hi rikyrah,

    This is the part of the clip that I found objectionable:

    “But it is also a part of a healthy life for any human being. And women, particularly African-American women, we have to be cognizant –because if you look at the health statistics and you look at the rates at which black women are dying from obesity and stroke and heart attack all of these preventable illnesses, all these directly linked to our diet and our exercise – we’re drowning.”

    Several points –
    — To remain (somewhat) on topic, the statistics so that obesity and diabetes is a growing epidemic among ALL Americans. Which I think would be better to stress, especially for those who are advocating a ‘race neutral’ society.

    — If consistency regarding race neutrality is not important, then at the least, the high incidence amount Native American and Hispanic women should have been stressed. In particular, for Native Americans since that particular group seems to be overlooked many times.

    — Risk of Stroke and Heart Attack is not directly linked to one’s diet and exercise, but indirectly. By far, one’s age, sex, race and genetic history are the most direct links to these diseases.

  16. Spisy,

    If you think that adultery in all of its varied forms defines a persons moral character, then, sadly, the vast majority of people will fail your morality test.

  17. Spisy,

    PS—I attended Rev. Wright’s church and agreed with Obama’s assessment of the manicured clips that were shown repeatedly on TV. I thought the imbroglio was less about anything controversial Rev. Wright said and much more about the MSM’s desire to cause a fight…which they succeeded in doing. As far as Lois Farrakhan is concerned, he has many gifts, but I also think he is an offensive bigot.

  18. Spisy

    TripLBee:

    If you think that adultery in all of its varied forms defines a persons moral character, then, sadly, the vast majority of people will fail your morality test.

    I should have stated, adultery defines an important part of a person’s moral character. I don’t expect that the vast majority of people would be suitable to lead as President.

    I thought the imbroglio was less about anything controversial Rev. Wright said and much more about the MSM’s desire to cause a fight…which they succeeded in doing.

    Perhaps… for me, it’s a shame that Obama didn’t think that; cause if he did, maybe he would have been confident enough to confront the MSM with their dishonest distraction – rather than insulting Rev. Wright and the black community.

    As far as Lois Farrakhan is concerned, he has many gifts, but I also think he is an offensive bigot.

    Would you mind explaining your reason for calling Farrakhan a bigot?

  19. Spisy,

    I don’t see any correlation between marital fidelity and one’s fitness for the presidency. I believe that FDR was one of our greatest presidents. He kept a mistress for decades. The man I regard as the worst president in the history of the United States—George W. Bush—is widely reputed to be a loving and faithful husband.

    In terms of the Rev. Wright “scandal”, I’m part of the black community and I wasn’t insulted by Obama’s handling of the situation. I was, however, embarrassed by Wright’s performance in front of the National Press Club.

    Farrakhan is a devout homophobe….I mean where to begin with this man’s rank homophobia. He simply hates gay people. I also consider him to be a hardcore misogynist who considers women to be unequal to men. Finally, he is faithfully anti-semitic.

  20. Spisy,

    PS—I want to be clear that I’m not condoning marital infidelity. Truth be told, I’m impressed that Obama—from everything I hear—is a faithful husband who treats his wife as an equal. I just don’t think it has anything to do with his political qualifications. I am also bothered by a view of politics that holds politicians to a much higher moral standard than most people hold themselves, and doesn’t allow for mistakes. 15 years ago, presidential candidates were not allowed to have experimented with marijuana in their youth. 50 years ago, presidential candidates couldn’t be divorcees. I think this kind of moralizing disqualifies a lot of people who could be good presidents and it places us on a slippery slope of pious morality that many people find stifling.

  21. Spisy

    TripLBee:

    I didn’t say that marital infidelity correlated with one’s fitness to be President. ‘-) However, if there were two candidates with the exact same resume and one was an adulterer and the other not – I’d pick the one that was not an adulterer. The reason, I think adultery shows a lack of commitment, trust and honesty. There’s always the more honest and honorable option to leave a marriage or relationship – which doesn’t seem that difficult to do; so it’s curious to me as to why more don’t choose the more honest approach.

    Can you provide links to direct quotes from Farrakhan that support your claims?

  22. But it is also a part of a healthy life for any human being. And women, particularly African-American women, we have to be cognizant –because if you look at the health statistics and you look at the rates at which black women are dying from obesity and stroke and heart attack all of these preventable illnesses, all these directly linked to our diet and our exercise – we’re drowning.”

    Dr. Ian Smith isn’t doing the 50 million pound challenge because he wants to hear himself think.

    Is Michelle Obama wrong?

    No.

    Was she speaking to a Black audience in Ebony?

    Yes.

    There wasn’t anything she said that wasn’t the truth.

    You’re seeing something that isn’t there, IMO.

  23. Spisy

    TripLBee,
    Thanks. I’m glad we could could agree on something… always nice to find some common ground. Now, if I could only get a certain ‘friend’ of mine to partially agree…. I’d be one happy lady! ‘-)

  24. RisingTide

    she was boinking multiple guys at once.

    Women, guys aren’t like you. I’m sorry, but 65% of guys cheat on their wives. They still want to come home at the end of the day. This is partially how they are wired — humans are both monogamous and polygamous. Men pursue both the “high price” strategy of monogamy, and the “low price” strategy of polygamy — leaving another man to pay the price.

  25. Chesapeake

    Marital fidelity may not be important to some people when selecting a president, but it is a factor to me. To me, cheating suggests lack of judgment, focus, trustworthiness, and discipline. It is a sign of weakness and callousness – to use SB’s phrase “selfish, egotistical, narcissistic.” So, Trip, other factors, infidelity could, but not necesarily will, disqualify a candidate from my consideration.

    I supported Senator Edwards’ bid. (Spisy, a few of my pennies may have gone to the COTS). I still support him in some of his various efforts. However, I believe he had no business running for president. Accepting the moral issues as what they are, politically, if Edwards had won the nomination, the entire slate of democratic candidates – from city council to president – would been at risk if the affair facts became public before election day.

    I feel you rikyrah, the party dodged a bullet. It was truly selfish to put so much, personally and politically, at risk in hopes of fending off news of the affair until after election. And as much as I like and admire Elizabeth, she conspired (when they found that her cancer had worsened, wasn’t that a time to consider also the affair and to decide to spare themselves and the potential collateral damage?)!

    SB, I’m very disappointed in the Edwardses. I do believe, though, that they can still be a force in favor of the poor.

Comments are closed.