Palin stumbles and falls

Standard

Y’all know what I already think. I literally laughed out loud.  No comic needs to do make anything up to spoof her–just use her damn words.   I’d just like to know what y’all think.

Kathleen Parker, a right-wing columnist I consider to be insensitive and racist, said this:

Palin’s recent interviews with Charles Gibson, Sean Hannity, and now Katie Couric have all revealed an attractive, earnest, confident candidate. Who Is Clearly Out Of Her League.

No one hates saying that more than I do. Like so many women, I’ve been pulling for Palin, wishing her the best, hoping she will perform brilliantly. I’ve also noticed that I watch her interviews with the held breath of an anxious parent, my finger poised over the mute button in case it gets too painful. Unfortunately, it often does. My cringe reflex is exhausted.

Palin filibusters. She repeats words, filling space with deadwood. Cut the verbiage and there’s not much content there. Here’s but one example of many from her interview with Hannity: “Well, there is a danger in allowing some obsessive partisanship to get into the issue that we’re talking about today. And that’s something that John McCain, too, his track record, proving that he can work both sides of the aisle, he can surpass the partisanship that must be surpassed to deal with an issue like this.”

When Couric pointed to polls showing that the financial crisis had boosted Obama’s numbers, Palin blustered wordily: “I’m not looking at poll numbers. What I think Americans at the end of the day are going to be able to go back and look at track records and see who’s more apt to be talking about solutions and wishing for and hoping for solutions for some opportunity to change, and who’s actually done it?”

If BS were currency, Palin could bail out Wall Street herself.

Ouch.  I hollered when I read that line.

She ends her column by calling on Palin to step down from the ticket for the good of the party.   I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

11 thoughts on “Palin stumbles and falls

  1. Angie

    AlterNet
    by: Matt Taibbi,
    “Sarah Palin is a symbol of everything that is wrong with the modern United States. As a representative of our political system, she’s a new low in reptilian villainy, the ultimate cynical masterwork of puppeteers like Karl Rove. But more than that, she is a horrifying symbol of how little we ask for in return for the total surrender of our political power.”

    Read more here: http://www.alternet.org/election08/100551/mad_dog_palin_/

    **Skep, his writing reminds me of you.**

  2. rikyrah

    What do I think?

    I think nobody Black who was this fucking incomptent and stupid would even be allowed in the door.

    It’s one thing to know about White Privilege, it’s another thing to have it shoved in your face in the person of Sarah Palin.

    THIS was worse than the Gibson Interview. Because SHE’S HAD MORE TIME.

    I wrote before that she wouldn’t last an hour with the readers of any of the political blogs I frequent. I mean that. She simply couldn’t hang. She doesn’t have the mental capacity.

  3. rikyrah

    the answer about Alaska is a ready made ad.

    1. Play her.
    2. Voiceover: ‘ We wish she were joking’.
    3. Sarah Palin: John McCain’s Judgment At Work

  4. “Snowjob Squareglasses” is the funniest cartoon in a long, long time. I can’t imagine how anyone ever took her seriously, even in the brain dead wasteland of wingnuttia.

  5. Angie

    My father told me that he didn’t even understand why Palin would accept the nomination, knowing good and very well that she was unprepared for the challenges and responsibility of campaigning, at the very least.

    I told my father and a couple of other people that I am guessing that Sarah Palin believes that her only preparation she needs for this job is her “faith”. I’m sure that she has embraced the stories of great leaders from the Bible, such as David, to fuel her confidence that she can do the job that has been “assigned to her by God.” Often times, the church will teach you that when God “calls” you to something, you don’t have to meet man’s qualifications. I’m sure this is the reason why Palin feels that she is ready to do this job. I’m sure she feels like she is “anointed by God” for a “time such as this.” (Church talk in its finest.)

    Well, all I have to say is that Palin scares me more than her running mate. This woman, someone who believes that prayer and fasting has qualified her to be VP, would only be a heartbeat away from being president, and could ultimately lead us into another war, just because she thinks that it is God’s way.

    I want this tongue talking, blood washed, creationist to know that God prepares those who He calls. When your car breaks down, you don’t go outside and pray for God to show you the problem, which part to replace, and how to put the part back in. You take it to someone that is trained to do the work.

    This woman is lacking the basic training, the basic wisdom, the basic skill, the basic knowledge to be VP. Prayer, faith, belief in a higher power, olive oil, cross charm bracelets, and the laying on of the hands cannot prepare this woman to lead the country. I wish she could get that through her head. Preparation must meet faith to birth a “real leader”.

    Sarah Palin is an embarrassment to women, pentecostals, republicans, and Alaskans. She needs to go somewhere and have a seat. I agree with Parker, Palin should resign and let someone else have this. No point in continuing to make an ass of yourself, when you could be at home being the best hockey mom you think you could be.

    I will be greatly disappointed if America allows JM and SP to be the next leaders of the United States. But I’m bracing myself for it. No matter how ridiculously clueless this woman is, there are still many who believe that she is being unfairly tormented and targeted by the liberal media. And there are even some that believe that God has called Palin to keep Obama, the muslim, out of office.

    Well, I’ll tell you what. In the next few weeks, I’m going to be bending my knees, asking the same God that Palin is praying to, to continue to prepare and elevate Obama to the highest elected office in this country. I’ll also continue to pray that God protects and covers Senator Obama and his family as they continue in their journey to the White House.

  6. Angie

    One more point about David. Yes, he was anointed as a boy to be king. But he still had to be prepared, to be molded, to be trained, to be developed before he was appointed to that office.

    It is clear to me that Palin does not think that she has to be “qualified” in any way, other than just being “sent” by God.

    Y’all, I think that I have more yuck in my heart regarding Palin than I did Hil. Clinton at least had the skill. She might have been nasty, but she was capable. This woman, Palin, is rude, nasty, arrogant, and has an entitlement attitude; and she is no where near qualified.
    The nerve… **rolling of the eyes**

  7. rikyrah

    Angie,

    nobody was more down on Hillpatine than me.

    BUT

    I never said she wasn’t QUALIFIED

    I said she wasn’t ENTITLED to be President

    huge difference

  8. RisingTide

    Hill certainly wasn’t entitled to the presidency. But she was competent. And I know full well that everyone here woulda helped her get elected, if she had won that primary. Because We Need Competency.

    Economy’s gonna fall any day now. Stupid Credit Default Swaps

  9. Spinster

    rikyrah September 27, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    What do I think?

    I think nobody Black who was this fucking incomptent and stupid would even be allowed in the door.

    It’s one thing to know about White Privilege, it’s another thing to have it shoved in your face in the person of Sarah Palin.
    _______________________________________________

    You hit the nail right on the head. 😉

    McCain thought he was slick, picking a woman in order to get more votes. He thought that picking a former beauty queen and hockey mom would do the trick, believing that women were so stupid that they’d vote for her simply because she has a vagina just like them.

    I wonder if he knew that she has the brain of a beauty queen too……. (no offense to you beauty queens out there, but history has shown….)

Comments are closed.