Bailout fails; GOP abandons Bush and McCain

Standard

2008.05.15 - House Debate on Iraq Funding 6 by goppolicy.

Despite the House Republicans disingenuous efforts to pin the failure of the Bush Administration’s Wall Street bailout on Nancy Pelosi’s “partisan” speech castigating free market wingnuts for their anti-regulation philosophy, the blame lies squarely on their shoulders because Bush is their damn President.  Period.  

The House GOP is more concerned about saving themselves than they are about saving the country from economic collapse or salvaging Bush’s legacy or supporting John McCain.   They threw them both over the side and are preserving the option for themselves of blaming the impending economic catastrophe on Barack Obama and the Democratic Party.   

People must realize that there can be no bi-partisan cooperation with the Republican Party.  They are right-wing extremists determined to destroy this country before they hand it over to a black man.  To counteract that level of racist sabotage, Barack Obama needs the biggest Democratic majorities in twenty-five years to be able to enact his agenda. 

Hopefully the Democratic majority will be emboldened to fashion a bailout for Main Street instead of Wall Street.  I’m not hopeful.  

22 thoughts on “Bailout fails; GOP abandons Bush and McCain

  1. You’re so right. On this issue, republicans refused to vote for the good of the country and denounce their basic philosophy. I was, dare I say, skeptical, when they first started talking about all that bipartisan rhetoric.
    We need Barack now more than ever.

  2. rikyrah

    From The Daily Dish

    Palin Knows Of No Other Court Cases Except Roe
    29 Sep 2008 06:39 pm

    Yes, it can get worse:


    The Palin aide, after first noting how “infuriating” it was for CBS to purportedly leak word about the gaffe, revealed that it came in response to a question about Supreme Court decisions. After noting Roe vs. Wade, Palin was apparently unable to discuss any major court cases.

    There was no verbal fumbling with this particular question as there was with some others, the aide said, but rather silence.

    Unfuckingbelievable.

  3. rikyrah

    Boehner is no Tom Delay. If Delay told you he had the votes, he had the votes. Bunch of punk ass bitches.

    “ooooh, Nancy Pelosi was mean to me”.

    She could have talked about YO MAMA all day long, and you PAB’s were supposed to VOTE LIKE MEN.

  4. rikyrah,

    If Barack Obama got up somewhere splittin’ verbs, spouting non-sensical B.S., Republicans would have a damn field day. The fact that this doesn’t even merit a mention on the PUMA sites chaps my hide.

  5. F#$% the PUMAs. F*&^ the god@#$% Republicans. F*&^ the 60% of dumb ass white Americans who, given all that has happened the last 8 yeass and especially the last two weeks, are still going to vote for McCain-Palin. I need a F&^%ing drink.

  6. I must’ve seen at least 40 or more blogs discussing about the “BAILOUT” that sometimes I really get sick and tired of reading but this time I’m in the mood so I proceed.

  7. Mstate

    I’m off topic here but I wanted to make certain Skep sees this. Today is Tuesday, Sept. 30, so what happened to Troy Davis??? Was he given a repreive or was he executed?

  8. @Mstate, Troy Davis was given a repreive for U.S. Supreme court review of his case for possibly a new trial.

    I am baffled that now of all times the Republicans are parting ways with Dubya. Is it a real act of defiance or a staged ploy to appear as though they have concerns for the American public?

  9. RisingTide

    You all out there, right? Makin’ sure Obama gets that supermajority he needs? I know Skep’s in NC — you helpin’ Hagan out there, bro?

    Happy New Years, all!

    Anyone who got pissed at me cause o’ somthin’ I said — I’m sorry. Probably didn’t mean it, but certainly didn’t mean to get you steamed. I’m sorry if I did anything hurtful, or mean or malicious.

  10. Chesapeake

    The scared wolves (republicans) are chewing off their legs (Bush and the admin) to get out of their own trap. Fortunately, the democrats didn’t fall for the wolves’ (dressed as grandma) ploy to pull them further into the trap. It’s incredible how Pelosi exposed those scared wolves also to be lying wolves.

  11. Elliot

    It’s getting close yall. I tell ya, if Obama loses, the fur is going to fly. The white demorats are going to be so pissed that they put all of their eggs in the basket of the empty suit called obama. But, I understand…I mean what were they really going to do? Not elect him as their candidate and be called racists forever by a group they have so successfully pandered to for years? Hell no! What a dilemma….a conundrum if you will. How pissed must Hillary be? She never thought this could happen. But she was in the same position as everyone else…you can’t say anything about the most radical, inexperienced, shady candidate our history has ever seen without being beaten over the head with RACISM. Hurray! The democrats finally know how the rest of sane America feels now.

    I know, I know…if he wins, the people have spoken. If he loses, the election was stolen. Refresh me on the other election year loser complaints you guys come up with. Oh yeah, disenfranchised voters, blah blah.

    It amazes me that obama is getting over 90% of the “black vote”. Sheep. Oh, that’s right, independent thinking is not allowed in the black community. “You vote how we tell you to vote or else we’ll throw your ass under the bus too” (hello, everyone conservative blacks)

    But, I ain’t mad at yall. Politicians are who they are. Crooks, cheats, theives. It just amazes me that one of them can get full support from nearly an entire race no matter how shady his past is..no matter how inexperienced he is…no matter how dangerous he is to our country’s future. (did I say sheep already?)

    And to say it for you since I know you guys get the morning edition of the talking points. I think Bush sucks too. I think he caved and stopped being a conservative. I’m not even sure that McCain is conservative enough for most. But, he’s not the most liberal guy in the entire Senate, so that is enough for me and millions to vote for him.

  12. Mstate

    Thank you Ensayn for updating me about Troy Davis. I didn’t think to Google for info.

    I really liked this site for its diversity of opinions. (I’ve been a reader for over a year now but only recently started posting-occasionally.) While I don’t always agree with Skep and some of you other regulars, I come back because you open my eyes. Unlike most blogs and websites, you tend to be civil with each other, even when you don’t agree. Then along comes Elliot (previous post)and there goes civility. I’ve stopped reading the comments sections of sites like Huffington Post,Women on Women, On Faith etc., as well as a number of other blogs because of the abusive postings that are allowed. There are only 2 that I’ve come across that won’t post garbage like Elliot’s, and those are blogs of 2 Episcopal women priests.

    In case you are wondering, I’m a 64 yr. WASP woman, a retired RN and a Liberal, and proud of it.
    I liked McCain in the beginning but he has morphed into a nasty old man who shows poor judgement. I would say he’s showing signs of dementia, and with his malignant melanoma, he’s not long for this world, which leaves us with Palin….
    I’ve never been for Hillary because I didn’t like Bill. While Obama is not perfect, I think he is the best person to guide us through this mess we’ve (us Boomers) made of the world. IF he looses in Nov. it will be because of race.

    I’ll continue to visit this blog and i’ll check out the comments section but if more “Elliots” show up, I’m out of here!

  13. rikyrah

    Here’s some more from Couric/Caribou Barbie:

    Couric: And when it comes to establishing your world view, I was curious, what newspapers and magazines did you regularly read before you were tapped for this to stay informed and to understand the world?

    Palin: I’ve read most of them, again with a great appreciation for the press, for the media.

    Couric: What, specifically?

    Palin: Um, all of them, any of them that have been in front of me all these years.

    Couric: Can you name a few?

    Palin: I have a vast variety of sources where we get our news, too. Alaska isn’t a foreign country, where it’s kind of suggested, “wow, how could you keep in touch with what the rest of Washington, D.C., may be thinking when you live up there in Alaska?” Believe me, Alaska is like a microcosm of America.

    Sigh.
    Sigh.

    Unreal.

  14. Elliot

    “If he loses in November it will be because of race”.

    Wow! You’re right Mstate. People only vote on the race of the candidates running for political office. I’m sure that if Hillary were the nominee that she would be supported 100% by everyone. Give me a break. Conservatives like Conservatives. They would be going after Hillary with everything they have if she were the nominee, just as Obama’s people are going after McCain/Palin. Unfortunately, that is just the way it is and always will be. Obama could be green and it would not matter with liberal views like he has. Just as you and others won’t vote for McCain or ANY Republican purely b/c they are Republicans. You don’t agree with their VIEWS or POLICIES.
    If you really want to talk about race being the factor that will get a candidate votes, look no further than your party.

  15. Elliot

    Oh, and by the way Mstate, I find it quite peculiar and typical that you didn’t mention the profanity laced rant a few entries above mine by TripLBee against WHITE people and Republicans.

    “F#$% the PUMAs. F*&^ the god@#$% Republicans. F*&^ the 60% of dumb ass white Americans who, given all that has happened the last 8 yeass and especially the last two weeks are still going to vote for McCain-Palin. I need a F&^%ing drink.”

    Is that the “civility” that you are looking for?

    Anything to say about that? Didn’t think so. The same thought process I was pointing out in my previous entries applies here. You only see what you want to see. TripLBee..no problem…Elliot…outrage. Hmmm. I don’t have a problem w/ what TripLBee says by the way, he is entitled to his opinion. I do have a problem w/ people being intelectually dishonest saying that my comments are divisive, while ones like his are not.

    I write the things I do b/c it appears that people here are more than willing to talk junk about whites, Republicans, etc…so I feel like they are capable of getting a little in return.

  16. Mstate

    This one is for you rikyrah I hope you can view it as it’s about Caribou Barbie(Palin). If it doesn’t come through go to Vaboomer.com.

    http://www.vaboomerviosks.com/caribou-barbie.htm

    Gee, Elliot did I hit a nerve. Why did I say that that if Obama looses that it would be because of Race? I said it because I am a 64 year old WHITE woman who knows how the white mind works, especially white males and older voters who are my age. As I said in my previous post, I used to like McCain. However, he lacks good judgement (Just look at his choice of Palin.) and he’s not the least bit even tempered. (We’d be a war with Russia right now if he were in office, since he was the one urging the Georgians to attack the Russians. No, Senator, I AM NOT A GEORGIAN!) McCain has no clue on the economy. Condsier the fact that Phil “De-regulation Graham and Carli”Of-the-Golden-Parachute’ are on his campaign team. McCain does NOT care about Country First. All he cares about is himself.

    As far as TripLBee not being civil. Hell, he was just ranting “out loud.” I didn’t take it personally. It just hit me, you Elliot are a TROLL. Have a good day.

  17. Elliot

    Mstate,

    It’s good to see that you have perfected the liberal response to opposing views, which is always to call people “Trolls”. I bet it makes a dusty person like you feels cool when you use that word. That’s good though…I mean, when is the last time you got to feel cool?

    You know full well that Obama is riddled with shady/corrupt/racist people (Rev. Wright, Raines, Jim Johnson, Ayers, Rezko, Khalidi), yet you are too in the tank to have a problem with it. You’d rather make fun of “Caribou Barbie (Palin)” (which is odd since I thought you sought out websites like these to get away from all the partisan name calling and such), rather than point out proven, judgement-lacking associations such as the ones Obama has.

    Does it not seem even a little strange to you that Obama was perfectly ok with Rev. Wright for over 20 yrs until he was running for president? Nevermind, I know the answer to that. Seems like Obama is setting a precedent to me. These Black Liberation Theology preachers might want to think twice next time before they go supporting political candidates that they are “down with”. Rev. Wright had to quit and was run out of town and is hiding somewhere now. Didn’t work out too good for him. Unless…unless, he was willing to take one for the team and sacrifice his career so that Obama could calm the white voters.

    As for you being white and old and that making you all-knowing about how/why every white person in America will vote, that is ridiculous. I am white and so is my entire family on both sides. Some of them are voting for McCain and some are voting for (gasp!) Obama. They are doing so based on values, policies, etc…so spare me.

    If you’d like to detail each of these associations and tell me why it is ok as it relates to Obama, but not ok when it comes to McCain(lobbyists, shady associations), I’m all ears.

    But, I know your answer. You don’t want to think about it. You are willing to look the other way b/c you are liberal and there is not ONE thing a liberal could do that would cause you to not vote for them.

  18. Mstate

    OK Elliot-You and I have gotten way off the topic originally being discussed here. It’s kind of ironic that 2 white folks are having an argument on a predominately black blog. I didn’t come here to try to change minds and insult folks, although you turned out to be the exception. Should you post a response to this I will not answer as there are too many important things to learn about. I came here to learn something but I allowed myself to get sidetracked by the likes of you.
    Elliot, since you like to troll, why don’t you Google “on Faith” and “Telling Secrets” 2 blogs which you might find interesting.
    If McCain/Palin win in Nov. this country goes down the tubes. If Obama/Biden win, we may survive to fight another day.

  19. Elliot

    Mstate,

    I rest my case. People like you see only what you want to see.

    I’m not overly religous or far-right, so I’ll pass on your recommendations. I want to thank you for proving my point that you are too far-left to admit Obama serious lack of judgement and experience.

    People like you are very dangerous. I just hope that Obama/Biden don’t win for the sake of the country. It will be hard to fix what people like them and you would like to do.

    What is obvious is that when you say that you come to sites like these for civil discourse, you actually mean that you want to hear other people like yourself bash conservatives. To you civil discourse IS trashing conservatives and calling McCain/Palin names. When people have different views from that, they are not being civil.

  20. Spinster

    Regardless of who wins, so much shit is gonna hit the fan in Congress that the whole country is gonna need to bathe….. in another country.

    The revolution is about to be televised. Off to wonder if I’m the only one who is afraid of what will be next…….

  21. Elliot…STFU. Conservatives have left us with a 10 trillion dollar debt, a shredded Constitution, Iraq, and a ruined economy. Go take your civil discourse, I am sorry I mean your bullshit, somewhere else. Thank you and have a good night, asshat.

Comments are closed.