Elizabeth Edwards passes

Standard

Hat Tip: Reuters

(Reuters) – Elizabeth Edwards, a best-selling author and a driving force behind her husband John Edwards’ political career before it was destroyed by his infidelity, died on Tuesday at age 61.

“Today we have lost the comfort of Elizabeth’s presence but she remains the heart of this family. We love her and will never know anyone more inspiring or full of life,” the statement said.

Edwards was first diagnosed with breast cancer and treated in 2004. In 2007, the cancer returned and spread.

She wrote two best-selling books, “Resilience” and “Saving Graces,” about her battle with cancer and the scandal surrounding her husband, a wealthy trial lawyer who served as a U.S. senator from North Carolina and twice ran for president.

President Barack Obama in a statement called her “a tenacious advocate for fixing our health care system and fighting poverty,” and said the county “has benefited from the voice she gave to the cause of building a society that lifts up all those left behind.”

John Edwards’ personal and political fortunes changed after the National Enquirer, a tabloid newspaper, began reporting on his affair with a campaign aide named Rielle Hunter as he sought the 2008 Democratic presidential nomination. Elizabeth Edwards and her husband announced in January 2010 that they had separated after 32 years of marriage.

On December 6, 2010, she said in a Facebook posting: “I have been sustained throughout my life by three saving graces, my family, my friends, and a faith in the power of resilience and hope.”

12 thoughts on “Elizabeth Edwards passes

    • Burroughston Broch,

      Everything Obama does is an affront to tender right wing sensibilities. Where were you when Bush was manufacturing a case for war in which thousands died?

      • Burroughston Broch

        Skeptical Brotha, he was invoking her name to push his policies. It is crass, and I would state the same about any President using the freshly dead’s memory for the same purpose.

        I didn’t support the second Gulf War, and I don’t support the President’s Afghanistan war that he now says will extend into 2014. Either exert enough force to win it or pull out and explain to the people why you lost after 2 years of effort on your watch.

      • I rarely know how to react to faux outrage from the right but suffice it to say that you are better than the petty, insensitive swipe you made at the president for acknowledging the death of Elizabeth Edwards. The statement below is nothing like what you’ve characterized and if you don’t believe me, read it for yourself. As for your crocodile tears for Mrs. Edwards, save them.

        Statement by the President on the Passing of Elizabeth Edwards

        Michelle and I were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Elizabeth Edwards. This afternoon I spoke to Cate Edwards and John Edwards, and offered our family’s condolences. I came to know and admire Elizabeth over the course of the presidential campaign. She was a tenacious advocate for fixing our health care system and fighting poverty, and our country has benefited from the voice she gave to the cause of building a society that lifts up all those left behind.

        In her life, Elizabeth Edwards knew tragedy and pain. Many others would have turned inward; many others in the face of such adversity would have given up. But through all that she endured, Elizabeth revealed a kind of fortitude and grace that will long remain a source of inspiration. Our thoughts and prayers are with her family and friends.

    • Franko

      Burroughtston, I think it was both kind and appropriate of him to acknowledge her at this time. She was a popular public hero who fought hard for health care legislation in the face of her own health struggles: physically, mentally, and emotionally.

      I loved me some Elizabeth Edwards. R.I.P.

      • Burroughston Broch

        Franko, he was invoking her name to push his policies. It is crass, and I would state the same about any President using the freshly dead’s memory for the same purpose.

    • TripLBee

      There are plenty of legitimate reasons to be angry with Obama without inventing them from thin air. Obama’s statement was appropriate and sensitive.

  1. Burroughston Broch

    SB, I wrote that I considered his comments crass; I wrote nothing about being outraged. Don’t try to put words in my mouth.

    As you noted, the President said, “She was a tenacious advocate for fixing our health care system and fighting poverty, and our country has benefited from the voice she gave to the cause of building a society that lifts up all those left behind.”

    She supported Hillary Clinton’s healthcare proposal, not the President’s. She was not focused on poverty; that is John Edwards’ issue.

    I can only speak for myself, and I have tears over her passing.

  2. Chuck

    Elizabeth Edwards was, indeed, a tenacious advocate against poverty and for all to have access to quality heathcare. She fought to the end. I miss her.

  3. I want to compliment Kelly O’Donnell on her handling of this, insisting it is NOT about her husband, and that once she died, she DID NOT want to be remembered as someone who lost her battle with cancer.

  4. alphagirl

    I am saddened by the passing of Elizabeth Edwards. She fought the good fight and has now gone to her rest. My daughter and I were fortunate to see and hear her speak during the Kerry/Edwards campaign stops in Ohio. My daughter was very young at that time. Upon hearing of her passing, I was struck at the visible emotional response she displayed upon hearing of her passing. I am glad she remembered her and admired her for the work she has done and the role model she presented for young girls and women.

  5. rikyrah

    she fought a good fight. I feel for her children. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the President’s statement on her passing.

Comments are closed.